The Phantom Of Entitlement

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I get the feeling that people have unrealistic expectations when they join Steemit; it's as if they think Steemit is this wonderful place where Facebook posts are suddenly worth money...


I_Want_It_Now_small.jpg
Image by Denise Krebs - source: Flickr

Some users of Steemit believe that if they spend time to post, they should reap the benefits from that by getting payed their due from the reward pool. They heard somewhere, about this social media platform that pays for your blogging efforts, which is of course a welcome change from Facebook where the reverse is true; they get payed for your blogging efforts...

Steemit sounds great! I can keep on posting like I did on Facebook, but now I'll get payed, which is only fair, isn't it? I mean it cost me time to write the text and post the pictures, so...

Well, I'm sorry, but that's not how this works. That's not how life works. You're entitled to absolutely nothing at all. What you do have here, is a fair chance to present your contribution to the marketplace of ideas that is Steemit. Like in any marketplace, the success of your particular idea will depend on how much interest it generates among the other marketplace-dwellers; if people like your contribution, and if it gets seen at all, then you'll have a chance to earn something. It's in the very nature of a market that there's no such thing as being entitled to any profit at all

If you think that you can manage to get seen and liked by just continuing on your Facebook way, publishing your adventures of the day, showing what you had for dinner, sharing that darn sweet picture of your pregnant GF, I say: go for it. But please don't whine and complain that Steemit didn't keep its promise if that little counter on the bottom of the page gets stuck at one cent, if even that. It's a jungle out there, it's hard work to get noticed, let alone to get upvotes and let's not even talk about getting whales to upvote your stuff.

Of course, you can make it work for you, even with the proverbial shit-post consisting of a picture and a line of text. But it won't be the posts themselves that bring the success; how could they? It'll be you having taken the time and effort to build a network around you. This can be done in several ways, like joining one of the many communities (@helpie being the best for serious starters that aren't here for a quick profit only), or commenting on other people's posts and building relationships that way.

Or you post about something you're particularly good at, or about things that you are genuinely interested in, and be consistent. Without the networking this will develop slow, but if you manage to post good quality articles at regular intervals, you'll build trust and slowly gain more followers and upvotes; this is my strategy, mainly because I simply lack the time to do much networking or to hang out in Discord on the Steem related channels all day.


Mine!

The gold is where you can do both; build relationships combined with regular quality content. It's just like real life really; if you expect to get payed, it'll take time and effort. Nothing's for free and no one is entitled to anything. All of us are unique, but none of us are special. But we all have a fair chance on the marketplace of ideas, and yes, that's with bot abuse and spam accounts taken into consideration. And you are here to grab that fair chance to let your content be made special by an appreciative audience.

Now, having said all that, I know it can be hard to get started on Steemit. But it's that much harder if you get here with the wrong or unrealistic expectations. Like in any other department of our lives, success on Steemit takes time and effort. And I know it can be demoralizing to see someone post a graphic with Bitcoin's market-price, or a meme they didn't even create themselves, and get that post on the trending page by buying a ton of votes. But they do nothing inherently wrong, and you gain nothing by comparing yourself to them, other than feelings of discontent, so don't.

Instead have a strategy of your own. A good strategy for starters is to apply for @helpie membership, provided you're not just here for a quick profit, but genuinely want to share your knowledge, experience or creativity with a community of diverse souls. Don't let my little rant discourage you, because even without posting anything, but just commenting in a meaningful way on other people's posts can make you money. And money isn't even the main reason for staying here, at least not for me; it's something about the community of people here that makes it special. Who was it that said "they come for the money and stay for the community"?


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>That Annoying Time Between Naps
Learning GIMP #1Elvis Lives!
Austerity: A Mental PitbullWhen Fiat Finally Falls
We Don't Need No Stinking Badges!Steem's Bright Future

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Well, I got here because I saw somebody mention it on @paintingangels FB page, then realized what it was. Like I said in my original post, the true attraction for me is that Steemit has a rock-solid mechanism for ensuring quallity vs crap. Good work survives, crap doesn't. Natural Selection, if you will. Also I'm super-shy and many of my mad ramblings would cause trouble if employers or family saw it.

Steemit is, in a sense, a network for an Elite. People who care about their work, their world, and themselves... In other words, Tasters. <3

Yeah, money's nice too, I guess. But it's not the point for me, never was... The folks I barter with don't trade in money.... It's just a tool, nothing more.... Lol.

Thanks so much for the response @yestermorrow! I remember your first post after Serena introduced you here; I believe we both didn't like the many "plastic smiles" on Facebook ;-) And you're right that it's about the people first, always.

The story I have joining Steemit is actually quite the opposite, I've never used FB and in general stayed away from social networks alike. Neither have I ever blogged or made any kind of posts.
I heard of Steemit from (where exactly I don't remember), I think one of "IvanOnTech"s "Good Morning Crypto" streams and forgot about that a few minutes later.
Some weeks later I was talking about old games with a colleague at work and thought "I would love to have a discussion about this with a large group of people, that should be fun" - that's when I remembered Steemit. i thought that if I'm anyway into crypto, I might as well check out a crypto social network. So I registered here, made my first post and went to bed. In the morning I discovered 13 (or something like that) upvotes and 17 comments, that blew my mind :D not to mention 0.20$. I've never thought that I can just write about random things I find worth talking about and that people will actually feel the same way.
So ever since then I've been posting stuff, not only about gaming but about things in life that I find important. And I do not really care about the $$ (not that I have anything against ,of course) as long as I see people replying in the comments.
So that's me, not that it really matters. Just wanted to share that there are reverse cases of "the usual Steemit story"

That's such a beautiful response @emtecks, thanks so much for that! :-) And you know what? Steemit is my first social media to! My first posts weren't so successful though... It took me a while to break that 20 cents-barrier ;-)

But it's the responses, like this one, and the interaction in general with like-minded people that make this platform what it is. For me at least. Like you, I write about what I think is important, fun or helpful, and every time it's a nice surprise if it gets upvotes and even earns some cents and dollars...

So that's me, not that it really matters. Just wanted to share that there are reverse cases of "the usual Steemit story"

It does matter, so thank you! :-)

Money is important in the equation but you right that you need to post quality posts and networking to be succesful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, it's people like you that make this platform worth it @chesatochi, but it's super that there's money to be made as well. Only if you come here for just the money, which is perfectly fine, than you better have a plan :-)

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.459 which ranks you at #6509 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 24 places in the last three days (old rank 6485).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65