STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #40: Vegan Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tortilla with Avocado Cilantro Sauce and Spicy Cashew Sour Cream

DSCF5720-1.jpg

¡Hola amigos! ¿Cómo estás? Though it has been a crazy busy week and weekend, I managed to cook a Mexican inspired dish. As a 99 percent plant-based muncher I love Mexican inspired dishes. They are usually quick and easy to make and deliver so much flavor. Just the thing you are looking for as a vegan.

Thank you so much @tioluis for this amazing theme.... your girlfriend and baby-to-come are so lucky to have you not only for your amazing cooking skills but for the lovely person you are. Furthermore, I want to thank our amazing host @woman-onthe-wing and all the sponsors for making this culinary challenge a huge success among the steemit foodie community, and beyond!

So here's my vegan take on a Mexican dish that hopefully will please the taste buds of a real Mexican!

DSCF5712.JPG

Ingredients (serves 3)


6 wraps or tortillas
Salad greens of your choice

Roasted Sweet Potato and Black Beans


3 cups sweet potatoes, cubed
2 cups bell pepper. sliced
1.5 cup cooked black beans
1 tbsp olive or coconut oil

Herb mix

1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp smoked paprika powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2-1 tsp chili powder (or to taste)
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp dried oregano
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Avocado Cilantro Sauce


2 small avocados
1/2 cup spring onion, finely chopped
1-2 cloves of garlic
1/2-1 cup fresh cilantro
1 lime, juice only
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

DSCF5659-1.jpg

Spicy Cashew Sour Cream


1/2-3/4 cup cashews, soaked for at least 1 hour overnight is best
Chili paste to taste
1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2-4 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk (water works too)
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions


Roasted Sweet Potato and Black Beans


  1. Preheat the oven to 400F or 200C.
  2. Add the bell pepper and sweet potatoes to a baking sheet. Sprinkle with herb mix and cooking oil. Toss well to coat and roast for 20 minutes.
  3. Add black beans, toss to combine and roast for another 10 minutes.

DSCF5648.JPG

DSCF5670.JPG

Avocado Cilantro Sauce


  1. While the veggies are roasting, add all ingredients to a blender and process until smooth. Set aside in the fridge.

DSCF5678.JPG

Spicy Cashew Sour Cream


  1. Soak the cashews for at least 1 hour in water. Overnight is best. If you don't have time you can soak them for 30 minutes in boiling water too.
  2. Combine all the cashew sour cream ingredients in a blender and process until creamy. Set Aside in the fridge.

DSCF5654.JPG

DSCF5685.JPG

Assemble the tortillas


  1. Heat tortilla in the oven or dry pan.
  2. Spread avocado cilantro sauce on the tortilla. Top with lettuce, sweet potatoes, black bean mix and cashew sour cream.
  3. Wrap and enjoy!

DSCF5695.JPG

DSCF5700-1.jpg

DSCF5710.JPG

DSCF5716.JPG

DSCF5720-1.jpg

DSCF5722.JPG

¡Buen provecho!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

hey @dayleeo check out this. omg. so want to eat this right now.

You're all invited ;) Thanks for your comment @teamhumble!

This looks amazing, can't wait to try it! Thanks for sharing 👍🏻

Thanks @lolzwithlisa! You won't regret trying this.

Oh my @amy-goodrich the pictures are just too much! I can taste it through my monitor (wish I could) But honestly this looks so delicious!! A trip to the grocey store has to happen ASAP

Hehe! Thanks @healthy-chef! Would love to send you some... or even better invite you for dinner and a chat ;) If you are ever close to Cambodia, my doors are always open!

These look heavenly I love your cooking!

Thanks my friend... still having a beautiful day that started just right with some lovely tunes thanks to you ;) Wish I could cook some for you!

Thanks ;) Have a lovely day!

Thanks ! You too :)

Yea!

Classic goodness with a goodrich touch!

Realized I havent checkout your food lately and I see you are up to it as usual! Ur photos are really nice and some variation of this meals seems to be good almost all the time. Though I particularly like the sweet potato as I have used it so much due to growing the best ones I ever had!

SteemON!

Hehe! Thank you so much for your comment. I know you like your sweet potatoes. We talked about them a while ago if I remember right. Does sweet potato ice cream rings a bell or am I confusing you with somebody else, think I have too many conversations running on steemit... love it though. Looking forward to growing them too once we move house. Have a beautiful day

Yes it is quite possible we have talked about Sweet Potatoes before as we have been growing them for many years and at some points me and @everlove have almost lived off of them for months on end!

We have made so many delicious dishes, one of my specialties is sweet potato spice pie!

It looks so delicious! I am a fan of the sweet potato 🍠, always i use it when i make a tagine, it comes melting, i noticed that you cook so much green vegetables that's mean that you love it, I like this tasty recipe and healthy too.

Thanks gorgeous! Ohh once I have my tajine I'll try it with sweet potatoes too. Must be so good. Thanks for the tip ;)

Just acknowledging both of your entries Amy.. I don't have time to comment today but I will get round to it! Thanks :-)

We are all busy bees it seems ;) Thanks @woman-onthe-wing ;)

That looks so tasty :) wrap-tastic :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65