Steemit Sandwich Contest week #52 - Arepas Stuffed With Cauliflower And Eggplant Relish

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to #steemitsandwichcontest week #52 by @jaybird

I have made a sandwich with Arepas once before. These were introduced to me recently this year by my dear steemit friends @jennimorillo and her daughter @yesslife from Venezuela.

The recipe for this bread calls for PAN. which is a precooked corn flour similar to tortilla flour, which is what I used the first time believing that PAN flour was not available in Canada. Recently I discovered that it is actually in almost every supermarket in town. So this time I used the flour intended for Arepas.

arepa2.jpg

I mixed the flour with the same amount of water and a tablespoon of olive oil and some salt.

arepa3.jpg

When the consistency seemed right I rolled it into a ball then flattened it. If it cracks around the edges you just add a little more water but I lucked out.

arepa4.jpg

I cooked them in a non stick pan on both sides then split them into a pocket.

arepa5.jpg

Eggplants were on sale and I only eat eggplants about five times a year so I thought I would make an eggplant relish for lack of a better way to describe this.

arepa6.jpg

I roasted the eggplant then later sauteed them with zucchini, tomato, onion, garlic, carrots,green pepper, cayenne, paprika, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.

arepa7.jpg

For the cauliflower I coated them first with a mix of tapioca flour and water then chickpea flour.

arepa9.jpg

They were browned in a pan then put in the oven.

arepa10.jpg

I had some kalamata olives kicking around so I made an olive pesto from them by mixing them with cashew butter, olive oil, lemon juice and garlic.

arepa11.jpg

arepa1.jpg

Then I stuffed the Arepas after putting some olive pesto inside. And a few sunflower seed sprouts to finish.

arepa.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Your food is always a delight to check out!! So delicious looking my dear Carolyn!!
xx
Enjoy the new week!!

So sweet of you. Thank you so very much.
You have a great week as well!

So sweet of you. Thank
You so very much. You have
A great week as well!

                 - carolynstahl


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You did it again @carolynstahl. The eggplant looks delicious and I love all the different textures in the relish. Just wish I could eat one!

Thank you @loveself! I would love to share haha!

Jeezus, you only know how to go full power eh!?

This looks incredible. Love the “relish” and the olive pesto !!!

It’s also great to see how other Ssc contest influence each other. I remeber that Arepas entry and it was bomb!

This 1 might be “better” lol. So much preperation and homemadeness. Eggplant is a favourite for me in this.

Pres is top as usual. Keep up the amazing work! You rule :)

That's so nice of you to say.
It's your contest that inspires me to be creative with what I eat instead of just throwing something together. I also, through this have met some wonderful friends like the two from Venezuela and others from around the world. I find that thrilling and inspiring. Thanks so much @jaybird.

Oh my, this looks amazing...made my mouth water :) I love the Arepas, this is the first time I have seen them. The relish you included sounds heavenly, well done!

Awww thanks so much my friend. I am really happy that I found this flour. I can't believe I didn't know about it before.

My friend how are you? I'm very proud to see my name and that of my daughter in your publication, @yesslife tries hard every week to participate because the prices in Venezuela are very high but she likes the contest a lot, the arepa is for Venezuela a very important and see that people like you from a country so far prepare it feels nice
Everything was very good stuffed with aubergines and dressings looks delicious, steemit helped me to know a lot of vegetables such as eggplant that is very versatile and with it you can prepare many recipes

Thanks for being my friend!

It is because of you and Jessica that I know of a new thing called arepas. I love learning about food from the world. I thought I already knew everything but this one is perfect for me because of it being so easy and tasty and versatile.
Thank you my friend. I send hugs from Canada!

This looks absolutely delicious @carolynstahl, all my favourite veggies, beautifully presented as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43