STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #42: Marbled Rye Bread

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

bread 15.jpg

Hello everyone,

Back again in Steemit Culinary Challenge #42. Wait, what??? It's already the 42nd week? Wow, it's amazing , isn't it? The first time I joined SCC, it was on the 32nd week of SCC. I've been learning a lot from SCC since. I'm glad I can be part of this amazing culinary adventure. Thank you everyone for making this happen, especially for the host @woman-onthewing, the sponsors @gringalicious and @sirwinchester, previous host and sponsor @englishtchrivy and also fellow participants.

This theme for this week is BREAD. Oh my God, it's not an easy task to make a bread. It really looks simple but you actually have to put a lot of attention and patience when you're making a bread. I have a love and hate relationship with bread. I always want to make bread but I clearly remember the first time I made bread. It was an epic fail!! I haven't tried it again since. As this week's judge is a great person whom I adore very much, @jaymorebeet, I want to give another try.

rye bread.jpg

INGREDIENTS

Light Rye

  • 110 gr dark rye flour
  • 210 gr whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp instant dry yeast
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 14 gr softened unsalted butter
  • 150 ml + 2 tbsp water at room temperature

Dark Rye

  • 110 gr dark rye flour
  • 210 gr whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp instant dry yeast
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 14 gr softened unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cacao powder
  • 150 ml + 2 tbsp water at room temperature
  • 1 egg + 1 tsp water for egg wash

METHODS

Light Rye

  • In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with hook attachment, place the flours, salt, yeast and mix them well.

rye bread 1.jpg

  • Add in molasses, butter and water. Mix on medium-high speed until it forms a ball. If the dough is too dry, add 1 tbsp water at a time.

rye bread 2.jpg

rye bread 3.jpg

  • Transfer the dough onto a floured surface. Knead for 3-4 minutes.

rye bread 4.jpg

  • Transfer the dough into a clean bowl lightly oiled. Turn over the dough to coat up the top. Cover with plastic wrap, let it rest for about 1.5 hours or until it's doubled in size.

rye bread 5.jpg

Dark Rye

  • Repeat the same process.
  • The difference is only for the water. Mix the water and cacao powder then add in to the mixture.

rye bread 6.jpg

Dough

  • After resting for about 1.5 hours or doubled in size, transfer the light dough onto a floured surface. Divide the dough into 2 even pieces.

rye bread 7.jpg

  • Roll the dough out until you reach the length of your loaf pan.

rye bread 8.jpg

  • Repeat the process for the dark dough.
  • Stack the light rye dough and the dark rye dough.

rye bread 9.jpg

  • Roll them up and put it in greased loaf pan. Mist with spray oil and cover with plastic wrap. Let it rest for 60-90 minutes or until doubled in size.

rye bread 10.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 180°C.
  • Beat one egg and 1 tsp water, brush the mixture on top of the loaf. Bake for 45 minutes. **I forgot to brush the dough with egg mixture :-(
  • Remove from the oven and let it rest for about 5 minutes before removing from the pan.
  • Let it cool on rack.

bread 11.jpg

For a second trial in making bread, it turned out quite ok though I think I should have let it rest longer in a loaf pan just before baking. The crumbs look dense but it does taste good. I will try to remake this bread again soon. Hope I'll get a better result :-)

bread 12.jpg

bread 13.jpg

If you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem :-) Thank you for reading.

Best,
signature-fonts

All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Yummy🙏💚🙌🍲🍛

It is indeed so yummy :-) Thank you for stopping by!

Oh I just love the marble effect, how beautiful! It looks just how rye is supposed to... quite dense but really tasty, especially when toasted. Cutting it with another kind of flour can make it less so, which I can see is exactly what you did using wholewheat flour. I haven't experimented that much myself with rye and I wonder what interesting combinations there are... Likely spelt would be delicious, but probably crumbly rather than fluffy. Who knows if something like tapioca or coconut flour would work with rye at all??? Anyway, I can quite easily imagine eating your marbled rye with a little butter and perhaps a little honey too... mmmmm delicious! Beautiful photos, and nice clear instructions so we can make it too.

I really appreciate your honesty in your posts by the way. Rather than pretending everything turned out exactly the way it was supposed to you discuss your processes and things you might try different next time. I think this is really helpful for other people too... I for one learn much from hearing the truth about what works and what doesn't. Good luck to you Putri! :-)

I got some tapiocas at home, I can make some experiment with that :-) I actually dont eat a lot of bread since my Asian tummy always craves for steamed rice, but I've been wanting to learn about sourdough to have some fresh baked bread at home since my partner loves bread.

Thank you for kind words Joanna. I really just wanted to share my experience and I want people to learn from my mistakes if they want to remake the recipe :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Lovely marbling my friend, really very creative again here!
I wish you good luck in the contest!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Many thanks @progresivechef for your support :-) Glad that your wife is now joining SCC too.

Hahaha! Now i will compete with my wife too!Lol!

It'll be hard for me to compete with best combo from Mauritius! :-D

Oooohhh, I love bread and this looks so good... I can imagine your kitchen smelling wonderful too! I can eat that just with some butter - yummmm!

Oh yes, my kitchen smelled so good at that time :-D I ate this with butter for my breakfast, simple yet delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59514.13
ETH 2652.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42