Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 46! It’s Not your Average Peanut Butter Sandwich!

IMG_7728.JPG

Hello my fellow Sandwich Friends! It’s Week 46 of the legendary Steemit Sandwich Contest!


Well, I made it! Sandwich done just in time! We are on the road traveling in our travel van visiting many State Parks throughout the US.


But first, I want to thank @ jaybird for hosting this contest as well as all of our loyal sponsors. Without them we wouldn’t have this contest! Thank you @bleedpoet and @jaybird for sponsoring us this week!


My kitchen in our travel van has 1 pan to cook with.


Yes, just one. I have been known to be creative but this week, I had to pull out one of our long time favorite sandwiches.


Mr. Bird and I began dating in college many many moons ago and this was a sandwich which we loved to make. In fact as poor newlyweds we made it frequently for several years after we were married. You know, one of those tried and true sandwiches.

Bacon, Goat cheese, Jam and grilled....can't go wrong!


I’ve always made my own jellies and jams, strawberry is a huge favorite. It’s so easy to make, I’ll show you!


todaysjourney.jpg

It’s Not your Average Peanut Butter Sandwich!

This sandwich is for all kids! Both big and small!!

Ingredients

  • 8 Fresh Strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons Maple Syrup
  • 1 tablespoon Chia Seeds
  • Almond or Peanut Butter
  • Your favorite butter or non-dairy butter
  • Organic Goat Cheese
  • 6 slices Thick sliced bacon
  • Sourdough Bread
  • Touch of Strawberry Fields Forever

Preparation

Strawberry Jelly

  • Wash and chop strawberries and place in saucepan. Add Maple Syrup and Chia Seeds. Stir well.

IMG_7703.JPG

  • Bring berries to boil, lower heat and simmer for about 15 minutes. I like chunky strawberry jam so I don’t want to overcook it. When done. Set aside
    IMG_7711.JPG
  • I spiralized the bacon and then cook it, I think it gives it a little pizzaz!

  • Spread goat cheese on one slice, peanut butter on the other slice. Butter opposite sides of both pieces of bread.

Yes, I know, it gets a little tricky here, but you can do it!

  • Place bread with peanut butter in frying pan (butter side down.) Spread jelly on top of peanut butter, lay bacon on top. Top with Goat cheese slice. Brown sandwich on both sides

Remove from heat! Slice and…

Bon Apetite!


IMG_7742.JPG

Needless to say, Mr. Bird was thumbs up tonight! Especially after such a long drive today.

IMG_7754.JPG

I hope you’ll try it! Thanks again @jaybird for this great weekly challenge! Good luck to all!

And as always, blessings to you!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Only you can make PB & jam sandwich look this good. That homemade strawberry jam looks divine. I am salivating just looking at the picture.

lol, you are too sweet! I guess it was from all those years of making them... I love strawberry jam. Even better would be strawberry rhubarb....but I didn't have that on hand. Glad you liked it @thelaundrylady!

woah woah woah... now wait a minute!!! i remember eating grilled p b and js growing up, but never had anything like this!! woah freshly made strawberry jam (and so healthy!), bacon!!, goat cheese!! wow!!! i am impressed and salivating!! xoxoox

Well, perhaps your tender palate as a child couldn't handle such fare...but now? lol Thanks so much sweetie! oxoxo

Ok, that literally got my mouth watering! Delicious!! There's a restaurant up here that serves. PB&J grilled cheese and we found a restaurant in California that served a PB &J burger. As rare that it is for me to eat sandwiches or even bread anymore, I ate PB&J daily for lunch from kindergarten through high school and I would be often get home and ask for one as a snack! In my college years a grilled PB and J was a go-to as well... Mmm... Anyway,thanks for bringing up happy food memories and for the jam recipe! Yum!

Aw, thank you! Isn't it neat how something so simple could bring up sweet memories. I too don't eat this very often as it is so rich to eat, lol. But this was a special occasion, long days of driving, Mr. Bird needed some comfort food. I don't see them too often in restaurants either.

I would love the vegan version of it!!:)

Yes, nothing liked grilled PB&J. I would love to make one for you! Thank you for stopping by friend!

Now this is an interesting combination granny bird, sure must have been good though, I can just imagine the flavours! Enjoy your road trip :)

Thank you @lizelle! Mr. Bird certainly loved it! Gone in no time!

Granny Bird!!! Maybe that’s your name ☺️☺️☺️

WOWSER that sounds and looks so good I so badly want one of those right now

Thanks so much! You know, sometimes you just have to indulge a bit! Mr Bird was quite happy needless to say!

@birdsinparadise OHh I bet he was, I have bookmarked this to do at home on the weekend :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-25T23:41:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 440.25/200.00
Total Photos: 71
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92