Why Steemit Chat should be discontinued as Official Platform of Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Because Steemit Chat Is Vulnerable To Scammers


speech-bubble with Steemit Chat.png

I haven’t came across any data for what percentage of Steemit users regularly use Steemit Chat feature to interact with one another. But I know many of them have never registered for this service. The sole reason for the ones who have registered here is that this service is officially linked from the Steemit website. But the question remains, what is so official about it?

1. The service is not integrated into the main website.


For using the chat feature, one has to go to a different website, leaving behind the main blog where a blogger needs to be active.

2. The service is not the part of the blockchain.


Many users are under the false impression that as this service is the official chat feature of Steemit, it’s also running on the blockchain infrastructure but it’s not true. Steemit Chat is not on the blockchain.

3. Compared to other platforms like Discord App, Steemit Chat is very slow and lack many features.


The ease of use, speed and several other versatile features of the multi-platform software Discord is rapidly gaining up popularity among Steemians. Several sub groups of Steemit community are already running their own independent servers and channels over Discord. Many developers have already built numerous bots to facilitate the needs of Steemians there. Hence many of the Steemit Chat users are abandoning that platform for Discord today.

4. Scamsters galore on Steemit Chat.


The biggest and most dangerous problem of Steemit Chat is the presence of increasing number of scammers there, who aim to deceive money from inexperienced newbies on Steemit platform. The prime reason for this is the "official" label of Steemit Chat. Since Steemit Chat is not integrated with Steem blockchain, it is an independent chat platform linked to the official Steemit website. Hence it requires you to create a fresh login ID and password to use this service. Since people come to this service to connect exclusively with steemians only, they generally create the same ID as on Steem blockchain. And after using it for some period, they tend to forget this important distinction. This vulnerability is encashed by fraudsters.

Since not every Steemian is using Steemit Chat and not all who are using have got the identical ID here as on Steemit, the con artists create an identical ID of a reputed whale account and start misrepresenting them here. Noobs are mostly caught unawares. They get carried away with the temptation of interaction with a big whale and trust every word of theirs. Many times they part with their hard earned money in exchange of a big upvote from them. At times, they even give their Steemit account’s Active Key which the scammer convinces them to give it on some pretext and then steal whole of their wallet.


My Recent Encounter With Scammers On Steemit Chat:


In the past week itself, I was approached by couple of such scammers. One was the account with the user name @jamesc – the top 11th ranked account on Steemit on the basis of Steem Power. This fellow asked me to transfer him 15 SBD for a $130 upvote. Quite ridiculous but I agreed to look what comes next.

Jamesc-1.png

Next he asked me to transfer the amount to his Bittrex account:

Jamesc2.png

When I told him I don’t have $15 liquidity in my wallet, he checked up my wallet and surprisingly told me that you can send me whatever is available right now. And when I said I’d transfer it to your Steemit wallet only, he blocked me up!

Jamesc-2.png

This kind of conversation immediately rings the alarm bells but sometimes greed is blinding and it takes over our good sense. During this conversation, I contacted @teamsteem about the genuinity of this account. He was generous enough to immediately confirm me that this one is a scammer.

A few days later, I was approached by another scammer with the account @val-a – a top 7 ranked account with respect to Steem Power. Now this was offering $200 upvote for merely transferring $12.

val-a-1.png

But this conversation was very ridiculous. The said Steemit account had already delegated all his SP to someone and didn’t had any vote strength. And the scammer didn’t want to understand that. Perhaps he got it later on, so he too blocked me after sometime on. 😊

val-a-2.png

I've heard of several more incidents like being approached by @steemit2 account (23rd most valued account on Steemit) and people offering to delegate hundreds of thousands of SP in return of your Active Account Keys (which they say is necessary to delegate SP quickly), etc.

The most important precaution is not to trust anyone with your Active Account Keys. Even in the exceptional scenario of most trusted case, if you have to briefly handover your active keys to someone, do transfer all your liquid SBDs & Steem into your savings before doing so. And then immediately change the Key after recovering it.

5. All first time chat messages are looked down as potential scammer or spammer.


Because of such rampant presence of scammers, I became over-cautious of all new messages from people who are contacting me for the first time here. I tend to ignore them and give them the least priority. Sometimes my attitude is not very friendly while chatting with them.

Overall, I feel this Steemit Chat platform is not friendlier, easy to use, and not very well developed. It is a breeding ground for scammers who are exploiting vulnerable Steemians and giving a bad name to whole Steemit community. Such a platform should be discontinued. Even if it needs to be continued, it should run independent of Steemit without any affiliation to the official Steemit website.

The way Busy has integrated the chat platform in its blog on Steem should be the way forward.
I hope you got my point here. I'd love to hear your views and experiences on Steemit Chat. Are you satisfied with this tool?


Do leave your feedback, reactions and criticism in the comments below. I love positive interactions with you. If you just upvote my post, I do feel happy. But I'd be happier if you leave a comment too.

I sometimes send a small gift of 101 cents to 999 cents to one of the comments here depending upon my mood and account liquidity level. Hope you won't mind a small tip if sending that makes me happy.

If you are on Telegram, you may want to interact with my bot Veganizer or the Hindi version गौमाता कामधेनु. Do subscribe my Telegram Supergroup for chat related to veganism. Thank you for reading! 💓

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this information. I cannot believe this happened to you. Worse I cannot believe it happened twice!

You are welcome @kubbyelizabeth! ...or if you won't mind, can I call you Pinki? 😉
Well, I didn't part with my money as I could guess that they were some scammers. But not everyone may be that lucky, so I posted these screen shots for their attention. Thanks for your concern anyway. I loved your visit here. For my pleasure, here is a small tip! for you.

You asked if you could call me pinki, at first it sounds pretty cool. I think we can stick to Kubby, but if I change my mind I will let you know.

Cool! Kubby is perfectly fine too 😊

I truely agree with your views on this. Soo many spammers prevail out there. Almost daily we receive messages to transfer some amount to them for upvotes. Upvoted and following u as always. Regards Nainaz

As it's said "Consumers Beware", we all need to be super cautious of the presence of scammers everywhere. A slightest of slip can cost us a lot.

Thanks a lot for your visit, comment and resteem! Here's a small tip! posted for you for my pleasure.

This is actually very sad that a lot of people have encounters with spammers on steem.chat .. Mangosteem is a very good chat too, but currently in alpha stage. I wish you a good evening!

Thanks @infinitelearning for updating me about mangosteem! I see that as mangosteem is on blockchain one can directly land on the Steemit profile when clicking on user's chat ID. But I'd appreciate if instead of leading the user to some other website, some chat feature can be integrated in the Steemit platform itself.

When using websites like mangosteem, the first question came to my mind was that if this one is an independent chat platform on blockchain then why do it's user IDs are linked to Steemit website? Can't there be a way to edit my preference if I want to go to Busy or ChainBB or any other website? Other aspect is I'm required to trust the Steem Connect tool to log into this chat. I think all these can be solved if Steemit development team can integrate such a tool in their own website. But yeah, thanks to @mynameisbrian for showing a way to take things forward.

Here is a small tip! being posted for you @infinitelearning, hope you won't mind that.

Yeah you're totally right! As with everything in Steemit, there is a lot of work to do, like better UI, better functionality etc etc. Thank you for that tip! :-) Have a nice day!

Because of such rampant presence of scammers, I became over-cautious of all new messages from people who are contacting me for the first time here. I tend to ignore them and give them the least priority. Sometimes my attitude is not very friendly while chatting with them.

Yes, exactly! That's how I handle private chats there aswell. Sometimes, it turns out I've been overly mean to someone with good intentions, but overall, the intentions are either self-serving, spammy or scammy.

I feel ya @playfulfoodie! That's very undesirable outcome in our behaviour because of these spammy scammers. I hate myself and feel very uncomfortable when a good meaning person contacts me and I take that to be a scammer initially. But can't help it as our past experiences shapes our future behaviour towards everyone.

hmmm, yeah... there is so much happening on Steemit alone that I don't really have much time for discordia or steem.chat or some other spinoffs. I check them out occasionally and go there to check or submit something for a contest or ask a question on occasion, but i don't use them much.

You said it @clumsysilverdad! Most of us are so busy on Steemit platform itself that we don't feel an urge to go anywhere else. But when we use those tools occasionally, we are not very conversant with those tools and we are the ones who are being targeted there by scammers. We need to be more careful while using these tools.

This is excellent article :)

Thank you for liking it @libert!

Its not only the steemit chat. Loads of tools to enhance the steemit experience exist. All this should be directly integrated into the main webpage.
Latest upvoters, better filtering for tags and users, bookmarks, favorites just to name some.
Why is everybody writing external tools? Is there no steemit webpage development team?
Im not here for so long and dont understand it yet.
J

I agree with you on it. Busy team seems to be more efficient than Steemit dev team as far as feature integration is concerned. They have included many features on their platform which Steemit website is lacking on.

Really Good Post!
Due to these You Upvoted & Followed.
Please upvote+resteem+follow me
https://steemit.com/@loku

Thanks

I also thought Steemit Chat was an official thing until I signed up for it and realise that they are 2 separate entities! Well I wanted to ask a question on the #help channel there anyway. But thanks for the warning, I'll be careful of the scammers!

Do check an update on steemit.chat here

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85