Tears of a teacher and his daughter

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


Image source

I love writing about positive things about teaching, it is good to share the joys of it and how I have enjoyed it for all these years. My students were like my children before I have started teaching but ever since I have my very own children, it has been such a huge blessing.

However, there are times where I need to leave my little princess to do my job. It is extremely painful and emotional. It normally starts off with a hug and a kiss, followed by a plea to stay. After that, tears would flow asking me to stay. It happens every time and it does not get easier each time. I love what I do but I wish I could bring her together with me each time. Although, that would be chaos at the conference and I would have to care for her instead of working.

A moment does not go by where I wish I did not have to leave my girl behind. The last time this happened was the most painful experience of it all. We had just came back from a long holiday, playing, enjoying and having a lot of fun together. Right after that holiday however, I had to go away for some time. I was called to present a research at an academic conference.


Image source

This time, the crying got worse and the pleas louder. The please not to leave and the long hugs that accompanied it made leaving extremely hard. I felt like bailing on my job, I felt that it was just not worth making my precious princess sad over my job. As these thoughts crossed my mind, all that changed when my wife came and pry my daughter over from me and asking me to go before it is too late.

From the time that I left to the time of my presentation, all I can think of is how she is doing and if she still misses me. It is near Christmas now and all Christmas decorations remind me of her. That being said, I have a job to do and as much as I would rather be with her now, I have to present my research on education.


[Ima
Image source

Perhaps some teachers would benefit from the research that I was conducting. I will be presenting a study on how technology can be better integrated to improve learning and I am thankful to share my work. I am thankful to do the work that can improve the lives of many children. I am also thankful to help the teachers who are helping these students learn better.

At the very least, I do have the daily video calls while I am away and absence makes the heart grow fonder. The frequent contact through video calls does alleviate some of the sadness and it is great to see that smile on her face.

This all started with me seeing my daughter crying over me leaving. That is because if my wife did not pry her away, she would see me cry. If she sees me cry, I know we would hug each other even longer and tighter. Perhaps, I would have never left for my conference.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

a very nice post salam from @ mizi23 and hopefully happy always

The same thing always happened for me my friend.. am working away from my home.. My daughter is cute lil just passed one now.. then also i can't leave her, sometimes same like you i also thought quit my job and find other near too her.. Its very emotional when she smiles even she don't know where hi papa is going.. emotional post..really nice.. @alvinauh

Thanks @amrumk! they are also only young once, won't it be nice to just spend time with them and earn money off steem without working =)

ha haa..I don’t want to but what to do.. steemit no never..

oh no, sayang, dont cry. I will be back soon.

Can't imagine I will say like that in the future. Not easy as a parent.

Well, you can think about it when the time comes. once you have kids, things are never the same and you take one day at a time. It is stressful, BUT I feel really empty without them.

Awww... the day will come. You take care, my friend!

Totally feel you... The hugs... The kiss goodbye... It takes forever and ever and ever... Luckily I don't have to leave my girls for my job very often... Just once or twice a year... Did that once last year for an event in JB... Left them for two nights...

I know... after a while, they become part of you. Not having them around is like losing an arm

I will enjoy at the first few hours... Totally my "ME" time... But then the longer it is... I will start to miss them and wonder what they are doing. Still I need to give myself and them some time apart. Children need to grow up and parents need to learn how to let them grow up. They actually do very well when I am not around... They are too "manja" with me... 😅

Wonderful!
Amazing!
Touching!

What a father and what a relationship! ❤

Thank you, appreciate it

Hi @alvinauh!
I'm happy to include this post in the CTR Crossword Puzzle No.-12. This post will be linked in all related CTR Crossword posts. All participants for this puzzle will land on this post to find their answers to it

Thank you for creating awesome content which is just perfect for our participants!

P.S.:
Hey, all readers of this post! If you want to participate in this contest, you’ve got a slight edge over others as you have already read this post. All of you are welcome to participate and have fun. Check the posts containing hints for the Crossword Puzzle here.

I know the feeling. As part of my job at a scientific center, i have to travel a lot to give conferences at universities, companies and other centers. I have two children, my boy of 12 and my little girl of 4.

Every travel is hard. And we try not to cry. My boy tries SO HARD, and i know it is because he doesn't want me to get sad about him.

My girl. Oh, my little girl, she cries.

And then my boy cries, and then my wife, and then i cry. And then we hug and then i go. Every single time.

I just hope to be able to change this. I am not complaining about my job or anything. But i just want to change this. To be able to say, one day, that I won't go anywhere. No more. Not without them.

Maybe i will, someday.

I know, I have the same thoughts too, maybe one day, when Steem goes to the moon, overtakes bitcoin, we can just write for an hours a day and spend the time with the family. Now, that is the dream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43