TOO MUCH PICKLING LIQUID MEANS PICKLES FOR EVERYONE

in #food7 years ago

I had an abundance of carrots so pickled carrots was on my list of things to make, obviously!

JI6A7954_Fotor_Fotor.jpg

I made up a mixture of white vinegar, salt, sugar, bay leaf, and water, and prepared 6 quart jars with pickling spices and chopped garlic.

But once I cut up all the carrots I only filled 2 jars, leaving 4 jars ready to go with no carrots to go inside!

There was no way I'd let all that time and effort and leftover pickling liquid go to waste, so I hunted through the fridge for other things to pickle!

Long story short I came out with 2 surprise jars of pickled red cabbage, one jar of surprise pickled beets, one jar of surprise pickled onions, and a jar of mixed carrots, beets, cabbage, and onions!

Alongside some of the other veggies I canned a few weeks ago, a pickle rainbow emerged in my kitchen.

I cracked open a jar of the pickled carrots today and they are excellent! Still crunchy, and the perfect combination of sweet, tart, and spice.

Can't wait for my next canning adventure. And maybe one time I'll get the amount of liquid right!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on October 8, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Conserving/preserving fresh fruit & vegetables is a great skill to have. Waste not, want not. In times of abundance you can set aside stores against the possibility of more difficult times, like supply shortages, roads cut off by severe weather events, financially difficulties, etc.

Exactly! I love being able to have veggies on hand and yummy pickles alll winter long! Thanks @neuromancer!

Fantastic pickle photography. My sister, @fullofhope is a huge pickle fan which makes me take notice. Great food post, keep these coming!!

STEEM ON!

This method is practical and helps us to keep the vegetables for longer, as we use in the preparation of dishes and appetizers pickles to make a tasty salad.

Hmm pickled veggies! Can't wait to get active in the kitchen again, especially after seeing all this pickled goodness! Missed my kitchen so much while in Europe.

Nice job and a good winter's stash!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41