Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #78 | Super Bowl Garlic Roasted Grilled Goat Cheese!

DSC_0048 (3).jpg

Good day my Steemit Sandwich Elves!


It’s week 78 of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest! It’s so good to see new faces around the Sandwich kitchen! @jaybird makes a mean sandwich as you know and we need all of the sandwich genius we can get each week! Good luck to everyone and a big thank you to @jaybird for hosting the weekly gathering. He contributes a lot of time, energy and Steem to sponsor and host this each week and for that we are truly grateful!


For those of you who are football fans the big game is this weekend! Super Bowl 53. I don’t usually watch the game too closely because I’m too busy prepping the food. A lot of food! Sandwiches are always a must but they’re usually heavy and not always healthy sandwiches!


The weather is expected to be cold! A warm sandwich would be nice.


todaysjourney.jpg


How does a warm, buttery grilled cheesy sandwich sound?

A big loaf of roasted garlic bread would be a great beginning….

The Garlic-y Bread

  • Garlic cloves (3 roasted and minced)
  • Butter (3 tbsp.)
  • Almond Milk (1 cup)
  • Bread flour (2 ¾ cups)
  • Nutritional Yeast (1/4 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Sea Salt (1 tsp)
  • Garlic Powder (1/2 tsp)
  • Yeast (1 ½ tsp)

I prepped the dough and after the first rise, I transferred it to a silicone baking mat to rise for the 2nd time. After an hour I brushed the top of the bread with an egg white and topped with an additional minced roasted garlic clove.


DSC_0005 (2).jpg

  • Baked it at 375 for 23 minutes or until the bread is golden and sounds hollow when you tap on it. Bring it out to cool.
    DSC_0014 (2).jpg
  • When the bread is cooled, slice a couple of nice slices….and the fun begins!
    DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Sandwich Stuff

  • Bacon (fried)
  • Goat Cheese
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Avocado
  • Garlic Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Butter
  • Chopped Green Onion
  • Fresh Parsley (chopped)
  • Fresh Basil (chopped)

  • Butter one side of each slice of bread. Mix the goat cheese with the onions, parsley and basil. Liberally spread a layer of the cheesy goodness on one slice of bread. Now, the bacon!
    DSC_0019 (2).jpg
  • Mash the avocado just until it’s chunky and add garlic powder and cayenne. Mix well and spread a layer on top of the bacon. Oh man…
    DSC_0021 (2).jpg
  • Next, the spinach!
    DSC_0023 (2).jpg

Add another layer of goat cheese, top it and it’s time to grill! Lightly grill until its golden brown.


DSC_0034 (2).jpg

There you have it! A garlic-y, chees-y avocado bacon bite of goodness!


DSC_0054 (2).jpg


This sandwich was so light and creamy. Super Bowl Worthy, lol! So many flavors, your palate will love you! I hope you’ll try it! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh mrs Bird/ granny Bird, your man must have been in heaven! Even just the bread alone looks amazing, a winning Sandwich for me!

Thank you dear @lizelle! I have to say he was a happy bird after this one...kept bugging me all evening for a 2nd, lol! (You know how that is) Can't wait to see your tasty sandwich for this week!

Dude, you just made this plant based eating, cheese avoiding girl drool. Seriously, there is drool on my pillow because that’s where I’m reading your post. I can’t believe how frikken perfectly golden that bread is either. Would it rise the same without yeast or no? I’d love to try my hand at some yeast free bread like that. We don’t even watch football anymore but we’d come to your super bowl party in a heart beat. I know who has the best Super Bowl spread around… great frikken Job @birdsinparadise.

You are my hero! How do you come up with these amazing comments, lol Wow, I love it! You can always come to my house....imagine the fun we would have cooking up such trouble! Me thinks you have to use yeast to create this bread....sorry...although I have to say it was one of my better ones! Gone in 3 days... more exercise needed!!!! ;) Ah yes, that is why we exercise! Love the garlic bread...yum! Thank you my friend! Cheers to Your new home!

And I call it “actively working on my avocado, hummus, almond butter body”. Haha… It’s the only reason I go to the gym anymore. Haha. It’s easy to offer you a comment when you constantly wow us like that. You just keep doing what you do and I’ll just keep the positivity rolling :)

Geesh, I always though avocado, hummus and almond butter is what you are supposed to eat to have an amazing figure :) Now that you live in paradise you just grab fruit off of the trees everywhere you go....sigh. Hope you're enjoying the weekend! Thanks my friend in paradise!

I agree, that stuff does make for an amazing body- inside and out. I wish I could just grab he fruit from the trees and gobble it down. Dandays can enjoy all of those goodies and for now I just have to live vicariously through him until I’m a bit better. Trust me, I look longingly at the mango trees, coconuts, and oh God, that pineapple… so yum. Some day soon I keep telling myself. Haha. In the mean time I’ve been making some delicious green juices:

D859DA77-1788-4305-80C5-5C99D9646CFE.jpeg

It could be better pressing the spinach but it does the job and I’m enjoying it very much. I love a touch of ginger in there too. Thanks for the recipe 😉

Geesh, I always though avocado, hummus and almond butter is what you are supposed to eat to have an amazing figure :) Now that you live in paradise you just grab fruit off of the trees everywhere you go....sigh. Hope you're enjoying the weekend! Thanks my friend in paradise!

My goodness! Pura Vida told me to come over here and check this sandwich out, I’m glad I did!

Great entry, chef! I’d name it the winner of i was a judge.

You guys, you're way too kind! Your kitchen chef-er-y is amazing! In fact I'm sure now that you are in paradise you guys are whipping out tropical food magic in the kitchen! Thank you @dandays :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 385 (01/30/19)

Looks like an awesome combination for a sandwich. Well done @birdsinparadise! Love the homemade bread you’ve got goin on there

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @jeffjagoe! I truly appreciate your kindness! The bread...I hope you'll try it, it was a good bread! I think I would roast more garlic and place full cloves in the bread next time ;) The Goat cheese and avo...well they speak for themselves, lol

This looks super tasty, the bread and everything inside the sandwich, thanks for sharing :)

Thank you @grandadscookbook. I appreciate your kind compliment, we do love cooking don't we :) I'm so happy you stopped in!

Oh my. That looks so good that it could be illegal in several jurisdictions. Like every good taste that could be put in a sandwich.

Amazing.

Thanks @bigtom13. They're all of my favorite flavors as well...goat cheese and avocados, truly a weakness ;) When experimenting in the kitchen you never know how it will taste...it was popular! I know you probably have a lot of avocados in your area... I say go for it! lol

Okee... I'll have one for starters and maybe a second one because it looks just delicious. Forever Bacon!!! ;)

I know... Mr Bird was pacing around the kitchen all evening asking for a 2nd one, lol Sometimes you just need a little comfort food! Thanks @mondoshawan :)

hehehe... lucky Mr. Bird! 😁


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16