Ulog 26: Picking Calendula & Recovering Is Coming Slow

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


Most of you know about three weeks ago I was in an auto collision (rear-ended by a jack-knived semi truck/trailer) and I have been experiencing some delayed soreness, mental focus issues and some unexpected injures that are under a doctor's care and supervision.

This (the remnants and after-effects of the collision) has caused me to lose some focus, fall behind and even start to question some things... but today I woke up and told myself (after falling asleep to Pastor Joel Osteen's words of encouragement lulling me to dream-land) that I can get through this... I know I can. AND I WILL!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Today was probably the first day I ventured outside to the gardens and greenhouses in two weeks. I have been slow moving, hobbling along and have lost some steam and motivation in my life.

I had every intention today of wandering around the flower and herb gardens to make a list of end of the season chores that need to be done before the first frost. Our church has a volunteer group that is heading out this weekend to do some work for the congregation members who need some help outdoors and in their yards.

I signed up for the volunteer help as I know I CANNOT do it myself and Mr Golden D is working so many hours again. With the sun setting so much earlier right now, his tie is limited with what he can do for me.

I have always been a do it for yourself kind of person, so asking for help is difficult for me. But I know in this instance that I have to ask... and accept.

Picking Calendula Petals For Future Soapmaking

cal2.jpg

I will be drying out ALL the flowers and petals I picked this morning so when I make my next batch of homemade soap I can add the dried flowers to the soap for an added luxury.



border.png

I love these calendula flowers in the garden- they are wonderful pollinators and bring all sorts of bees to feast off of them.

Calendula, commonly called the pot marigold/Calendula officinalis, is such a beautiful flower and has some wonderful uses; including being used in soap, as well as making calendula salve for.


A few weeks ago in my Cultivated Apothecary series, I made some calendula salve.


Here are some common uses for calendula salve:

  • Diaper rash
  • Lip balm
  • Healing balm/salve for cuts and abrasion
  • Skin irritant soothing salve
  • Razor burns
  • Minor skin burns and sunburn
  • Insect bites
  • Dry skin/eczema
  • Facial moisturizer during arid months/seasons



border.png


signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

@goldendawne,

Sorry to hear about your accident. Glass half full ... be thankful it wasn't worse.

I'm looking forward to your soap-making endeavor. I'm a science guy and I'm always fascinated about the "old ways" of doing things ... although I tend to take it to extremes: Pouring water through woodash to make the lye, etc.

Quill

Glass half full ... be thankful it wasn't worse.

Oh trust me... I do every day!

I love making soap. SO many variations you can customize to your needs.

So sorry to hear about your accident - I hope you are on the mend and you are able to recover completely from this trauma.

That is awesome you are growing and harvesting your own calendula flowers - I have used calendula creams, shower gels and lotions over the years to help tackle my eczema. I should take a leaf out of your book and grow my own! Off I go to look for seeds...

Thank you!
Just doing the circle of doctor appts and tests for now. Taking one day at a time.

Calendula are so amazing! I love the scent!

I had not heard about your accident. Take care !
Will have you in my thoughts today.

Thank you for the thoughts!

So sorry to hear about your accident! I hope you heal quickly and are feeling better soon. Take care of yourself 💕

Hey stranger!!! Hope all is well with you!

I am doing ok. Just confined and sore still. New things are popping up

howdy there @goldendawne..I didn't know about these issues resulting from the accident, I pray that your recovery is fast and with complete restoration!

Thank you so much! I am on the mend... I think. Not sure some days. More issues seem to come up with each passing day. But I've been told by two doctors some symptoms can take days, weeks and months to be known.

howdy again goldendawne! oh I see..because of possible nerve damage? Because it hurt your neck? well I'm glad you're improving!

I did not know you were in an accident. Love, you could have been killed and praise the lord you were not nor trapped in a hospital bed now. Don't let this snuff out your beautiful light. I know it's frustrating, painful, and filled with uncertainty as you heal. I was rear-ended by a Fed Ex truck about 2 years ago and so I know. I stayed focused on the fact that I was alive and have all my body parts. Getting back to your garden is good for you as well as asking for help. Just think, by asking for help you'll have the strength and energy to do what you love......collect and create. (hugs)

Yeah.. three weeks ago today. I am VERY thankful for what didn't happen.

My one doctor told me that a PTSD scenario can come into play after I told him of my emotions and mental well-being. He said it will pass, but can be quite frustrating and can hinder every day life. yeah.. it sure does

So glad you were ok from your accident. These moments really take a whole new meaning of appreciating life

Puts things in perspective real quick! I'm so glad you're going to be OK. You will work through the mental and emotional trauma. It will take time and getting it out in the open will help. You're strong and it will indeed take time so be patient with yourself. Much love!

Oh man, so sorry to hear about your accident! I hope you are recovering well.

I am really loving the ideas of using flowers for healing things, for soaps and whatnot. I've never been a big fan of flowers, because they just seemed to be somewhat of a waste of effort just for something pretty (please don't smack me!) and I never had the time or the green thumb for it. BUT I love the ideas you are posting about. How useful and inspiring!

Thank you!

Yes calendula have become one of my favorite flowers to have in the flower and herb garden. I never realized its beauty and uses before.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.735 which ranks you at #1422 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 1429).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84