Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #67 | The Birdhouse Monte Cristo

DSC_0052 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Sandwich Elves!


Sandwiches! We all love sandwiches don’t we? Cold-hot, on bread-on lettuce, Breakfast-lunch- or dinner! Sandwiches come in all forms! Now that @jaybird is back from SteemFest3 he’ll be back to whipping up those breakfast, lunch and dinner sandwiches! Thanks to the King of sandwiches @jaybird for hosting this great contest. Glad you’re back!


This week I’m focusing on a little number which will satisfy the breakfast loving sandwich enthusiast!


todaysjourney.jpg


The Birdhouse Monte Cristo!


Today’s sandwich is a variation of the traditional French sandwich called the “croquet-monsieur” (Mister Crunch). The “croquet-Madame (Mistress Crunch) is served with an egg. Aptly named “Crunch because it is often deep fried or pan fried.


Let’s start this show by Making Waffles! They're Gluten and diary-free


I mixed 1 ½ cup Gluten-free flour, ¾ cup Oats, 1 ½ tsp Baking Powder and a dash of Salt in a bowl. Set this aside and mix 1 ½ cup Almond milk with 1 teaspoon Apple Cider Vinegar. Let this milk mixture sit for about 5 minutes then add ¼ cup Olive Oil, ¼ cup Maple Syrup and 1 tsp Vanilla.


DSC_0004 (2).jpg


Stir well and then mix the wet ingredients with the dry. I also added 1/3 cup Juice pulp from my breakfast juice this morning. Not necessary but I love to add the extra veggies and fruit to my waffles!


DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Now let’s make waffles! Go ahead, make them all…I just freeze the leftovers and this way Mr. Bird can grab a quick breakfast or snack!


DSC_0029 (2).jpg

Now the Fruit Compote!


While the waffles were cooking I made the raspberry/blueberry compote! Mix ¼ cup raspberries, ¼ cup fresh blueberries 2 tablespoons Maple Syrup and 2 tablespoons water in a saucepan. Let that simmer until the fruit begins to break down a bit. Then add 2 tablespoons Chia Seeds. Add a nice dash of Red Pepper flakes and let everything simmer until you have a nice thick jam! The kitchen smells yummy!


DSC_0014 (2).jpg


Slice 4 slices of your favorite Gouda Cheese and 4 slices of Hickory Smoked Organic Ham.


DSC_0017 (2).jpg


Beat 4 eggs with ½ cup Milk and now we’re ready to roll!


DSC_0030 (2).jpg


Time to Assemble!


  • Place 2 tablespoons of fruit Compote on one Waffle, layer with Ham and Gouda.
  • Spread ½ teaspoon Dijon Mustard on another Waffle. Place on top of first Waffle
  • Dip the sandwich in the egg mixture (You know, like French toast!)

Melt your favorite non-dairy butter on a griddle and sauté each side for about 2 minutes or until golden brown.


DSC_0034 (2).jpg


Garnish with a little Organic Powdered Sugar and fresh Blueberries!


Truly a Bird’s-eye-View!


DSC_0067 (2).jpg

Enjoy, my Steemian Sandwich Lovers!


DSC_0073 (2a).jpg


Thanks for stopping by the Bird’s Nest this week my friends! Another great week of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Oh yummm, absolutely delicious and filled with good stuff! You really are making magic in the kitchen my friend!

Glad you liked them my friend! I thought about you and all of your breakfast magic! Nothing like a sandwich on the go! Thanks so much :) Can't wait to see your entry this week!

Holy Cow that looks good!

I'm on a little different diet (cough) but I could certainly enjoy this. It'd have to be on the weekend when I am a 'little' looser with my carb numbers. Wait. What day is this???

Thanks for a luscious post.

hehehe...glad to hear you liked it @bigtom13. I hope to hear you tried this one....definitely easy on the tastebuds and good for you! This would be a nice pre-dogwalk sandwich! Thanks so much :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 316 (11/19/18)

Thanks so much! so appreciate what you do to support TSE Passengers! It takes a lot of time and effort!

Ohh WOW that looks so so good I so want one right now :)

WOW! I am so pleased! You liked this one hehe! Too bad the usps is so slow...we could send you one1 :) Thanks @tatoodjay!

WHAT! who even are you? i'm not sure i know anymore... i am salivating over here! this is incredible... speechless....

HAHAHAHA! (that was a loud laugh;) ) You are a hoot! I did make waffles when you were here, right? hehe I guess I owe you a couple of these...not to worry..Waffles on standby Thank you my sweet! oxox Love you!

Have you ever been a stoner? Everything that comes out of your kitchen is pure gold. This take on a traditional croquet-monsieur/madame is out of this world.

And you don’t have to answer that question :)

oh my goodness.....HAHAHAHA! You never cease to amaze me @puravidaville. I think you and @dandays would love this piece of work! Another wonderful comment...how do you do it! You're the best!

Haha… it’s easy when you put out food like that 🤤

I love the mix of sweet and savory and waffles...one of my weaknesses. I just can't get enough of them. This is incredible @birdsinparadise. Mr. Bird is a very lucky man!

lol, yes me too! Can't make this little goodie too often ;) You are so sweet to stop by, I truly appreciate the kind words @loveself! Needless to say, I put the extra waffles in the freezer!

upvoted!

If you want to return the favor, please upvote :https://steemit.com/tasteem/@jyinvest/tasteem-cea8dc

Have a wonderful day @birdsinparadise

Thanks so much! Appreciate the kindness!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks @c-squared! Appreciate the upvote!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83