Kids and food

I love watching people - adults and kids and because I have five grandchildren, I am always interested in what captures their interest and the one thing that saddens me is how uninformed most kids are when it comes to food.

Yes, I know that the world is a different place today compared to when my children grew up, but I feel that there is something that can be done about bringing in balance to a child's life from an early age if parents realize how important it is - namely the food they eat and where it comes from.
It is something I feel strongly about and I think all schools should get involved too.

Teaching a child to understand that good food gives a healthy body and what better way to do this is to show them how to grow some food.

If they understand that just like their body needs healthy food - so the soil in which food is grown needs to be a healthy soil - the first important step before teaching them how to plant some vegetables.
Next is the lesson on how to care for the plants - watering, mulching, bug hunting etc., - as the plants start to grow, kids get a great kick out of being involved in the caring of the plants and watching them develop.

When it comes to harvesting time, kids will love to eat the vegetables that they have grown, will taste the difference and have a good understanding of how to grow food.

Too many children have no idea where their food comes from - let alone whether it is good food or not.
When my own children were small, I gave them a piece of ground to use as their own to plant vegetables of their own choice and it was so rewarding to see how much they enjoyed caring for their vegetables - and even more when mum cooked it for the family.

Giving a child the chance to understand where food comes from and how to grow healthy food, is a lesson they will never forget and is something that will help them to make good choices in other areas of their lives.
Even if there is no garden, the lesson can be shown just as well by growing in containers.

The easiest way to get kids to eat healthy vegetables is to show them how to grow them.

Sort:  

You're the third best after MY GuruSaheb i.e. Dhan Dhan Shri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Maharaj (Dhan meaning great and highly respected like an AUTHORITY FIGURE), my family and friends. I think so I would love to enjoy your company. You grow your own food that's awesome. I'm pretty sure you're the reason behind Bosslady's success. And an awesome grandmom to Jude as well. Thanks for the post. Otherwise, only you would have benefitted from it and not the community. And as always have a NICE DAY 😁.

What a lovely reply _ thank you so much and yes would love to meet you one day.

I'm going to be visiting South-Africa with mega-zord one day for a steemitbloggers party. Just don't know when that'll happen. Until then have a great day ahead.

By the way wishing you a very happy mother's day from my end, Mommy of Bosslady. Have a great day ahead.

Thank you - I had a great day

Awesome. I love it when people have great days. This means you had a string of moments that were spent through a conscious choice hopefully in PLEASANTNESS instead of UNPLEASANTNESS. Keep up the GREAT WORK #Mommy of Bosslady.

Thank you. - actually, I was thinking of you as I looked for some quick recipes to make as side dishes to go with a hot curry - not sure if you are into cooking??

I rarely enter the kitchen. All I know to cook is Banana Bread. Lol. If you're curious then I'm involved with these things called cryptocurrencies and studying nutrition (haven't cooked anything yet 😂😂) and Working out.

Never mind - knowing how to cook banana bread is great!!lol

You are so right! But it's not just the children, it's many parents that are clueless. I remember having a patch of ground. The first seeds and harvest: radishes. All I wanted when I was "grown up" and living in a flat in Joburg was a balcony and/or a piece of garden where I could plant herbs. Tom tells me that one of the things that made an impression on him when we first met, was that I had tomatoes growing among my flowering plants, not to mention all the herbs...... (which he thought were flowering plants - Hahaahaha!) I do hope, though that things are coming full circle as people have to become more conscious of the planet and where their food comes from.

Absolutely - and I think Tom found a gem in you!!

Very kind, @lizziesworld, but it works both ways!!

Absolutely agreed! The kids nowadays doesn't get their hands dirty enough, so to speak... I wish our school system can locate a slot for gardening in future looking at our ecosystem right now, we need to have a generation that appreciate mother nature as well.

Great sharing @lizziesworld!

My thoughts exactly -I just hope my grandchildren will one day remember some of what I tell them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34