STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #45 - A VERY VEGAN BUDDHA BOWL

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

I was just learning about the fabulous world of buddha bowls in the past couple of weeks, and then out of the blue, this week's guest judge @lenasveganliving goes and makes it the theme of the Steemit Culinary Challenge!!

Gotta love that wavelength we're riding!

For anyone who hasn't yet done the buddha bowl thing, it's a meal in a bowl, loaded with veggies and usually whole grains. The real magic of the buddha bowl lies in the combinations used by it's creator.

For this week's Steemit Culinary Challenge, hosted by our fearless leader @woman-onthe-wing and sponsored by generous sponsors @gringalicious and @sirwinchester, I reveled in the experience of creating my buddha bowl.

On a bed of baby kale, I placed beet-infused farro, cumin and garlic roasted acorn squash and potatoes, crisp-tender broccolini, house pickled carrot matchsticks, pomegranate seeds, sliced avocado, a seed blend, pistachios, and an apple cider dijon and chia seed vinaigrette.

It was so fun to put this bowl together and it came with such delicious results.


This buddha bowl comes together with loads of flavor and minimal time in the kitchen.

Here's how I did it.


Cumin roasted acorn squash and potatoes

  • I cut an acorn squash and a few red potatoes into wedges coated them in olive oil, and sprinkled them with salt and cumin.
  • After 20 minutes at 350F, the roasted cumin veggies were toasty and roasty and ready for the buddha bowl.


Garlic broccolini

  • For the broccolini, I sauteed garlic in olive oil. Then, the broccolini needs just a few minutes over medium heat in a pan before it's salted and ready to go!


Beet-infused farro

  • I had some beet puree leftover from another recipe (just beets and water pureed). I cooked the farro in water and beet puree, seasoned with salt and pepper and a bit of olive oil.
  • If you haven't tried farro, you should! It's a bit like barley and so yummy!


I had pickled carrots not long ago, and they went perfectly as tiny matchsticks in the buddha bowl.


Apple cider dijon and chia dressing

  • I combined apple cider,dijon mustard, olive oil, and chia seeds to make a sweet and tangy nutritious dressing for the buddha bowl.


Assembly!!


I'm so glad for this challenge - I will be making buddha bowls a part of my weekly lunch rotation for sure!


Once again, a big thanks to our host @woman-onthe-wing for bringing this challenge to the community, as well as our kind guest judge @lenasveganliving, and our generous sponsors @gringalicious and @sirwinchester. This awesome challenge wouldn't be possible without all of your support!



Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on October 13, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.


Sort:  

Not only does this look delicious and I'm sure its packed with nutrition, but it is a great way to use small amounts of veggies and have a meal that has a lot of different textures. Love that. Good luck in the challenge!

You're right! It's a big bowl but NOT BORING! Thanks!!

Wow! Your Buddha Bowl is gorgeous and colorful. I bet it tastes good. Good luck @jaymorebeet! :-)

Thanks @Ikaputri3 ! It sure was delish. I need another one now but I don't feel like chopping!

I have never had a try on a Buddha bowl before my friend, but seeing your entry tempts me to have a try soon!
Beautifully done btw! Good luck in the contest!

I'm new to the buddha bowl scene myself, but I'm loving it so far!!

Yum! I used farro in my Buddha bowl this week, too. It's one of my favorite grains!

This was my first time making it and I'm in love!! So happy I have found my new grain of choice!

Beeeeaaauuuutiful! Another excellent recipe @jaymorebeet! I'm loving your choices of ingredients, which made me take a longer look at everything as they're not so 'typical' choices... acorn squash, red skinned spuds, farro cooked in beet, broccolini (which I never knew existed until now which is odd since broccoli is my ultimate favourite veg) and I LOVE the sound of your dressing. I hope it tastes in real life the way it tastes in my imagination! A real treat this would be, for tastebuds first and then the whole body as it revels in its super nourished state :-) Good luck Julie!

Why are you always better at describing my dishes than I am? Can I hire you? Broccolini is so nice - it's got long sweet stems and little florets. It's not bitter like broccoli rabe, and you can use it just like broccoli! It's one veg I can always get the kiddos to eat, so double win! Thanks girl :)

Yep, you can hire me and pay me big bucks and I'll describe any dishes you want! hahaha :-) I will search town and see if I'm able to get this delicious sounding broccolini. Hmmm... 'broccolini' could be a broccoli flavoured martini drink. Yuk or maybe yum? Probably yuk.

Definitely yuk! K i will pay you the big bucks but first I have to find a job that will pay them to me first k? Sounds like a solid plan we've got here... :)

Beautiful composition (not sure if that's a culinary term?) and it certainly looks like a heapin' helpin' of some highly nutritious food, great job and good luck!!!

Thanks @cognoscere! It is now! Yeah it's a big one, but so yummy!!!

Well done @jaymorebeet! You're too good at this prize-winning malarky!

This is so nice. Thanks so much @woman-onthe-wing. What a fabulous host you are. :)

Congrats for 3rd Place in the challenge. Awesome dish and I love the photography!!

Thanks so much @gringalicious! What an honor :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34