Have You Done Your Work Properly? Checklist For Students.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

It is very seldom that you will come across a student who doesn’t have a list of things they would rather be doing than completing a lesson or educational task. As teachers we often witness the daydreamers staring through the window, or the more impatient ones rushing through their work, not learning much as a result. 

Therefore, it really is important that students are taught how to focus on tasks and complete them effortfully, in the correct amount of time. This might seem easier said than done, but with daily reminders and a little bit of nagging, your learners will soon get into the habit of checking their work, making sure it is done properly and neatly (more likely to get you off their backs).

One thing you could do is add a Checklist to each task or worksheet that needs to be completed. You will still get kids who tick the boxes, knowing that what they are agreeing to is not true, but for the most part, the list will add as a subtle reminder that things need to be done properly. This little trick also has a way of eating at one’s conscious, so you will get a handful who take the “agreement” very seriously.

PEXEL IMAGE

A Checklist For Students To Make Sure Their Work Is Done Properly:

BEFORE YOU SAY “I’M DONE” ASK YOURSELF:


□ Is my name on it?

□ Did I follow all the directions?

□ Did I double-check everything?

□ Is there anything I can improve?

□ Did I go above and beyond?

□ Can I proudly say I have done my best?

You can add the text list on to the cover page of each task, or create a poster in the class room where students tick the boxes listed next to their names, which can be viewed as their “promise” to their peers.

This simple trick is something that will encourage your students to take on their tasks more seriously, especially when their fellow classmates are involved too. 

When students have a better idea of what is expected of them, and when they are praised and rewarded for doing good work, then they are more likely to take pride in what they are doing and put the effort in. Saying something is one thing, but checking a box and entering an agreement seals the deal and even younger students will think twice before doing tasks half-heartedly, since they really do want that tick in their box.

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)


Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 72%.

There are several details that can be improved Step by step you will go far! "Learning never tires the mind" - Leonardo Da Vinci


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Hello sweetpea, I'm your new follower. It feels me with hope that there are people educating here on Steemit, this is the kind of articles that are really useful, it would be a good idea that children learn here while getting profit and teaching others as well. On the other hand I think it's very important to check what we write, when it comes to me I always make at least a little mistake, so I always check once or twice :b good post, and sorry if I didn't write English properly, Spanish is my main language!

Ahh this is pretty awesome. I am not a teacher (yet?) but I teach myself. I often find having a checklist to go over is helpful for myself, and the habit of checking everything over is an important one! Especially here on Steemit haha. Thanks for the tips, hopefully I remember when I get more into teaching. Its something I love but I don't think I am anywhere near qualified yet haha.

I think I might need to add one of these to my sons work at school. He always has to be the first one finished and as a result could do so much better if he took a little bit more time.

This is a very useful reminder. To be honest, I will now use your advice. Recently I was looking for a way to make an email signature, but I was too lazy. That's why I found the service on the Internet https://newoldstamp.com/solutions/email-signature-for-students/ where everyone did everything for me. So WH, Yes, I did my best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63