Travel Blog #1: THE MYSTICAL ISLAND OF THE PHILIPPINES

in #steemitachievers7 years ago (edited)

THE MYSTICAL ISLAND OF THE PHILIPPINES


To travel is one of the things I really want to do. I want to learn and to know myself even more and I believe traveling is one of the keys.


My father is a Siquijodnon and my mother's grandfather is a Siquijodnon as well. We have plenty of relatives but I only got to know a few and visit them when I was still a toddler. I can't even remember a single thing. As a result, Siquijor is included on my priority list.

On March 23, 2017, I was lucky enough to witness again the beauty of Siquijor. Back then, we don't have the right gear for the said travel thus, our travel was purely selfies. It really took some time to meditate on how to come up with a decent travel blog in such a way that I could share with you the beautiful places in Siquijor.

Before my boyfriend, my officemate and I went to Siquijor, I've had my first travel there with my colleagues in October 2016. We had our team building in Siquijor for 2 days and a day of visiting the must-see places plus, some of us, including me of course, extended the vacation for 2 days with the consent of our respective supervisor. Also, we were fortunate that our Supervisor in our component has a GoPro Hero 5 and was able to bring it with us to our extended travel.

In line with that, I will somehow combine my two travel experience since the setting is the same though I had a different company at a different time.


SIQUIJOR


20170325_101025.jpg


Siquijor is named as the Mystical Island of the Philippines. It is known by many because of its scary folklore stories. It is quite a disappointment that there are plenty of foreigners who travel miles away just to see the captivating beauty of Siquijor but some of the Filipinos did not include Siquijor to their bucket list because of those scary stories. To tell you frankly, Siquijor is more than that! It has so much to offer that you'll end up visiting it over and over again.

Aside from those scary stories, it also has an unbelievable legend. The Aunt and Uncle of my officemate said that Siquijor does not exist in the Philippine map at first. It slowly emerged from the sea because of the huge currents and strong storms. It is said that Siquijor Island is carried by a huge turtle. When you try to visit Siquijor, check their soil, it looks like a dead coral. Even when you visit the mountainous area, you will see some shells also.


How To Get There?


Since we're from Lanao Del Norte, our route was from Iligan City to Ozamis City to Plaridel, Misamis Occidental. The first travel I've had was we rented 2 vans just to accommodate 27 people not to mention the backpacks, the handbags and some of them were carrying a trolley bag. Those who brought a trolley bag were given a good laugh. But, on my second travel, we're only three thus, we traveled via Bus and if you have your own car then you can have Google Maps or Pokemon Go for the directions. Hah!

There are many Bus you can ride from Tambo Terminal, Iligan City. You can ride a bus with a route to Mukas, Kapatagan, Pagadian, Zamboanga, and Dipolog. But my suggestion will go to Dipolog, however, the Dipolog line is only a few but as I've said there are plenty of Buses you can ride. All the mentioned Bus liner above will stop at Mukas Bus Terminal.

After that, you'll have to ride a tricycle or walk to the buying of tickets for the Barge, either of the two will do. The barge will only take half an hour to reach the Ozamis Port. Ozamis City doesn't have jeepneys thus you'll be riding a tricycle up to the bus station where you can ride a bus via Plaridel.

After reaching the Plaridel Bus Terminal, ride again a tricycle and instruct the driver that your destination is Plaridel Port. Waiting time will depend upon your arrival in Plaridel, but in our case, we waited an hour since the Lite Ferry can be boarded around 12:30 and depart 1 pm. The lite ferry is available only on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays.

14289936_1179194028769969_2267617529040078293_o-2.jpg

Now if you are from Dumaguete, Cebu, or Bohol, and other neighboring islands, they have a fast jet you can ride going to Siquijor. You can check the schedule on the internet.


Upon Arrival


Siquijor has three ports, Larena, Lazi, and Siquijor. In our case, we arrived in Larena Port where the sun is still 60 degrees from the horizon. Siquijor doesn’t have plenty of jeepneys and it has no buses but, the place offers a motorcycle or tricycle you can rent with.
On our first travel, we rented an air-conditioned coaster; on the extended trip, a tricycle; and on the second trip, a motorcycle.

14241607_1179194908769881_2494481549019297901_o.jpg

There’s a motorcycle rental shop in the Port where you can rent the motorcycle for the whole trip.


Where to Sleep?


On my first trip, we chose Toris Paradise in Dumanhog. The room for two is big enough, with its bathroom and shower room and a terrace facing the crystal blue sea. They also offer a dormitory and a house you can choose if you are a bunch of people. Also, they have pools which close at 8 pm even though the sign tells 10 pm.

FB_IMG_1512225729142-01.jpeg

If you have an activity, their function hall is quite big. We held most of the team building activity there. Every Friday, there’s a buffet with a fire dance. We only had to add a hundred pesos to avail the said promo. They also offer scuba diving, snorkeling and such. But if you want to have a simple swim then be careful with the sea urchins.

G0106929.jpg

Now on our extended and second trip, one of our colleagues offered that we can stay at her Aunt’s house in Barangay Olang. It was not supposed to be a free accommodation. We really planned on giving a budget for our food but Siquijodnon people are so generous. Auntie and Uncle did not allow us to give money and oh, Auntie really cooks well. Her food is amazingly delicious!


PLACES TO VISIT


There are plenty of places to visit in Siquijor Island. For three days and 2 nights, we weren’t able to visit all of them because we stayed for a day in Salagdoong Beach Resort. We just had an impulsive and impromptu trip. Uncle kept on telling me that we should stay longer but I refused since I had an online job at that time and I don’t have the guts to skip for a day or two.


Capilay Spring Park


Capilay Spring Park is a natural spring along the highway at the town of San Juan. We actually haven’t stayed there for long but we managed to take some pictures. Now, this natural spring is like a very long pool in which people can dip and jump for free and can do the laundry, for free also.

FB_IMG_1512225780358-01.jpeg

FB_IMG_1512225812507-01.jpeg

FB_IMG_1512225214652-01.jpeg

They said that the first pool was used as a laundry pool; hence, it is named as the river. However, when we get there I saw none. The second one was the swimming pool. There were two people at that time doing some laps. The last part, which is the spring itself. The water is green and there were freshwater fishes that come and go.

You can have a picnic there since it has benches, it also has food stores which makes it more convenient. As we roamed around the Capilayan Spring Park, we saw stairs which led us to an old church, the Church of St. Augustine.

FB_IMG_1512225220969-01.jpeg


Old Enchanted Balete Tree and Fish Spa


FB_IMG_1512225405266-01.jpeg

It was really a fun foot spa experience in which the workers are the fishes in different sizes. I’m a ticklish person and I inhaled lots of courage to force my feet to stay in the water. There were plenty of Sopranos at that time, including me. Haha!

FB_IMG_1512225238867-01.jpeg

One of my officemates did something crazy like submerging her face in the water. She's hoping that the fishes might clean her face. LOL!

FB_IMG_1512225834743-01.jpeg

In the center, you’ll see a Balete tree which is said to be one of the oldest and largest Balete trees in the Philippines. Balete tree is known here in the Philippines as an enchanted tree and Filipinos often say “Tabi apo!”, a sign of respect and telling to 'them' that you're just passing by or you want to stay for awhile.

FB_IMG_1512226289485-01.jpeg

Now if you want the person you love to love you back, worry not, for the place has a store that sells a love potion! Amazing! Okay, let's get serious, they sell 'lana' (enchanted ointment that boils and turns black when someone tries to poison you), 'lumay' (love potion), 'habak' (amulet or talisman) in the form of a bracelet, necklace or ring. They are also selling voodoo dolls, bags, shirts, foods, and a lot more.

FB_IMG_1512225420634-01.jpeg

In front of the store, you will see a cute little monkey with a fluffy buddy! You can carry them except for the monkey, he needs to be asleep or you'll lose some of your hair.

FB_IMG_1512226483454-01.jpeg

FB_IMG_1512225442557.jpg

FB_IMG_1512225559438.jpg

Now, if you are not observant enough, you will going to miss the mini zoo above. Some of my colleagues missed it and lucky enough for me, I'm quite an observant one. (In Bisaya, chismosa! Joke! Haha) They have snakes, bats, monkeys, ravens and a lot more. I think it is best for the management to put a label like Mini Zoo with an arrow sign and every cage has the name of the animal on it.

FB_IMG_1512226394688-01.jpeg

FB_IMG_1512225507128-01.jpeg


Cambugahay Falls


If you want to become Tarzan or Jane even just for awhile, then worry not for you can be in an instant but not in the forest, only in the freshwater. But still, a Tarzan in a different setting.

FB_IMG_1512225616426-01.jpeg

20170325_153814.jpg

You have to warm up for the swinging, jumping and splashing thus, concrete stairs with a hundred and thirty-five stairs is waiting for you before laying eyes to this majestic waterfalls of Lazi, Siquijor.

What you'll see at first is the third station. On my first trip, there was no Tarzan swing available, but after 6 months, there's a swing which I didn't bother to try. Floating in the freshwater is quite hard although there's a big lifebuoy that awaits you. But then only my boyfriend and Kuya Aljun, my officemate's cousin, took the fun and pleasure of doing so.

Also, they did several jumps from the falls though it was not that high, still, you can feel the fun and excitement in jumping and making some big splash in the clean turquoise green water.

If you are like me, afraid of taking the leap in a deep freshwater with no vest and still want to try what it feels like to be Tarzan or Jane, then the second station, is right for you. It also offers a good swing and worry not dear folks because it is not that deep compared to the third station.

20170325_161506-01.jpeg

At first, I was very hesitant. Like I can hear my heart pounding so hard. Amid the nervousness I felt, I requested to the guy if he can push me backward so I can have a good full swing. He did and IT WAS SO FUN AND ADDICTING!!! I said to myself I will just try once, for an experience but I ended up having 5 tries on the first trip and another 5 on the second trip. I also tried to jump from the falls itself and took me 10 minutes to jump.

FB_IMG_1512226245728-01.jpeg

20170325_145547_Richtone(HDR)-01.jpeg

The clean and fresh water that flows in the said falls is from the natural spring, watershed from the high mountains. Luckily, our tour guide, Aunt, and Uncle of our dear officemate, Argine Rose, led us there. It was a 5-minute ride from Cambugahay Falls. The water is very clear and refreshing. We stayed there for 15 minutes only.


Salagdoong Beach Resort


Before reaching the resort, you'll have to travel a 5-minute ride from the circumferential road. Because we want to save money, we agreed to just walk. It was very tiring, so we did some photoshoot just to brush off the tiredness. It was a long way though we had the chance to be mesmerized by the Salagdoong Forest; thirty minutes later, we saw the gate leading to the resort! Hooray!

20170324_095629_Richtone(HDR).jpg

20170324_100114_Richtone(HDR).jpg

Aside from the crystal blue water, Salagdoong Beach Resort is known for its 24 feet high and 36 feet high jumping board. On my first travel, I survived and was able to jump on the 24 feet high board with a life vest of course. It took me about 10 minutes to take a one step out of the board and to feel the gravity of the earth down to the crystal blue sea of Salagdoong. This is not a joke but I honestly had enough time to reminisce the past and ask the Lord God when will this leap ends. It feels like it was a couple of minutes before reaching the water but when I saw the video, it was just a mere seconds.

Now on my second travel, I took me 30 minutes to jump! Yes, 30 minutes. I don't want to back out yet I'm afraid to jump. It seems like my feet were glued so hard at the end of the board. There were plenty of tourists especially those foreigners who asked me if I want to be pushed but with a loud voice, I said no. They took a video of me which was somehow embarrassing and then kept on cheering, Go Girl!, but that didn't help. What my boyfriend did, he acted as if he's mad and shouted from below, "Bahala ka dara ui!". When I saw that he's started to swim back to the shore, I just did the most terrifying 36 feet leap in my entire life yet very a fulfilling one. Worth the butt pain!! After the first leap, I went up, and jump again. Surely the first try is the scariest and then the next is still scary yet you will try to do it because it's fun!

If you're afraid to take the leap, you can have snorkeling even if the water levels on your thighs and you can still see plenty of fishes.
When I was on the jumping board waiting for my turn, we saw dolphins, turtles, and a school of fishes that has the face of a swordfish and a body of an eel.
Kayaking is also available but we did not try because I started jumping on the board


Talingting Boulevard


On our last night, we went to Talingting Boulevard to eat there and to treat Auntie and Uncle. We planned to go there before the sun sets. Unfortunately, we arrived late and another unfortunate happened when there were only two stalls opened. So we just ordered an 'Isaw' (chicken intestine), beef barbecue, tempura and squid roll with no rice. It wasn't enough to feed our tummy which is growling so hard because of a day of swimming, swinging and jumping. Kuya Aljun and his wife offered to eat in their house.

20170324_185402_Richtone(HDR).jpg

We are not in a fancy restaurant but frankly speaking, nothing beats to eating with a bunch of people where you can share your foods. If only we have prepared a banana leaf, we could eat in a military way, **BOODLE FIGHT! **


Lazi Church


FB_IMG_1512225582069-01.jpeg

FB_IMG_1512225574164-01.jpeg

Feel the Spanish ambiance and see for yourself the beauty of Lazi Church which is also known as San Isidro Labrador Parish.

The church was built in stone and hardwood by Filipino artisans. In front of the church is the oldest and largest convent in Asia. When we went there, it was under construction so we weren't able to see the museum and be able to see the antiques and religious artifacts.

FB_IMG_1512225564803-01.jpeg


Barangay Olang Sanctuary


We stayed in Barangay Olang in Maria, Siquijor. We were guided by Auntie and took us to the Sanctuary. The water is a very clear and greenish. We did some snorkeling there and the saw beautiful and colorful corals and school of fishes.

20170325_102649_Richtone(HDR).jpg

They also have a cottage at the sea so we stayed there and feel the sea breeze. Salagdoong Jumping Board is very visible from the cottage though we haven't seen someone who jumped already at that time.

20170325_093935_Richtone(HDR).jpg

We stayed there for a couple of hours and decided to get back when Anthony sang How Far I'll Go, and the water started to rise accompanied by strong winds. The three of us laughed and immediately went back to the shore.

20170325_100604-01.jpeg

Uncle said that they were planning to have a boardwalk and just recently, Argine's cousin posted a picture of the Olang's sanctuary boardwalk. We were so excited and we're planning to visit there again.


EXPENSES BREAKDOWN


As I've said, we were able to spend a little amount because we stayed for free. They didn't let us pay for the gasoline and for the food that we ate. But, even if we didn't stay there it was still a low budget travel.

Iligan to Mukas Php 55, approximately 2 hours
Mukas Bus Terminal to Mukas Sea PortPhp 7, approximately 5 mins
Mukas Sea Port to Ozamis Sea PortPhp 25, 30 mins
Ozamis Sea Port to Ozamis Bus TerminalPhp 20, 10mins
Ozamis Bus Terminal to Plaridel Bus TerminalPhp 105, 2.5 hours
Plaridel Bus Terminal to Plaridel Sea PortPhp 10 10mins
Plaridel Sea Port to Larena Sea PortPhp 410, 5 hours
Motorcycle Rent (Good for 2-3) Php 350/day excluding the gasoline
Tricycle (Good for 7-8)Php 1300/day - Php 1800/day (It varies according to the places you'll going to visit. You have to negotiate with the driver.)
Old Enchanted Balete Tree Entrance Fee Php 10/head
Cambugahay Falls Tarzan Swing Php 20, unlimited
Salagdoong Beach Resort Entrance FeePhp 25/head
Life VestPhp 100/day

For Accommodation

Toris Paradise Dormitory Room (Good for 10) - Php 403/head
Beach View Superior Room (Good for 2) - Php 1750
Executive Beach View (Good for 4-5) - Php 3900

You can check their website here!

Honestly, a pocket money of Php 5000 is big enough for a 3-day and 2-night vacation in Siquijor.


WILL I GO BACK?


Indeed, it is really hard to let go but definitely, I'll go back and be mesmerized all over again; revisit those places and visit some of the tourist spots that we missed on our first and second travel.
I think I've mentioned it a hundred times in this blog, forgive me for being so redundant. On our soon-to-be third and so forth trip, I will surely bring with me the right gears to capture the beauty God has given to us!

20170324_165826.jpg

I would really love to hear it after you read my blog that you will going to include Siquijor Island on your travel list.

I'll end this blog by sharing to you guys the video made by one of my colleagues, Reu Sanchez.


PS. I've been planning to make my own travel blog but failed to start. But now, I was able to pull it off thanks to @long888 who initiated this 2000 words blog contest with a theme: Travel and also to our kind judge @paradise-found who believes in our group. It is such a honor sir.


kneelyrac


DQmTnYAkWSrhwuRTA8P97xruy6hScLrNtMsoWPxCu5rF7a7.png

!steemitworldmap 9.213263 lat 123.515703 long description d3scr

Sort:  

Siquijor is indeed one of the most mystical places in our country. This is a very detailed travel blog kabayan. I really learned alot about the province. Thanks for sharing! XD

Thank you for reading my blog kabayan. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kneelyrac to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kneelyrac from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow Siquijor! I’d visit it someday, that’s for sure! Cambugahay Falls very beautiful. The color of the water is amazing, its like photoshopped. But its all natural. Huhu. Very nice!

Also, you’re so brave for jumping. That was too high! Huhuhu

I have a question, are love potions and vodoo dolls real? Hindi char char lang 😂

Yes the water is beautiful. The first two pics of Cambugahay falls were captured by samsung E5 yet it was able to grasp the color.

You should try cliff jumping when you visit there. You can ask for a life guard if you're afraid. They also have a very huge lifebuoy. It's really worth it. There was also a girl from Manila who really cried so hard but was able to jump tho.

Hahahahah, I haven't tried both. But my parent said that it works. Also with the lana who boils when someone tries to poison you.

Ganda. Sana makapunta me dyan someday. :)

Someday! Sarap sa feeling na nahikayat po kayo dahil sa blog na ito. Di po kayo magsisisi sa Siquijor :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Taga Siquijor diay ka maam...

Dili sir ui. Ako lola and lolo lang side sako papa.

Aw maayo unsa man apelyido...

Sa akong lolo ug lola? Atis, Pabuaya, Enanor, then side sako mama kay Maglangit.

Taga Siquijor gyud kaayo na nga mga apelyido...

Siquijodnon pod ka sir? Hehe lage. basta inana nga apilyedo

O Siquijodnon gyud kaayo....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48