Ulog Number 4: The Golden D Steemit Happy List

in #steemitismyhappyhour6 years ago (edited)

This post started out as one.. then turned two-fold... but as I continued writing, I had to re-write my introductory paragraph, change my tags and make this a three-fold post. Dang... talk about killing two birds with one stone; I just wrote three posts in one! Bada-Bing!

riosparada 1.jpg

Image by @riosparada


Two days ago I came across @arbitrarykitten's anniversary contest post, then I came across a post that @blockurator made about how he is able to expand his writing and topics on the steemit platform. Both of these posts got me thinking... then I added the ulog tag because I recently jumped on the Ulog wagon and am lovin' the ride!

@arbitrarykitten said in her contest post...

We are all here for more than the rewards. We spend quality time on the Steemit platform and I wish to know what brings value to your time here.
I want to hear what makes you happy at Steemit!
What lights your internal Steemit fire?

@blockurator said...

Prior to joining Steemit, I hadn't written a blog post since November 2017... I hadn't written daily in over two years

JUST like me!! (although we had different reasons for not writing for two years...)

But to explain how I came to steemit, rediscovered my passion for writing and what tickles my happy steemit bones, I need to take a moment and go back in time. {this is where ulog comes into play on the post}

{Queue time machine music here}

What Lights My Internal Steemit Fire...

As I may have mentioned above, I had stopped writing in May 2015 due to health reasons and had just lost my passion for being creative.My auto-immune disease was getting the best of me physically, mentally and emotionally. I lost friends. I lost my way in life. I became estranged from family. I was a hot mess to put it mildly.

I quit my job in December 2016, due to falling and fracturing my femur and just... sat. I had no interest. I had no desire to do things. (Yeah.. pathetic, I know)

We moved in February 2017, into our current home and I was starting to come out of my funk. I had a reason to be active. I was settling into our new home. I spent endless hours arranging.. re-arranging the kitchen cupboards. I spent WAY too much OCD time scrubbing every inch of our home.

Then in mid-July 2017 after the cleaning of, arranging of and re-organization of the new home was finally coming to a close... I opened an email from a prepper newsletter I was always receiving, but sometimes ignoring, and there it was.

STEEMIT



I can remember starting to read others' posts. I can recall trying to get a handle on the system. I can only shake my head now about how I was attempting to understand cryptocurrency. I treated UPvotes as if they were likes from other social media sites. Learned a fast lesson there. I spent time reading through the tags and finally found the homesteading and gardening community on slack (YES! Remember slack?)

I had just started my first little portable greenhouse and planted the garden, so I had found friends to share with, learn from and discover new gardening techniques from. I was in my GLORY!

The next 13 months are a blur...

FAST FORWARD TO PRESENT DAY

As with @blockurator, steemit offered me a platform where I could write about what topics interested me. I could share my daily life (as many do on other platforms with a sentence or two) but here I can elaborate... I can share my knowledge and comment to gain more knowledge.

So what makes me happy here?
The Golden D Steemit Happy List
  • Making friends (I am a social outcast in person but flourish here)
  • Gaining more knowledge (I can now plant/grow/utilize more herbs than I ever knew existed)
  • Learning new homesteading/gardening skills (I can make soap, my own salves and tinctures now)
  • Being supportive (I do my own curation posts for others on the platform, I delegate to communities now, active on Discord & so MUCH MORE!)
  • Receiving support (I was a Steward Of Gondor-@fulltimegeek, I was a top person for months on the Curation League-@abh12345 and SO MUCH MORE)
  • Learning about/earning cryptocurrecy for retirement and future (fingers crossed)
  • Finding my writing passion again (I have learned to be even MORE creative)

So at the end of the (steemit) day, I can reflect back and see who I have helped.. who I have connected with and what I have learned that I never knew before... all thanks to steemit. I shut my eyes with a smile upon my face and that's what makes me steemit happy.

signature.gif

tsu banner.png

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

See? That is why I love it here. I only knew part of your story and I find knowing more of the story really connects the dots.

I cannot ever imagine you being socially anything buy bubbly and outgoing, friendly, and hello? You rock it, Dawne. I remain impressed with you as I sit and read your list and need to stop whining about how little time I have to do things.

You get my 100%. I wish it were more. But, it isn't about the money. It is about so much else. I love your writing. Truly.

Oh thank you for the wonderful words!!!

I've always been kind of a geeky, library nerdy misfit... in real life, but here on steemit.. I can flourish.. I mean, really soar. It has brought out an inner person I never knew existed.

It's weird- my husband and I went to the same high school (but ran in different crowds.. he was the baseball pitcher/jock/all-around guy.. whereas I was not)- always was the introvert- even back then and we didn't know each other or ever talk to each other. It wasn't until much later in life we connected. We're still total opposites in some ways.. but parallel where it matters most.

It's because of people like you and so many others, that I can thank for helping me see myself for more than I ever thought imaginable!

I have a daughter that is so much like you she could be your twin. She in, in fact a most amazing person and someday when she gets older somebody will realize that at. In the meantime, she cremains the most beautiful, wonderful, amazing person I know.

edited: and believe it or nor, she loves the idea of homesteading! Lol

howdy @goldendawne! this is a great post because we get to learn more of your background story and what got you here today so this was excellent!

Thank you!
Generally speaking I am a private person.. but steemit has allowed me to spread my wings and be who I am today. It's an amazing feeling!

howdy again @goldendawne! yes Ma'am I've heard so many people discuss similar patterns in their own lives where steemit totally changed them. for the better! so that's really great to hear!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Hi Dawne!

Prior to Steemit, I hadn't written a blog.

That's me!

A total writing newbie, discounting a lot of online chat and stuff for school and work.

This place has really changed that for me in a good way. I think my writing has improved over the time I've been here, and it has given me a place to share my thoughts with people, and myself - which I've found to be a really useful exercise :)

And reading, well, I used to read a lot of books but had stopped that for various reasons, now I find I'm reading more than ever and learning new bits all the time.

I thank Steem for that, and you too for interacting with me here. Have a lovely day!

I have always been a writer, then a blogger, for years and steemit has allowed me to write about topics that interest me; which is nice. I set my own deadlines, schedule and can run with it.

I have seen so many people on here who didn't like writing but have developed into some awesome storytellers and people who love writing hone in on their word-spinning craft.

It has been a GREAT ride for the last thirteen months!

Such a lovely story about everything that you love about Steemit. I can definitely agree with you on most of them. People love to focus on the negative but there is so much positive to be taken from spending time here.

I am a positive person by nature- always a perpetual optimist.
But yes, too much negativity can spoil a person's outlook on life.

Don't forget the pickup. I know you like it :)

So I've been really sporadic the last 6 weeks. Not for lack of motivation, but I was out and about with Connie looking for and finding some really cool stuff. That's what makes me Steemit Happy. I actually get paid a little for riding around on my MC finding cool stuff to post about.

I've written off and on (often for other people ) for the last 10 years. I still own a couple of websites dedicated to what I'm doing for free here. How cool is that?

And I get to meet tons of really great new people, not the least of which is you. Thanks for a wonderful Saturday morning pick me up.

lol- yeah- hubby's pickup! I still don't drive it too much... I prefer my little SUV.

I stop by your page often looking for updates on your travels... glad you're back now.

Hi @goldendawne, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @blockator doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @blockurator ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Great #ulog. We can all different reasons for what we do (or don't), but in the end, it call comes together. Thanks for sharing your reasons. Happy to be walking the path with you.

Yes... when it all starts to come together is a great moment.
We are who we are for whatever reason the Heavens feel we need to be.. and as people say "things happen for a reason" and I believe steemit came into my life right when I needed it to.

What a passionate and fitting testimony!

Thank you for your entry and good luck!!

Thank you!
Your post made me really see and realize why I'm on steemit... my outlook on life and living has changed dramatically since joining back in July 2017.

I appreciate The Golden D Steemit Happy List.

So many of your reasons resonate with me. Thanks for all the hard work you do supporting other members of our community. I am glad to hear that the Steem community has been good for you. It helped me during a rough time as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89