You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Greatest Fear as a Parent... - #steemitmamas competition entry

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

Hugs to you. It is so hard when our kids are under attack by a system that is supposed to help them. some schools are doing much better now - but in the end, they are more concerned about crowd control than the individuals. Somewhat understandable but not fun if your child is not fitting in that easily.
Shame that you didn't have more older homeschoolers in your area or a more fitting school.

My daughter went to a high school after being homeschooled that was a combination - 2 to 3 days in school, the rest study at home.

All the best to your son - it sounds like he is doing okay with the push back he is getting. And good for you to say no to the drugs!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! It is a huge school too so they really don't have the time to give the children individual care and I get that, but I still wish they wouldn't put so much emphasis on 'pass or fail' results. You can't fail school in my eyes, but you can survive it ;)

You can't fail school in my eyes, but you can survive it ;)

I love this sentence. That's what a lot of us do. Even those of us who can play by the rules and get good grades and do all the right things. We survive it -- as a requirement to finally get a life of our own. I never want to be a child again -- for a whole lot of reasons. One trauma after another.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44