How many of the "introduction" posts are genuine?

in #steemitabuse8 years ago (edited)

#introduceyourself #steemitabuse

Hey Steemians..

Really curious what you think is the ratio of genuine vs scammy intro posts?

I get the feeling it has shot up in recent days. Is that trend is set to continue, as more hoards of people arrive? Why are people Upvoting posts that are very conspicuously spammy? Perhaps a lot of people are trying to game the Upvoting reward system, and they know that some posts on that tag get huge.


Thanks for any thoughts on this..

Sort:  

I think less than 20 % are genuine in fact most seems copy paste (with smalls modifications and different photos)

Hmm that's messed up

I would hope they're genuine.

I treat an intro like a "Hey, I'm here and grateful for you letting me join" king of thing. I usually post one on any forum I join, and of course steemit :)

Some of them I just find hard to stomach. I'm extremely skeptical, and when I see a sob story with a dramatic stock image, the red flags go up. At the same time, people can vote for whatever they want.

yeah, that's true. Some people are here to try and make a million dollars over night and will try to tug at heart strings in order to do so.

Yeah I agree. I've no problem though if the stories are true, but I suspect some of them are just like..

I don't think it matters but for those (like me) who did an intro/header it's a great way to just understand the fundamentals of posting & replying so i always comment when i see a header. I think it helps new users figure it out. #Thanks4Listening

What amazes me the most is why would anyone care whether they're genuine in the first place?

As if it makes a real big difference for us all here, is that "hot girl" really here with us or is "she" just spamming selfies for easy cash? What's she's gonna do, contribute her tits and make Steem great again for everyone?

Remember the rules, there are no girls on the internet.

It might be a dangerous sign that those boob posts get upvoted simply because everyone knows they get upvoted. They are literally famous for being famous. That would mean the incentives are fundamentally broken within the platform.

But I'm relatively optimistic, in that I think the community is sure to grow up very soon and develop an extreme distaste for anything even remotely resembling #travelboob posts of our early times & other forms of attention-whoring.

I'm with you on that. I'm not concerned with real women exploiting their various talents. What concerns me more is catfish, quite likely men, cooking up fake profiles and fake stories. Again though, people can vote for whatever they want and if they don't seek any verification, that's their own fault. I imagine there will be more fake stories getting exposed over time, and the community will become more vigilant.

That's because men want the easy cash too, can you blame them?

The big issue that the young Steem community is still blind to is that what we have here is an exchange for trading social capital (approval, upvotes, caring) for Steem money. Pretty (fertile) women have the highest natural social capital in almost any society, they do not have to do or say anything of value, they just need to exist and look good, to be automatically liked by everyone born with a dick.

4Chan and other places like that has long recognized these kinda trends and they have organically evolved an extreme distaste for "Hi I am a girl" posts, which is summed up in their brilliant motto "Tits or GTFO".

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "steemitabuse".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "steemitabuse":

  1. An open letter to the Steemit community on Content, Plagiarism, and the Cheetah bot. ($3565.19)
  2. Why I removed all my posts! ($1395.19)
  3. Steemit's Cultural Standards: How To Deal With Sociopathic Trolls & Abusive, Potential Criminals...? ($839.1)

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @places, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30