Instant gamification with schoology

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Ever since I've entered the teaching profession, I always wanted to make my classes fun and entertaining. As such, keeping the lesson fresh and fun has always been a challenge. However, one day I tried out a semester long experiment on how to keep my students motivated. As such, I began turning 40 hours worth of class time into one big quest for the students to complete.

**What is gamifying a lesson? **
There are many principles and concepts associated with gamifying, but at its simplest, its about making your lesson into a game with the four principles as stated by Yee (2013):

  • Display progress
  • Maximize competition
  • Adjust difficulty according to the situation
  • Presence of a story

As such, if a lesson displays some sort of score, is competitive, has a story and has its difficulty adjusted according to the situation, its a gamified lesson.


Image taken from https://goo.gl/images/sgChdy

The use of a management system
Let me be clear, I don't own a stake in this Learning Management System, but I have been using it for four years now, its free, easy to set up and looks like Facebook. It's called Schoology.


Image taken from schoology.com

After signing up with Schoology, the teacher can create multiple badges of completion that indicated that a task is completed. I had an issue with students coming in late. After initiating a come on time badge, most of my students started coming on time. I also had an issue with some students being overly passive in the class and by awarding badges, the students started participating much more often in the class.

The best thing about the badges is that you can create any kind of badge, attach any picture and any name on it. This makes it very flexible when it comes to creating badges for your own course.


Image taken from schoology.com

Now, earlier on in the post, I've mentioned a few principles. The use of Schoology covers two of this principles, which are maximizing competition as well as displaying progress. In the class, the students are divided into groups with a need to complete the ultimate quest. The quest is to obtain all badges of power to unlock the coveted extra marks for their assignments.

The use of a story is only implemented in certain task as my students are all 18 years and above. However, if you are teaching younger children, having a story is much appreciated.

Ensuring success
There are a few things to bear in mind when using this method.

  • Being consistent: You would have to consistently run the quest and implement the badges. With that, the students will know that there's always a second chance even if they don't do well the first day. Furthermore, keeping the story going helps the students stay engaged with the lesson.

  • Rewards that encourage the right behavior : When constructing the badges, make sure that the badges address two things, the completion of the tasks and also the behavior you want to see in the class.


Image taken from https://goo.gl/images/crUDKJ

Conclusion
At the end of the day, it doesn't matter what lesson or field you do, as long as you implement this, I'm sure your students will have fun. I don't know if you noticed in the pictures, I was teaching research, one of the topics that some deemed as the most boring. However, I still managed to keep the students motivated throughout the year.

Finally, this is an introduction to the general idea of gamification using Schoology. As usual, my intention is to help and if there is anything I can do to explain or clarify, please let me know in the comments below.

Reference

Yee, K. (2013). PEDAGOGICAL GAMIFICATION. To Improve the Academy: Resources for Faculty, Instructional, and Organizational Development, 32, 335.

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The word 'paedagogical' that is like super ancient. Never thought i would see it again.

Ancient? I use it everyday haha.. Oh wait.. Does that make me ancient, I wonder..

Those are like the words of the egyptians during papyrus days. Predating papers.

Haha.. Anyways, where did you come across this word?

The bottom of your post.

Hahahaha... No man, I meant how did you come across the word in your life?

Was reading about egyptian and their education system. So they call their educator pedagogue.

Oh wow.. Interesting.. We refer to teaching as pedagogy.. So now I know where the word came from, thanks!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alvinauh to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your posts are sensational! Seriously some of the best educational posts on here.

I am part of the @steemiteducation team. Are you on steemit.chat? I would love to chat with you some time.

Thank you! And yours too, I love the one that was on part comedy, part confusion as I could relate to it. I would love to get connected on steemit.chat, you're on the education channel?

Thanks for the compliment!

The education channel got overtaken by spam so that was closed. If you want to dm me, I'm hanshotfirst on there as well.

Alright, I've sent you a message on steemit chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42