Childhood and Adult Disorder: Panic Disorder/Panic Attacks Part 2 – All About Panic Attacks

17.jpg
Image Credit


In my previous article, Childhood and Adult Disorder: Panic Disorder/Panic Attacks Part 1 – An Actual Account of a Panic Attack, I told my story about my first panic attack episode while driving to work. I described what had actually happened when I was suddenly hit with a panic attack, what symptoms I had experienced and how it has affected me for the rest of my life. It is a horrible experience to go through, that words are inadequate to describe the actual sheer terror one goes through during that period of panic. I would never wish that experience on anyone not even my worst enemy.


16.jpg
Image Credit


In this article I will attempt to explain what panic attacks/panic disorders are, its symptoms, and treatment approaches. I can’t stress enough about the value of being educated in this area so that if you see anyone suffering from anxiety, you can help them by sharing what you know. A little knowledge is such a valuable tool to have, because it really can save many from suffering like I did, not knowing what was happening to me. I learned the hard way but it is my mission to educate as many as I can to avoid the same path I had to take.


13.jpg
Image Credit


What is Panic Disorder/Panic Attack?

According to the National Institute of Mental Health (NIH) (https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/panic-disorder-when-fear-overwhelms/index.shtml) “people with Panic Disorder have sudden and repeated attacks of fear that last for several minutes or longer. These are called Panic Attacks. Panic attacks are characterized by a fear of disaster or of losing control even when there is no real danger. A person may also have a strong physical reaction during a panic attack. It may feel like having a heart attack. Panic attacks can occur at any time, and many people with panic disorder worry about and dread the possibility of having another attack.”


24.jpg
Image Creit


NIH went on to say that a lot of people who have panic disorder eventually become discouraged because they can’t do normal routines because of this anticipated fear. Routine tasks can be things like going to school, going shopping, driving, working or doing social activities. Panic usually begins in the late teens or early adulthood and more women than men get panic disorder. They did note, however, that not everyone who experience panic attacks will develop panic disorder.


9.jpg
Image Credit


What Are the Symptoms?

As stated many times, a panic attack is a sudden, unanticipated rush of fear or anxiety that causes a person extreme distress and feelings like they are in imminent danger but there is no actual danger present. So what are the symptoms? The following is a list by Anxiety Centre (http://www.anxietycentre.com/panic-attack-symptoms.shtml):

Symptoms May Include:

  • A feeling of overwhelming fear
  • Feeling like you are going crazy or losing control
  • Fear that you are going crazy, going to die, or pass out
  • Feeling like you are in grave danger
  • Feeling like you are dying
  • A surge of doom and gloom
  • Feeling you might pass out
  • An overpowering sense of dread
  • Feeling like things are surreal
  • Feeling like you are losing touch with reality
  • Feeling like you need to urgently escape
  • Dizziness
  • Heart Palpitations
  • Trembling, shaking
  • Sweating
  • Shortness of breath
  • Chest pressure or pain
  • Turning pale
  • Weak in the knees
  • Burning skin
  • Pins and needles
  • Hot and cold flashes
  • Numbness and tingling sensations

These symptoms are worse if the person doesn’t realize what is happening to them. If they don’t know what it is, things probably get worse because one will get more anxious which then leads to stronger symptoms which leads to another attack, etc. This is the horrible cycle of panic attacks. More anxiety leads to more symptoms that are getting worse and then more panic attacks and the cycle continues.


23.jpg


Panic Attack Symptoms Can Be Accompanied By Other Experiences?

Anxiety Centre also listed what can also accompany panic attack symptoms:

  • Choking sensation, tightening throat, it feels like your throat is closing, it feels like something is stuck in your throat
  • Confusion
  • Depersonalization (feeling detached from reality, separate from one-self, separate from normal emotions)
  • De-realization (feeling unreal, in a dream-like state)
  • Dizziness, lightheadedness, unsteadiness
  • Emotional distress
  • Emotional upset
  • Inability to calm yourself down
  • Knot in the stomach, tight stomach
  • Nausea
  • Panicky feeling
  • Pounding, racing heart
  • Butterflies in the stomach
  • Sudden urge to go to the bathroom (urinate, defecate)
  • Vomiting
  • Feel like crying
  • Feel like freaking out

Judging by all the possible symptoms and experiences a sufferer of Panic Attacks can go through, you can see what a horrible experience it can be. Some attacks can last for several hours which can be such a toll on the individual.


1.jpg
Image Credit


What Causes Panic Disorder?

As of today there is no clear cause of panic disorders but research has shown that it could be genetically linked. There are also associated things that can accompany panic disorder like a significant transition that may occur in life like getting divorced, getting married, having your first child, losing a job, etc. These are all major life transitions that can occur in one’s life and cause an extreme amount of stress. Such stress and pressure can lead to the development of panic disorder.


According to Calm Clinic (http://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety-guide/panic-attacks) “stress causes the mind to focus on the negatives and assume worst case scenarios, so it's possible that some people develop panic disorder during these periods of stress. Others may have poor breathing habits and health anxiety - the combination of which can lead to panic disorder. Still others may develop it for no reason at all.”


It is also felt that certain groups of people are more likely to develop panic disorder, one of which is women. Women are twice as likely than men to develop anxiety. Other researchers believe that panic attacks are more common in the highly intelligent who are more prone to misinterpret physical sensations due to their, living inside their head, thinking all the time.


22.jpg
Image Credit


How Is Panic Disorder Treated?

The medical treatment for panic attacks is focusing on the symptoms with the goal of reducing these symptoms or eliminating them. This is usually done through therapy that usually does cognitive-behavioral therapy (CTB). CTB teaches the client to change his/her thoughts and actions, thereby making the client understand the attacks, and teaches him/her how to manage the fear. Other medical intervention can include selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) which can include fluoxetine, paroxetine and sertraline. Another medication that is sometimes used are antidepressants, anti-seizure drugs, and tranquillizers.

It is recommended that the panic attack sufferer look to other alternative interventions as well.


8.jpg
Image Credit


Alternative Ways To Deal With Panic Disorder

According to Healthline (http://www.healthline.com/health/how-to-stop-a-panic-attack#1) there are some strategies one can use to try to stop a panic attack when you are having one or feeling one coming on:

  • Use deep breathing: Focus on taking deep breaths in and out through your mouth, feeling the air slowly fill your chest and belly and then slowly leave them again. Breathe in for a count of four, hold for a second, and then breathe out for a count of four.
  • Recognize that you’re having a panic attack: By recognizing that you’re having a panic attack instead of a heart attack, you can remind yourself that this is temporary, it will pass, and that you’re ok. Take away the fear that you may be dying or that impending doom is looming, both symptoms of panic attacks. This can allow you to focus on other techniques to reduce your symptoms.
  • Close your eyes: To reduce the external stimuli, close your eyes during your panic attack. This can block out any extra stimuli and make it easier to focus on your breathing.
  • Practice mindfulness: Mindfulness can help ground you in the reality of what’s around you. Since panic attacks can cause a feeling of detachment or separation from reality, this can combat your panic attack as it’s approaching or actually happening. Focus on the physical sensations you are familiar with, like digging your feet into the ground, or feeling the texture of your jeans on your hands. These specific sensations ground you firmly in reality and give you something objective to focus on.
  • Find a focus object: Some people find it helpful to find a single object to focus all of their attention on during a panic attack. Pick one object in clear sight and consciously note everything about it possible. Describe the patterns, color, shapes, and size of the object to yourself. Focus all of your energy on this object, and your panic symptoms may subside.
  • Use muscle relaxation techniques: Muscle relaxation techniques can help stop your panic attack in its tracks by controlling your body’s response as much as possible. Consciously relax one muscle at a time, starting with something simple like the fingers in your hand, and move your way up through your body.
  • Picture your happy place: What’s the most relaxing place in the world that you can think of? A sunny beach with gently rolling waves? A cabin in the mountains? Picture yourself there, and try to focus on the details as much as possible. Imagine digging your toes into the warm sand, or smelling the sharp scent of pine trees. This place should be quiet, calm, and relaxing.
  • Engage in light exercise: Endorphins keep the blood pumping in exactly the right away. It can help flood our body with endorphins, which can improve our mood. Because you’re stressed, choose light exercise that’s gentle on the body, like walking or swimming.
  • Keep lavender on hand: Lavender is known for being soothing and stress-relieving. It can help your body relax. If you know you’re prone to panic attacks, keep some lavender essential oil on hand and put some on your forearms when you experience a panic attack. Breathe in the scent. You can also try drinking lavender or chamomile tea. Both are relaxing and soothing.
  • Repeat a mantra internally: Repeating a mantra internally can be relaxing and reassuring, and it can give you something to grasp onto during a panic attack. Whether it’s simply “This too shall pass,” or a mantra that speaks to you personally, repeat it on loop in your head until you feel the panic attack start to subside.

11.jpg
Image Credit


It is highly recommended to read as much as possible about panic disorders or panic attacks if you suffer from this disabling condition. The more you know and the more you practice helpful interventions, can literally help you live a wonderful and happy life. Eating healthy, exercising, getting enough sleep/rest, practicing stress reduction techniques, meditating, & finding positive things in your life can help ward off future attacks. I personally feel that the longer you can go without triggering an attack, you will raise your threshold higher and higher, thereby ensuring your chances of having another attack as very slim.


31.jpg


Thank-you for reading my article on Childhood & Adult Anxiety: Panic Disorder/Panic Attack – Part 2. This will conclude my series on Childhood Anxiety. If you would like to follow me, please check HERE.


These are my previous articles on Childhood Anxiety if you are interested in reading it:

Childhood Anxiety: The Anxious Child
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-the-anxious-child

Childhood Anxiety: What Types of Disorders Do Children Have to Deal With https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-what-types-of-disorders-do-children-have-to-deal-with

Childhood Anxiety: Selective Mutism Disorder
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-selective-mutism-disorder

Childhood Anxiety: Separation Disorder:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-separation-disorder

Childhood Anxiety: Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder in Children:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-obsessive-compulsive-disorder-in-children

Childhood Anxiety: Phobias:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-anxiety-phobias

Childhood & Adult Anxiety Disorder: Panic Disorder/Panic Attacks Part 1 – Account of an Actual Panic Attack:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@cabbagepatch/childhood-and-adult-anxiety-disorder-panic-disorder-panic-attacks-part-1-account-of-an-actual-panic-attack



Sort:  

It took me years to admit to my friends and family that I suffer from panic/anxiety disorder. It was only because I could no longer hide it. I've read and heard a lot of pretty accurate metaphors about what it feels like to have a panic attack, but one of my favorites compared it to being late for work. You know that feeling: "I'm going to be in trouble, everyone's going to be mad at me! It's going to be a horrible day and it's all my fault!" That's what it's like to have anxiety sometimes... Thanks for sharing this. Sometimes we don't realize that people are suffering.

Thank-you so much @melodyrussell. I really appreciate your comments and support. I did this piece because when I had my first attack, at the time there was nothing written about it. I went through all these medical tests and kept getting more and more desperate about it. Finally I found an article in a magazine which finally gave me a lead. Once I knew what I had, I was able to research it and focus on what made me better. It was a long and hard struggle but I finally got back my independence and life. It took years but it was worth it.

I think there are more people with anxiety than we know so we should not be ashamed of it. It takes more courage to be open about it and to fight back to get our lives back. Those who never experienced a panic attack will never truly understand but just know you are not alone. Again, thank-you so much for sharing with me your experiences. It is always nice to connect to somebody who's been there. Have a great week ahead!!! :D

I'm so glad to hear that you were diagnosed and you know the signs and symptoms! I've talked at length with a close friend of mine that also suffers from these disorders, and we agree that education and awareness are essential to crushing the stigma that comes along with them! I actually had to take a short leave of absence at work once because of panic attacks. And I know that my co-workers harshly judged me because we all carry a large amount of stress. Stress and anxiety are NOT the same! Going to resteem to help raise awareness :) Thanks again for sharing your experiences and your research!

Thank-you for the resteem. It takes a greater person to survive panic attacks and it takes a lot of courage to fight back. Be proud of what you've accomplished. By the way did you know that music stimulates the brain to form new circuits? It's called neuroplasticity and it may help all neurological disorders including anxiety. I may do a future article to see if it will help and how. Please have a great Tuesday!!! :D

Music helps me maintain my sanity :) I love to listen to and play music! I would love to read an article about neuroplasticity! :)

Just to let you know I've recently done several on Neuroplasticity. There is real hope for suffers. In fact I posted tonight on a Dr. Harry Barry who has a unique way of helping people with panic attacks. I wish I knew, when I had my first several attacks, what I know today. I would have had a better life. But it is never too late to work toward a healthy and happier life! Please take care @melodyrussell! :D

Great source of information and clear. Thankfully i’ve only had two in my life but I think as I now practice meditation and mindfulness regularly, I appear to have overcome it or just only had two. I do still get anxious but am able to control it and stop before it gets serious and take myself out of the situation. People should be more aware of this condition as with many mental health conditions, help our fallow people and not judge as we are taught :)

Thank-you so much @vibeof100monkeys for your beautiful comments. I really appreciate you reading my article and supporting me. I am on a mission to educate as many as I can to help bring awareness of what people are going through. Those who never have ever had a panic attack will never know what it's like to be hit out of the blue with something so frightening and awful, that you dread the next attack. I am glad you only had two. The longer you go through life without having one is good, because you really raise the threshold higher. Meditation and mindfulness are excellent ways to decrease anxiety and prevent an attack. Another thing is music because the sound vibrations actually stimulate the entire brain. I will be doing another article on neuroplasticity and anxiety. Hopefully in my research there will be more hope for anxiety sufferers. Thank-you again for your wonderful comments and support. Have a great Wednesday!!! :D

Your doing a grand job, in spreading the word. This is why I love this community people like you spreading useful knowledge, brilliant.

Yer my last one was a year ago! I was going through a stressful time and not keeping up with my practice. If you've been following my post you know now things are a lot less stressful. Thank you have a cracking day yourself :)

Hi @vibeof100monkeys! Thank-you so much for your wonderful comments. It is greatly appreciated. I am so glad that you haven't had any attack this year. The longer you can go without one is fantastic because your threshold is rising and that is even better. Being in a more stress free life will certainly help anyone so keep up the great work!!!

Wishing you a wonderful Thursday and many bright and happy days for decades! Again, thank-you!

Thank-you so much for this great two part article @cabbagepatch! As someone who lives with Panic Disorder I can confirm that this is exactly how it feels. Like you, the worst part was before I knew what it was. I was having multiple attacks each day and seriously thought I was losing my mind. Since diagnosis, and over a decade later, it's become easier to manage using CBT and many of the techniques you've listed. It's still always there, lurking in the background of my life and rearing it's ugly head every week or so, but I know what it is now and I know I just have to ride it out and then get on with my life. That said, it's still terrifying whilst in the middle of one, no matter how much your rational side is trying to talk you down!

I've been very lucky with friends, family, and workplaces being accepting of it. I chose to be completely open about it from the beginning and I'm always surprised by the number of people who confide in me that they also struggle with panic attacks, anxiety, or other similar issues. This has only strengthened my resolve that these issues need to be able to be discussed freely and without stigma - it's hard enough to deal with without worrying that other people won't understand or accept your struggle. I'm totally with you on the need for education about it.

All the best, and thank-you again for the article!

@sammie thank-you so much for sharing so much and for reading my two posts. I decided to share my experience because after having gone through a life changing condition of panic attacks I felt it was so important to educate whoever would read my article. I had my first attack about 30 years ago so it was such a shock. I didn't know what was happening and neither did my doctors. I literally was going crazy. That is why the more we all know, even those who never had a panic attack before, should know the hardship one goes through.

I can understand how you feel about it lurking in the background but trust me, the longer you go without having an attack, you will get better. I haven't had one for decades and even went back to driving. Now I don't think about getting one and that has helped tremendously. @sammie, I plan to do some research regarding neuroplasticity that has been in the news lately. They have proven that the brain can create new pathways to untouched areas of the brain so that is significant news about anyone who has a neurological disorder. That should include anxiety and panic attacks. You should look this up because they have discovered music therapy has proven to help people. Because music can reach all parts of the brain at one time, they feel that it is the best method to get neurons to regrow circuits in the brain, bypassing faulty areas and going to new ares. So there may be hope. I'll try to do some research and if I find anything, I will certain write an article on it.

Again, thank-you for your kind comments. I really appreciate that you read my articles. Wishing you a happier and brighter future. Just think positive and quiet your mind so that the brain will learn to not get over stimulated. Again thank-you and please comment any time you have any news or subjects I should look into. Have a great week ahead and again thank-you so much @sammie for your support!!! :D

Thank-you for your wonderful support. I will use your steemstem tag on my next article. Thank-you! Have a great Thursday!

Thank-you for your support. Wishing you a very great week ahead. I will vote your comment.

Resteeming so I can always come back to this!

Great job on this piece a lot of useful information on here. !

Thank-you so much @boycharlie for your wonderful support and kind words. I really appreciate the resteem because I am really trying to educate as many people about panic attacks. They are horrific and the more people who can prevent this from happening to them the better. Good luck on you new Steemit journey. It is hard at first to get followers but just persevere. Have a great week ahead!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cabbagepatch from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you cabbagepatch for this excellent series of articles on such a painful and often misunderstood topic. You've done a brilliant job! It's nice to know that those of us who've had panic attacks are 'highly intelligent'! :)

Extremely intelligent!!! :D Thank-you for your kind words and support. I hope you are doing well. You always do excellent posts too!!!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.66$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51