SteemitPhotoChallenge 17 Entry 3 – Oak Savannah Countryside, Douglas County, OregonsteemCreated with Sketch.

Even after these Oregon White Oak trees lose their leaves for winter, their branches aren't bare. Fed by fog and mist all winter, an aerial ecosystem of lichens and mistletoe grows thick, shrouding every tree and branch. These oak savannah forests cover miles of rolling hills in southern Oregon, between the Cascade Mountains and the Coast Range. I'm glad that Oregon White Oak is not affected by the Sudden Oak Death disease that is killing off other native species of oak on the US West Coast. The land in this image is being used to graze sheep for the winter and early spring.

xtsuDSC04089-1WEBf0c5f.jpg

Camera: Sony DSC-RX-10
Lens: 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 60mm
Shutter Speed: 1/200 sec
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 125



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Oooh, I like this moody shot very much!

Thanks! It was definitely a moody morning out there. The fog was just lifting and turning into low clouds.

This is looks a good drive, I love the scenery :)

It would be great on a motorcycle, too! Oregon is beautiful.

It does look beautiful groin what i can see. I love a straight road with no buildings, makes the drive so much nicer :)

Wow, that is a really cool image. Love the muted feel of it. Thanks.

Glad you like it. It was a cool, muted day, alright.

Amazing! That road though!

To me, it seems like someone just laid a ribbon on the earth.

Fantastic shot. Love the fog. My soup would go great with this photo. STEEM ON!

Thanks! I wasn't kidding when I said your soup sounded good! We need that here, lol.

Congrats on the contest, btw.

Thanks! You had hard decisions to make. Every one was really good.

Looks beautiful. I think I would like it in the Pacific NW -- from what I understand, it is cloudy a lot, which is my kind of weather.

I'm with you -- I like the clouds and the rain. Our summers (June-August) are really sunny. But the rest of the year, we are living in the clouds. : )

That would be great! Here in Iowa we have had sunny skies for the past few weeks and it is getting me down. I need some gloomy, gray days!

We've had only 2 or 3 sunny days since the start of October. The clouds are here!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Cool shot! I like such roads!-)

Thanks. Country roads are pretty nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82