Homemade Ratatouille Tian - Vegan - Recipe

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20170721_123054_299.jpg

Hi friends,

When you see the picture what is in your mind? A colorful dish or the movie Ratatouille? Honestly, I completely forgot that this dish appeared in the movie. So, when I first posted this pic in my Instagram and Facebook accounts, my friends commented about the movie instead of the dish itself, but now I remember. Thanks friends for reminding me :-)

Actually this dish is originally called Provençal Vegetable Tian, a layered vegetable dish that's gratinéed in the oven, and has almost the same ingredients as Classic Ratatouille. Rémy, the rat in the movie, wanted to impress the restaurant critic's heart by remaking Ratatouille in a beautiful layered dish and it was a success. So, perhaps we can say that Ratatouille Tian is combination of both? :-)

Enough with the story, now let's check the recipe. Shall we?

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium green zucchini
  • 1 medium white zucchini
  • 1 medium summer squash (yellow zucchini)
  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 shallot
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp herbs of Provence

METHODS

  • In a food processor, place 2 tomatoes, shallot and garlic. Pulse until it becomes purée. Spread on the bottom of the ceramic baking dish. Set aside.

ratatian 3.jpg

  • Using mandolin slicer or sharp knife, cut the vegetables into thin round slices. The thinner the better.
  • Preheat the oven to 200°C
  • Make a stack of the vegetables and arrange a few stacks at a time into baking dish in a circular motion.
  • Drizzle the olive oil and sprinkle the herbs of Provence.
  • Cover the baking dish with aluminum foil and bake it for one hour.

Tadaaaa.. it's ready! It's easy yet healthy, perfect for summer. You guys have to try this ;-)
IMG_20170721_155212_014.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote and resteem :-)

Love,
signature-fonts

*All photos are mine and were taken with Nikon P610

Sort:  

This recipe looks really good! I love a good ratatouille. Lol the movie ratatouille is how I learnt what the dish was! Let's just say, I was much more of an amateur in the kitchen back then ;)

Thank you @natashahall! This is my first time making Ratatouille this way and it's super good. Will def make it again :-)

Nice post.. I love your pictures.. Keep 🔆 Steemit for us.. Much 😍 @ikaputri3

Thank you :-)

Congratulations @ikaputri3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sounds and looks delicious 😊

It was delicious, indeed. Thank you @lenasveganliving :-)

That's one piece of art! :) And a delicious way to include more veggies in your diet. ;)

You are right! It's indeed beautiful and a good way to eat load of veggies. Thank you @alinalisa! Btw, zucchini fritters is on my list, I'll check out your recipe :-)

Yes, I would love that! :) I hope you will like it.

Oooh! Beautiful and healthy!! Great post - Now if i could only figure out how to use my mandolin without slicing my fingertips off...I know that safety handle is good for something....

I cut these slices using knife, there were a lot of work :-D Using mandolin will be more practical and yes you have to be careful when you use one :-) Thank you for dropping by :-)

WOAH! you must have great knife skills because your slices are so thin AND uniform!! I'm impressed with your skill (and your patience!!)

I had to because I dont have mandolin and the next day I had neck pain :-D But its worth it :-) Thanks for your nice comment @jaymorebeet. Your works are also amazing ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45