You are not allowed to fail your student.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


Image source

On my first year as a teacher trainer, I was met with a teacher trainee who managed to find every single loophole in the system and was on the verge of graduating. Unfortunately for him, he met me. The one loophole that placed him at odds with me was that we were not allowed to fail our students.

I know, it is a rather dumb rule, but the system is built in such a way that any teacher trainer is discouraged to fail anyone at all. For starters, there would be a pile of paperwork to be completed just because I have failed someone. Also, the lecturer who fails any student would be questioned and the work vetted to ensure no bias was in place. All this are good, but no one looks forward for the extra work. Furthermore, either by sheer luck or guesswork, this trainee knew about it. As such, when I received a blank answer sheet filled with random scribbling (literally random scribbling), I took action and failed him.

My senior colleagues were not pleased, but my head of department stood by my decision and after completing a mountain of paperwork, he was made to take the entire semester again. He did not learn his lesson, the last I have heard, but I think it provides an important lesson to teachers.

We are the gatekeepers


Image source

As teachers, we are given a mandate to see our students through and prepare them for their future role in society. It is unfortunate that this mandate has been diminished to just passing and failing the students. It is so much more than that, it is about helping them stay away from mistakes that can be avoided, contributing to society and making a difference.

However, some may decide to just pass students because they do not want to see them in the following semester. Some may even pass students because it is such a hassle to fail them. Others may be afraid of being questioned by the authorities. I for one think that those are just small inconveniences compared to the bigger problem if we just allow all our students to sail through without properly evaluating them. Imagine what that does to the students' identity as they are filled with a false sense of their own ability. They may stop striving to be better or even studying. Now imagine if that student who did not deserve to pass became your surgeon or the engineer who built your house.

Be fearless

Thus, it is important to stand firm with the decision that we have made. At times, we second guess if we made the wrong decision and think that perhaps the student was right all along. While that can be true, I feel that fear stems from how we perceive ourselves as teachers. Most of the time, we feel as if we are inferior to the other professions and as such if a parent who is of a more desirable profession questions our decision, we tend to concede. The thing is, we made a professional judgement and as such, we should be fearless in defending it. I am open to discussion but I will always support my decision with reasons and as such, would defend it.


Image source

If I am proven wrong however, I will always admit my mistake, because I am not perfect and I do make mistakes at times too. The bottom line is that, this post is not a call for all teachers to ignore what others say about us. The call is for all teachers to take pride in what they do.

The end of 2017 is near and as all the schools close and we plan for a new year ahead. Teachers, you rock! Happy holidays and Happy Steeming!


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

It is good that you stood your ground, and it is not an easy thing to do. Bravo

Yes, totally agree with your opinion. A Teacher is responsible for the successful of his students. Hehe..regard from Aceh.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to subscribe to future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think.)

This post has been selected as The Best Post of the Day for December 8 from the @moonbot post promotion channel by the independent curation team of @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. (There were actually three winners today. We simply couldn't make a choice. So you all got upvote recognition because we love finding wonderful work.) You have received an upvote from each of us as a gesture to reward and encourage this kind of quality. Thank you for your contribution to Steemit and for submitting this excellent post to Moonbot Post Promotion. We look forward to seeing more. Have a lovely day.

It's appalling how students game the system for an easy pass. It's one thing to work the system to your advantage, but quite another to take the shortcut because they are too lazy.

kudos for standing your ground, that student may or may not thank you for it, but either way society as a whole definitely benefited from your actions, however minute the effect is. Well done!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

My dream as a child was to either be a Priest or a teacher. I wanted to influence the following generation. Teaching has to be one of the most challenging and difficult of vocations.

I thank you for your common sense and devotion to your students and their well being.

Have a great holiday and...

Steem on!

Thank you! I told myself that there are two things that I did not want to do, priest and teacher. I'm happy that I did not get what I want haha

I couldn't agree more. Creating disincentives to fail students who properly deserve to fail merely diminishes the accomplishment of students who genuinely want to succeed. Like everything else, there has to be winners and losers. The goal should not be to pass everyone. The goal should be to incentivize everyone to want to pass. Those that don't want to pass have no business passing.

That's right, it's sad that policy makers are only more interested in the results on paper instead of the quality of those results. Thanks for stopping by

I never knew the teacher side of story until I read your post

Great a post but if you upvote me 100%, i will share always your post everytime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49