Steemit Photo Challenge #21: Looking down at the sky

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

As I was looking for mushrooms again yesterday, the title of my previous post once again proved correct, as I found this reflection in a stream called Glanerbeek, on the edge of the local peat bog:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 28mm, ISO800, f4, 1/15

Was I standing in the water for this shot? No. I had found an old, disused crossing in the stream, with a culvert still in place:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO800, f4, 1/20

Because of my interest in the history of this area, I gave this some thought; people don't put crossings over streams unless there is something they want to access on the other side. So far, I haven't found anything but bog and forest across the stream. It's time to study some old maps.

Sort:  

In so many forested areas of the US, there are old logging roads. The signs are sometimes subtle. Maybe folks in this area were harvesting peat and the culvert was from a tote road. Or do you have remnants of war roads?

I haven't found it on a map yet, but I will. I don't think armies ever passed through here, mainly the peat people and smugglers.

That's an interesting history! I hope you'll post more when you find out - hint! : )

I love this brand cameras. Very beautiful pictures!

cool photo!

Thank you!

Hi @ocrdu
Beautiful photos !!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48