Steemit Photo Challenge #32, "Tree", Entry #1

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

I'm in the middle of a photography project documenting my lenses, and I see the current photo challenge subject is "trees". So since I just put this photo through the editor, I figured let's put it up for others to see.

It is shot with the original Super Carenar MC ƒ=35mm 1:2.8 lens that I sadly didn't find any info or data by Googling around. All I know the lens was likely purchased with a Fujica ST605N film camera in 1978, along with it's 135mm big brother and a 55mm Fujinon lens.

This is easily the most difficult lens I've used to date. I will be finishing a review along with tips and shots possibly during this week.

But no more talk. Here's the photo:

Terijoensalava
Salix fragilis 'Bullata'

Body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Super Carenar MC ƒ=35mm 1:2.8
Shutter Speed: 1/2000s
Aperture: ƒ/4
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

Terijoensalava a.k.a. Pallopaju (Salix fragilis 'Bullata') is a Finnish ball-shaped Crack Willow that thrives near water, riverbanks being its favourite growing places. The tree is named after Terijoki, a Finnish municipality that was annexed to the Soviet Union in 1944 after WW2, present day Zelenogorsk since 1948. More info, sourced From the English speaking Wikipedia:

"From 1323 to 1721 the Zelenogorsk area was a part of Sweden. It was ceded to Russia in 1721, becoming "Old Finland", which again was united with the Grand-Duchy of Finland in 1811. Until 1917, Terijoki was part of the Grand-Duchy of Finland, ruled by the Grand Dukes of Finland, who were the Tsars of Russia, (1812–1917)."
...
"When the Republic of Finland gained independence on 6 December 1917, Terijoki became a part of it, and remained so until it was occupied by the Soviet Union during the Winter War (1939-1940). It was regained by Finland in 1941 during the Continuation War (1941-1944), but then was then occupied again by the Red Army during the later stages of the same war and annexed to the Soviet Union in 1944."

It's a nice big tree, but of course it is winter time here so the tree is kind of naked right now.


[Previous post: Did you see this back then? "Be an artist, right now!"]

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

@gamer00 I was like ..trees? till I look harder and found the pine and what seem to be young bald birch trees :)
good luck!

I am not sure if the challenge rules were exact about the amount of the trees, but yea it seems I've personally made a slight typo there, not that it matters very much. In fact, I noticed it when writing it, I wasn't even sure whether I should correct it and into what, so I left it like it is.

Thanks for the luck. :)

@gamer it's not a biggie ;)

Nice shot. You seem into photography so I followed ya :)

Thanks! I noticed the same a while ago when checking out your postings, and also followed.

BTW. I recall you had a post up where you asked if there were people on Steem who might be interested in content over the technical aspect of photography; bodies, lenses, apertures and whatnot... You've now found one guy who is very interested in discussing and reading about those things. :)

Very good and thanks for the input. Ill put try to remember to put in some details on the posts that are geared for fellow photobugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42