About the name Katharsisdrill

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

My friend @shortcut made a post some days ago where he nominated me to, or rather asked politely if I wanted to, take part in Steemit Name Challenge, one of the many challenge-games that haunt the internet. As this was not about me filming myself putting a bucket of cold water over the head, eating cinnamon or dancing Harlem Shake, and as people have asked about my pseudonym, I will of course gladly submit, except of course to giving my real name. That would be against the logic of a secret name, wouldn't it?

Here are the rules of the challenge:

  1. Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
  2. Tell us your real name!
  3. If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
  4. Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that the creator of the challenge can track all the posts and check them out
  5. Nominate 5 people for this challenge

Katharsisdrill

1 - I always had a lot of internet names, and before that it was computer game names. I actually do not remember the first time I used Katharsisdrill, but I think it was used as a profile name on some long forgotten website. It was not something I gave a lot of thought to, I made it up in seconds, probably inspired by something I saw on the screen. It was made up before 2013, because I used it as my username on my first profile on Diaspora. I still use that profile, but only for closed family posting.

The name consists of two parts: Katharsis, which is the romanised spelling of the greek, κάθαρσις, meaning "purification" or "cleansing". Beside the obvious use of the word it is also a concept used in philosophical aesthetics. The use of the word in this context was invented by the ancient Greek philosopher and scientist Aristotle meaning the purging and uplifting effect art can have on the soul. In English it is called Catharsis with a C.

The second part is drill, hinting at underground dealings, realms of dirt and death, but also at finding treasures or secrets. Somehow this contradictory name appealed to me and when I started making digital art I made a fast decision and choose it as my pseudonym.

The insignia

There is more...

The first time I used it for a profile where it also served as a name was on my Bandcamp page. When creating the profile I made an insignia or logo. I used a golden Mochica headdress, as I was interested in the pre-Columbian South American cultures at the time. I added a golden drill.


My original insignia

After some years I made a new version that seemed a bit more like Germanic or Celtic art as my own art was turning more in the direction of my forefathers' culture.


My new insignia

Anonymity

2 - It would be a violation of the rules I have for using this pseudonym if I were to reveal my real name so I will skip this point.

3 - I still invent names all the time, but I guess that I will stick to this one for this project. I have considered though making a supplementary name for NSFW art. A dark Katharsisdrill, but I haven't really gotten around making saucy stuff yet so it will probably be when the need arise.

Nominations

I have decided to reuse @shortcuts polite invitation.

5 - I'd really like to know the origins of the usernames of @nevies (preferably with an extended explanation to all the Greek gods he is in family with), @evilhippie, @slobberchops, @nyarlathotep and @nekromarinist, but I somehow don't like challenges, which require nominating others. So this is not a nomination, but more an invitation. Feel free to skip this, if you don't like being nominated.

Sort:  

Thanks for accepting my offer to reveal the mystery of your username :-)

Maybe I've told you before, but your insignia always reminds me of an interview with a guy called Dr. Bart Huges, who trepanned himself to open up the third eye and claimed to be always "high" from that moment.

If you're curious, here is the interview from Transatlantic Review.

Amazing interview!

Hahaha, what a treasure! I didn't know about him and hadn't heard of self trepanation at all. But I see how obvious the insignia could be understood that way. I Love when I inadvertently create things that can be interpreted in strange ways.

Yes, I also like these strange coincidences a lot.

I found (a German version of) the interview in a student magazine long time ago and was always attracted by weird stuff like this. After I had put in online, I suprisingly got lots of feedback including a request from Dutch TV, if I plan to trepan myself and would give them an interview.

Later, a woman called Amy Walker, who also added the footnotes, translated it back into English for me but I decided to put it offline after a while, because I didn't want to be responsible for any kids, that would give it a try.

The version from the link was just a shameless copy/paste from my page, but as I don't own the copyright, I guess, it serves me right.

OK, you are deep into this then! Makes it even more fascinating. Actually I have been talking trepanning a lot lately with my youngest daughter. She has suddenly developed a great interest in history, so every evening while my wife was travelling the world we went through the prehistoric ages that she is learning about in school and we went to the National Museum to see some of the things we had been talking about. Here we saw this:

It is a 5000 year old skull with a trepanning that worked. The man was about 30-40 years old when he died and he had lived a long time after the operation as you can see by its smooth edge. I remember the skull from my own childhood, but my daughter was so fascinated by it that she had to go with her mother too when she came back.

Wow, 5000 years old, that's pretty amazing! I've read, that it was quite popular from prehistoric times onward to either try bringing back people to life or releasing "evil spirits" of abnormal behaving people.

This painting by Hieronymus Bosch also deals with trepanation:


Detail from The Extraction of the Stone of Madness, a painting by Hieronymus Bosch depicting trepanation (ca. 1488–1516) - CC0

Very remarkable, that you can remember the skull from your childhood and even your daughter is fascinated by it. Now I'm too, thanks for sharing it with me :-)

Hehehe, really nice to hear the origins of this name of yours, I've been meaning to ask you about it really. Now you've explained it it's meaning sounds really nice and artistic. A nice choice, I would say.
But I'm still wondering why the anonymity, is it a culture of artists, cos even @evilhippie seems to toe this path too.

OK, thanks for nominating me, I'm gonna make my own post as soon as possible!

@nevies

Being anonymous sometimes suit people like me the best, it gives a certain freedom from all the networking and personal involvement you have to indulge in as an artist. With a pseudonym you can minimize the focus on the artist and put more emphasis on the art.

Wow, sounds really sensible, I see now. 👍

I'll tell you about my name, even if you did not nominate me, because I like being a bother.

My name is @flashfiction because I write flash fiction.

... tadaaaaaaaa(?)

Damn! I should have nominated you!

Hahahahahahah 😂😂
Really cool though.

I love how you made a Mexican mask look Scandinavian.

wow..!
so much history behind the name

APED GOAT WITH THE FULLSTOP

wow. interesting you have a long history behind your name. @katharsisdrill nice to read your secret. @kamchore has a little history. keep sharing @katharsisdrill

That was interesting introduction and disclosure behind your username. It sounds reasonable and one can immediately recognize an artist. I have never thought that "Katharsis" comes from Greek and means purification, but on other hand of course do not speak Greek. I agree with you and would also answer like you on Question 2. Was interesting to learn about the insignia and of course the one you created has the feature of Nordic folks, looks really good.

𝓡𝓮𝓪𝓭 𝓶𝔂 𝓹𝓻𝓸𝓯𝓲𝓵𝓮 𝓸𝓴? 💗 @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38