VEGAN CHEESE AND BACON TOASTIE FOR STEEMIT SANDWICH CONTEST WEEK 91

in #steemitsandwichcontest5 years ago (edited)

image

May the 4th be with you steemit buddies! Here is my entry for the steemitsandwichcontest, I made the bread myself, it is rye bread, apparently it will taste like a continent, lol 😂 check out the packaging.

image

I got the cheese from the shop but I made the bacon myself, if you have seen any of my other posts you would have noticed I eat plant based food because I live a vegan lifestyle, but I am not a cabbage basher, it is the vegan equivalent to a bible basher, I don't go around saying every one should be vegan, we all have a choice and mine is to be a modern day tree hugging hippy, I hope that is cool with guys. Well I digress, I made the bacon with tofu, soy sause, smoked paprika and liquid smoke, but the main cool part of this sandwich is the bread wich I made myself, check it out.

image

image

image

Ingredients

900g organic wholemeal rye flour
2 tablespoons of dried yeast
400ml water
Pinch of salt

Once the bread cooled down I just sliced it up added some vegan cheese and my bacon and chuck it in a pan.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Well that is my toastie it cheered me up a bit because the weather is dreadful, white stuff falling from the sky, and it is bloody May, did mother nature not get the memo.

image

Enjoy the rest of the weekend

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9UPkojdU5SsMGgrV3Fru2GAPRGnYtQPcUPCBrsEpKzT2zne8q4aT1C7NxQ83vHn3dj9rF3XeeT8WTndu1uGg3RZkFWd.gif

Sort:  

Great contest with great treats yumyumyum

yummmmmy n easy to make......just perfect 👍
wish i would have a bite of it @gguy773

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, glad you like it 😀

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Looks like a yummy sandwich to me. I love it when you sandwich making monsters make your own bread 😋. I bet your house smells delicious.

Thanks, it is smelling a bit funky now, I am harvesting yeast to make my own sour dough, smells a bit like blue cheese.

Yuk!!! I bet the sourdough will be bomb though :)

Nice one indeed... the home made "bacon" is just excellent. That gives me some ideas actually since I/we love soy based products in our household... Thanks man!

Cool, glad you like it

You bet... do you have a recipe post or something about your way of doing the soycon... ;)

Here is a link on how I make my soy bacon

https://steemit.com/vegan/@gguy773/vegan-blt-167671e519b78

If you marinade it in the fridge over night it is even better, but straight away works to

Another great one @gguy773! I really like modern day tree hugging hippies, you see I hail from the era they were born and was a hippie myself back then. So I respect that you're living the vegan lifestyle, I'm being influenced somewhat by you and our FAVM friends! Lovely post!

Yeah, bring back the flower power craze, when love was cool, and being free was the only way. Thanks @lizelle.

Love those meals that are good enough to trick a carnivore. Very interested in take on bacon, I’ve only had success with eggplant sub

Thanks @toddfoster, I have only tried eggplant pulled pork, my wife isn't a big fan of eggplant unfortunately.

Wow, @gguy773, love that bread! It looks absolutely perfect, quite professional I would say. I have to tell you, I really have to check myself, otherwise I would live on homemade bread and butter, lol Good looking sandwich, sorry you're still fighting the snow in May :)

Thanks @birdsinparadise, I stopped buying Margarine, that way I can't eat it, lol. Hopefully weather warms up again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56