The first door I opened to Independence

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


There was a LOT of change for me in 2018 – in fact, I would go as far as saying that my entire life was turned on its head at the beginning of it, but treading water is something I have learnt to do well over the years. Reflecting on it all “and some”, I began thinking about when I first moved out on my own. I was 18 years old, had just graduated from college, gotten myself a job in my field of graphic design and decided it was time to live in my own place. I found a “spot” which was essentially a garage which had been converted, situated on someone else’s property – it also happened to be the old recording studio of the band Mccully Workshop.. (yip, the pic above was my front door... and also the cover of one of the bands LP's) It had no insulation, no hot water and the bathroom was across the garden. Lol… but I loved it – it was mine! I had absolutely nothing – used cardboard boxes as tables and covered them in whatever fabric I could I find, hung sarongs as curtains and I had no fridge so lived out of a cooler box. I lived like that for two years – and I was happy!

I am not saying it was easy, but it certainly was a fun challenge finding my independence and realising my ability to achieve absolutely ANYTHING I put my mind to. I pretty much pawned anything I had that was of any value in order to cover my living expenses and feed myself, but step by step I grew and eventually I moved on from there and bought my first property at the age of 21. I find it amusing when people with so called “money, power and influence” try to threaten others with the removal of that, snatching it away as some kind of so called scolding… It always makes me smile, because I may not know much about a lot- but one thing I most definitely DO know for sure is that you can throw just about ANY kind of storm at me, take away EVERYTHING I possess and I will still make my way back to where I want to be – because I am a SELF-MOTIVATING person filled with PASSION and sadly for those that try, this is NOT something that can be taken away.

#steemitbloggers #share2steem #ulog #life #teamsouthafrica #blog #mylife #fabulous #bloglife #experience #goodlife #lovelife #happy #independence #positivity #mccullyworkshop

line1.png

EARN STEEM - AUTO-POST TO STEEMIT FROM INSTAGRAM

CLICK HERE TO SET IT UP


text15.png

JOIN ME ON INSTAGRAM TOO


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

Sort:  

You lived in McCully Worksop's recording studio? Now, there's a thing. Loved their hits from the 70's. LOL. I know that there is NOTHING that can get you down. Happy new year, and here's to a fab 2019. Hopefully you get to take some time out in McGregor this year.... :D

hehe Yip, I sure did... only found out shortly before I moved actually. haha... and dave is going to Robertson on sun, but sadly not a practical opportunity as he has others going with him to assist with the event :( we WILL come and visit BEFORE Winter! PROMISE!!!! xxx

Actually, I am so knackered from the last two weeks, I can't be sorry about that. I was back at "work" today, but not quite into the swing of things today. Kitchen day tomorrow and back to "normal" - hahahaha - on Monday

somewhat the same this side... haha - back home but not quite in the swing of things just yet lol - was amazed at myself that I actually made us steaks for dinner last night lol!! but was glad I did, full tummies and a good nights rest in our own beds did wonders :) Have fun with kitchen day :D

It does. We were out until after 8 (again) and then had to come home and do supper. Tonight it's leftovers (aka cold cuts and salad) and a quiet evening in front of the box. Tomorrow's going to be fnking hot (again), so I need a good night's sleep. LOL
Byeee!

MWAH!!!!! and lol at the heat remark haha - been SOEP hot here today too ;) (if you know what I mean lol)

@jaynie,

Haven't I always said that you are an "iron gauntlet in a velvet glove?" I can smell courage a mile away. You have steel in your spine and I find that an admirable character trait.

Thank goodness you're physically petit ... the last thing guys need is a girl "actually" kicking their ass on video. :-)

Keep in mind, though, that all Virtues, taken to the extreme, become a Vice ... and this includes "Independence." Humans are incredibly social animals and we are meant to be bound to someone:

Trust Someone

Frightful to trust, yet still it a must,
For no one sees rearward attack,
Caution, go slow; friends fewer than foes,
But someone, must have it, your back.

Extract for "Words Instead" (a poem to my daughter for her 16th Birthday): https://steemit.com/contest/@quillfire/my-favorite-person-writing-contest-by-zoexantelamv

Quill

firstly - LOL @ this:

Thank goodness you're physically petit ... the last thing guys need is a girl "actually" kicking their ass on video. :-)

And secondly, YES I could not agree more! I am not an Island - despite many years of believing I could be - now that I am a LOT older and a LITTLE wiser lol - I know better :)

xxx

@jaynie,

You've built an army ... who has your back. Smart.

Quill

Should I insert an evil laugh here... MWUAHAHAHAHAHA or should I just giggle and blush sweetly?? hehehehehehe - #geminiproblems LOL!!!

but seriously,

(no I am not about to quote lyrics from Phil Collins lol)

I was talking about JUST THIS the other night with my family... and how MUCH it means to me to have all of you in my life!

Renting back room flats was very much the norm those days, yours came with some fame!

Settling to buy a home at age 21 was a big leap forward, self-motivation being self-driven a great way to live life achieving what you set out to have.

totally ! attitude, and the sharpen skillset over the years !

Hi jaynie !

After approximatively 48 hours, your post has 3.855 of pending rewards.
To compensate the fact that @share2steem is taking a fee on your posts, please allow us to upvote you via @tipu.

Our fee : 0.386
Value of votes you got from S2S trails : 0.090
Value to compensate : 0.148 (this amount has been lowered by 50% as you're not in any S2S Curation Trail)
Join both Curation Trails on the website (in Settings) to be compensated 100% on your future posts.

!tipuvote 0.148

For the latest news about the Share2Steem application, visit our @share2steem profile.

Participate in our Christmas Challenge : 5 SBI shares to win !

See you soon on https://share2steem.io

This message is generated automatically.

This post is supported by $0.17 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Hi @jaynie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.329 which ranks you at #710 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 707).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To own a property at the age 21 is remarkable! Over here, at 21 years ago, many are still immature and are finding their ground or still figuring out what to do with their life. You have my honor and respect! ❤️

Tenacity and verve. They make a great team.

I don't know who McCully Workshop is, but that looks like one rad dorm room. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82