You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About the name Katharsisdrill

Thanks for accepting my offer to reveal the mystery of your username :-)

Maybe I've told you before, but your insignia always reminds me of an interview with a guy called Dr. Bart Huges, who trepanned himself to open up the third eye and claimed to be always "high" from that moment.

If you're curious, here is the interview from Transatlantic Review.

Sort:  

Amazing interview!

Hahaha, what a treasure! I didn't know about him and hadn't heard of self trepanation at all. But I see how obvious the insignia could be understood that way. I Love when I inadvertently create things that can be interpreted in strange ways.

Yes, I also like these strange coincidences a lot.

I found (a German version of) the interview in a student magazine long time ago and was always attracted by weird stuff like this. After I had put in online, I suprisingly got lots of feedback including a request from Dutch TV, if I plan to trepan myself and would give them an interview.

Later, a woman called Amy Walker, who also added the footnotes, translated it back into English for me but I decided to put it offline after a while, because I didn't want to be responsible for any kids, that would give it a try.

The version from the link was just a shameless copy/paste from my page, but as I don't own the copyright, I guess, it serves me right.

OK, you are deep into this then! Makes it even more fascinating. Actually I have been talking trepanning a lot lately with my youngest daughter. She has suddenly developed a great interest in history, so every evening while my wife was travelling the world we went through the prehistoric ages that she is learning about in school and we went to the National Museum to see some of the things we had been talking about. Here we saw this:

It is a 5000 year old skull with a trepanning that worked. The man was about 30-40 years old when he died and he had lived a long time after the operation as you can see by its smooth edge. I remember the skull from my own childhood, but my daughter was so fascinated by it that she had to go with her mother too when she came back.

Wow, 5000 years old, that's pretty amazing! I've read, that it was quite popular from prehistoric times onward to either try bringing back people to life or releasing "evil spirits" of abnormal behaving people.

This painting by Hieronymus Bosch also deals with trepanation:


Detail from The Extraction of the Stone of Madness, a painting by Hieronymus Bosch depicting trepanation (ca. 1488–1516) - CC0

Very remarkable, that you can remember the skull from your childhood and even your daughter is fascinated by it. Now I'm too, thanks for sharing it with me :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37