💡Steemit in a minute #24 How to claim and verify the reward amount

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

claim 1.jpg

It is not confusing, but I'm confused. SBD, Steem, Steem Power, USD, author rewards, curation rewards...etc There are just too many terms and currency conversion. How much did I really get for the post?

claim_3.png

Since the first time I saw the steemit web, the dollar sign has been the most eye catching element on the screen. It can be seen right below each post. I thought the dollar means USD on steemit, but I was wrong...

claim_4.png

By going to my wallet, I can see some "Claim rewards..." records. A sample record look like this:

6 hours ago | Claim rewards: 0.208 SBD and 0.063 STEEM POWER

It is not the post created 6 hours ago, but roughly 7 days and 6 hours ago due to the 7-days pending payout period. I found it difficult to relate to what it was about. The currency also looks different from what I see the $ next to the post in my blog.

claim_5.png

In fact, the details is just one click away. Clicking on the dollar sign and you will see a box showing the SBD and SP to be paid out. Yes, the payout will be in SBD. But how is it calculated? According to steemit documentation:

When a post receives a payout it takes the form of 50% SBD and 50% SP.

That is to say, if you saw $2.00 next to a post, the reward will be 1 SBD and some SP value. To further verify, I check out the Author rewards link on steemit.

claim_6.png

and then, you will see...

claim_7.png

The amount of SBD and SP in the claim record may be a little different from what you see the value next to your post. It is because of round up.

The Steem Power give the user increased voting and transaction power while the SBD gives the user an immediate benefit in a stable currency.

Put it simply, half of your earning in SBD is transferable/exchangable. The other half is automatically deposited into your Steem Power, which is locked up. If you wanted to withdraw this part, you have to wait for the power down period.

claim 2.jpg

I hope this helps a bit for your understanding about reward. If you have any question, please leave a comment below.

Thank you for reading.

steemit footer image.png

Sort:  

LOL! "Its not confusing, but Im confused." My life in one meme! :D

When I found that meme, I couldn't wait to put it into my post. It is nice to see someone like it. Thank you for reading.

My pleasure, great post! :)

Hi @gsxr, I like the content that you have been writing. It is very good for new and busy people that want simple and practical information to help them understand the platform better. I think you could also try tagging your posts with #newbieresteemday and get views by people who are new to the platform and want to learn the basics :)

Hello @plushzilla, thanks for your comment, upvote and resteem. I just checked out the tag. It is very popular and a good fit for my blog. I will make it a regular tag in my future post. Thank you very much.

That's what we are all here for, to help each other learn and grow here :)

You got a 3.17% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @gsxr!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gsxr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 0.99% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @gsxr!

This post has received a 20.00 % upvote from @voterunner thanks to: @gsxr. BIG NEWS: Build your passive income with daily payouts from @voterunner! Read more about earning SBD with me. Daily. The easy way!

You got a 5.90% upvote from @getboost courtesy of @gsxr!

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @gsxr! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

You got a 1.50% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @gsxr!

You got a 11.11% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @gsxr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01