Funding Education with the Blockchain, Update Post #3: Final Totals for Volume 2!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

Thank you to everyone who contributed to last week's volume of Funding Education with the Blockchain! The post paid out today, so I've gone ahead and made a donation on behalf of the STEEM blockchain!

The great thing is that in the time this post was in its payout period, two of the projects I had listed, including the main one with iPads, got funded! The books project also received full funding, so I was able to apply the money raised via this post to the third project I mentioned, which needed hands-on materials like Legos and Magna-tiles!

legos

Unfortunately, since the project still needed over $400, we weren't able to bring it to completion, but we were able to make a significant donation of $90!

Here's how we got to $90:

  • The payout from the original post: 11.256 SBD + 2.808 SP. I converted the SBD to STEEM on the internal market and added the SP amount to get a total of 16.004 STEEM!
  • @carlgnash made a generous 10 STEEM liquid donation
  • @nadtinkoff made a generous 1 SBD donation
  • Grand total of 27.174 STEEM, which I rounded up to 30!

Then, it was just a matter of converting it to fiat and making the donation on DonorsChoose.org! Here's how that went:

LTC sell

  • Made a $90 donation to the project on DonorsChoose.org. Here's the screenshot of the email confirmation:
    donation

You may also find a record of a donation in my name on the project page, where I referred to the Steemit post!

I know we probably could have gotten more, but with the timing, it seems STEEM has experienced a drop and LTC is off of its week high, so we couldn't get as much for the STEEM this time, but I wanted to go ahead and make the donation for transparency purposes.

Thank you again to everyone who voted, commented, and resteemed Volume 2 of this project! I plan to keep this initiative going, so keep an eye out for Volume 3 soon!

As an added bonus, I received thank you notes from my wife's class for the books and wobble stools we helped fund last month! I wanted to share some of the highlights with you, as they are very encouraging and made me smile!

Note: I had to scan these in, so there are a few parts that got cut off. I've also removed the children's names for privacy purposes.

Enjoy!

thank you note 1

thank you note 2

thank you note 3

thank you note 4

thank you note 5

thank you note 6

thank you note 7

thank you note 8

thank you note 9

thank you note 10

I hope you've enjoyed these notes from the children. I'll likely be receiving a thank you package from the project we donated to if it gets fully funded, so I'll be sure to share notes from that as well. Here's to hoping the project gets funded! If you'd still like to contribute, I encourage you to upvote this post or send a liquid donation. I'll likely feature this project in the next volume of this series.

Thank you again so much for your support of education on the local level. it means so much to the teachers and students who otherwise would not receive funds for these classroom materials. So far, the first two volumes of this series have generated over $515 that has been used for education! Let's keep up the good work.

You all have my sincerest gratitude.

Footer

The STEEM Engine

Footer

Sort:  

A prime case-example for nonprofit donations using cryptocurrency, managed transparently using the blockchain! This is the future. I'm so happy to have been able to contribute the little bit that I could and am excited for the future fundraisers you host!

Thank you very much for your support! I appreciate your thoughts on this. It's great to have the trust of other Steemians when it comes to charity efforts. I'm glad that I can represent the community when I make these donations, and I link to the post on the Donors Choose website, so other donors to the project will hopefully see the impact that Steemit has had on the project. I'm hoping we'll be able to fund many more projects in the future.

Thank you again!

Yea - that's so great! I know the kids loved all that stuff. Thanks for sharing the notes. How cute!! :) What happens if the Lego project doesn't get funded? Where does the $90 go? I am just wondering... Pretty exciting for the teachers who receive the funding to get their projects going!! :) Thanks for the work you do here!

This is an excellent question, so I might consider adding this information to the post. If the project does not reach its funding goal, the donations are refunded to the donors. They have the option of converting the amount to a gift card, which is sent to the teacher who created the project, and he or she may use the gift card for a future project. Alternatively, you can just have the donation refunded.

I'm confident that this project will get funded, and I'm likely to focus on this project in next week's volume. I'm excited that we've been able to make an impact like this so far! Thank you again for your support!

Nice - that's really cool that you can send them a gift card or get it refunded. Makes sense! :) This sounds like a pretty cool project. My kids love Legos (I mean we seriously have a million - by the way, when you have kids, don't buy Legos...they end up ALL.OVER.THE.HOUSE...and car, and outside).

I'm a huge Lego fan. My brother and I have thousands upon thousands at my parents' house. I'm hoping my kids will love them as much as I did. So I'm just going to accept that they'll end up everywhere and enjoy encouraging them to build things. haha

Hi @ethandsmith,

I am SOOOO happy to have found this post as I celebrate my twelfth day here on Steemit.

This is an amazing idea and I'll be following to learn more. Upvoted, resteemed and will FB/tweet too.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm so glad you found this project. I really appreciate you using your limited resources to help spread the word about this initiative! Thank you for sharing it far and wide.

The more we bring attention to this, the more relevant STEEM will be in everyone's lives. I hope you've enjoyed your time here on Steemit so far. Please let me know if you have any questions, and I wish you the best!

Thank you so much for your very warm welcome and it was my pleasure.

I'm even more excited about Steemit now since joining because I've seen so many projects and supporting posts dedicated to helping in the wider communities around the world. Makes all of this so much more rewarding.

The more we bring attention to this, the more relevant STEEM will be in everyone's lives.

EXACTLY! I share Steemit posts on my main 'biz' page on FB and Twitter. But I did share yours on my personal page also because I think there are several on my friends list there whose interest will be piqued by educational projects such as yours.

I'm hoping that they'll want to support you but will also be interested in joining to earn Steem themselves to invest in their heart-led community projects.

Thanks so much for your offer to help. I'll definitely take you up on that as needed, @ethandsmith! ;)

Angel Blessings...

Hi Ethan, that's a very cool initiative. Must be great to receive those letters from the children! Well done!

It is always great to receive thank you cards from kids. Donors Choose sends all of its donors thank you packets, which include some of the cards. I'm glad that I got to see all of them since my donation was to my wife's project. I'm also glad I got to share them with you here. Thank you for your support. It means so much.

Good work @ethandsmith. It's nice to see people benefiting from the power of steemit.

Hey Jackson. Thanks for your kind words and support on this post. It's been a powerful tool to let people know how STEEM can impact the real world. I get to tell people about this, and it helps remove some of the skepticism surrounding digital currencies. I hope I'll be able to continue to do things like this.

Good luck with your efforts. They'll surely make an impact.

Great stuff Ethan. I haven’t been posting or interacting much but I am doing my thing behind the scenes. Great to see steem affecting the lives of these young children, steem truly is a global token .

Hey Jason, thanks for your support throughout this initiative. I know you've been traveling, so I'm looking forward to hearing about that. It's been so fantastic to see the response that the children have had to the books and wobble stools from the first volume, so I'm hoping this project gets fully funded as well.

I appreciate your vote and your comment!

Ok the scans of the letters are making my week. Thanks for posting those with this, I'm so glad the blockchain is making a difference in these kids' lives :D

They are wonderful, aren't they? Thank you for supporting this post and stopping by to read this update. It's been great to use my blog on Steemit to help raise funds for education. I can't wait to share more about the ways these funds have been used.

It's so cute!!! Many thanks to the kids for these notes. I wish you good luck in the third part of the project !

Thank you so much for supporting this effort! I really appreciate it, and I know the children do, too. I'm glad you enjoyed the thank you notes. They were delightful to read when my wife brought them home.

Yay so cool to see this! You rock Ethan!

Thank you @ethandsmith. This is the best way to use the blockchain.

And thank you. I appreciate your support throughout these initiatives! I agree that this is one of my favorite things that I've done with the blockchain so far. I hope I'll be able to continue these posts and raise even more funds for education!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51