We Don't Need No Stinking Badges!

in #film6 years ago

Time constraints force me to cheat tonight, as there's no way I'm going to be able to write a normal post, due to an overload of duties and responsibilities IRL.


badge.jpg
I'm Sheriff, Deputy Sheriff, AND US Marshal around here - source: pxhere

Maybe I will elaborate on the reasons offline life must take precedence overt steemit life in the future, but for now let it suffice to say that family, friends and colleagues demand much of my attention right now and will continue to do so over the next couple of weeks. What can I say? There is a social life outside social platforms like Steemit (and all the other ones I don't use, like Facebook, Twitter and so on), and that one has to have priority always.

It's not that I don't like you, on the contrary, but being able to breathe is what enables me to have a relationship with you in the first place, and to breathe I need to eat real food in the real world. So please take my occasional incapability to post articles of the sort and quality you've come to expect from me everyday, due to my attention on keeping relationships alive that ultimately keep me alive, as a sign of love for all of you, my online steemian friends.

Without any further ado, my short contribution today revolves around stereotyping and famous stereotypical Hollywood movie-lines. Well, one in particular that is. You see, like Arabs, African Americans, Chinese and other racial groups, the Mexican has for decades been caricatured on the movie screen. Regardless of any opinions on how discriminating or politically correct or incorrect this is, the Mexican has typically been portrayed as an independent soul that has little to no respect for authority; they are almost always a bandit or some other type of criminal, especially in the years when Westerns were extremely popular.

This classical Mexican bandit had one line that has been used over and over again in countless movies, with only slight variations; it's the resolute refusal of wearing any decoration to do with authority, "the badge". You may call me politically incorrect, but that phrase spoken with an authentic or faked Mexican accent always makes me smile. I believe it was first used in the 1948 western The Treasure of the Sierra Madre with Humphrey Bogart:


We Dont Need No Stinkin Badges!

If you know of even earlier uses of this famous quote, pleas let me know in the comments and I'll watch that entire movie just to catch that line one more time ;-) Another famous appearance of badge-refusing Mexicans was the one in the 1974 Mel Brooks comedy Blazing Saddles:


Blazing Saddles We dont need no stinking badges

Like I said, this line has been used over and over again. Okay, not as much as "I got a bad feeling about this", but I think it comes close. It's frequent use in comedies, even in situations where Mexicans nor badges play any role, is perhaps the best proof of this line's fame. I'll leave you with a compilation of some of it's more comical uses:


Stinking Badges Montage


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Steem's Bright Future
Plants' Social LifeI'm Going To Learn GIMP
PC: The Atomism Of SpeechBetween Past And Future
The Amazing Sabertooth SausageThe Presence Of Brian Blessed

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you! :-)

Hello @zyx066, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85