Steemit Statistics: Update! Number of Unique VisitorssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In my post "Important Steemit Statistics" I did a breakdown of the numbers related to visits to the Steemit.com site. One of the most important numbers was missing however. I finally have the number of total unique visitors. Let's discus!

Imgur


horizontal_line.png

A quick recap


visitorsv2.png


In my post Important Steemit Statistics we saw that Steemit.com had a grand total of 16.93 million visitors in one month (in this case August). But these were total visits and not unique visitors.

There is an important difference between total visitors to a site and unique. The number 16.93 in this case includes the multiple times a person visited the site. So let's say for argument's sake that most Steemians visit the site every day in one month that's 30 visits total per month. Because of this you can not ascertain how many persons actually visited the site. If we know the total of unique visitors however, we are better able to answer the question: "how many real users does Steemit has?"

horizontal_line.png

The Unique Numbers


unique_visitorsv2.png


Thanks to a beta functionality of Similiarweb we are able to see that Steemit.com had 5.2 million unique visitors in August. This is a huge number, to be honest higher than I ever imagined.

The 5.2 million includes the mobile devices and desktops ( so PC/laptops and smartphones/tablets).

horizontal_line.png

Let's Break it down


So does this mean that Steemit had 5.2 million people who visited the site last August? Well, actually no.
No site or software is able to see who is sitting behind a Laptop/PC or who is using a smartphone ( let's be very grateful for that). All that sites like similarweb are able to filter out is the uniqueness the ip-addresses.

Every device connects to a website from an unique ip-address, now I don't want to get too technical but if you are using your laptop/pc or your smartphone when it is connected to your Wifi it's basically the IP-address of your router. When you are using your smartphone and are connected to your mobile network (like 4G) then will you get another IP-address.
If multiple people connect to Steemit from the same household this will generate one IP-address. But when you are at a different household (for example visiting your moms) than you will be counted as a new unique visitor.

Sounds confusing? let me draw you a picture.


Imgur

Situation 1 is me busy behind my laptop, this will count as one unique visit. Every time I reconnect will not be counted as a visit.

Situation 2 is @sherryblossom who lives in my house also connecting to Steemit. However because she is using the same router this will not count as a unique visit. She is using the same router and thus the same IP-address as me.

Situation 3 is me checking Steemit on my mobile using Wifi. This will not count as a unique visit because I am using the same router, Steemit or any other site can not see who is behind the ip-address.

Situation 4 Is me visiting my mom's place and connecting with Steemit. This will count as an unique visit because I am using a different router and therefore connecting with a different ip-address, regardless of the fact that the same user is logging in.

Situation 5 This one is very important. This is me connecting with Steemit on my mobile phone but using my mobile network (4G). This will count as a unique visit. The fact that I am accessing the website from the Vodafone mobile network means that the ip-address I am connecting with is different from the situation where I was connecting at home with Wifi.

horizontal_line.png

So what does it all mean?


Well basically that in this case there is no way to see if multiple people are connecting from the same router (e.g. household or workplace). It is also impossible to tell if the same person logging in from different locations. But most importantly it there is no way to tell if the same user is logging in from a desktop (PC/laptop/tablet) or a Mobile (network).

trafficsharev2.png


These are the percentages of desktop users and Mobile Web, we can not tell if these are actually the same users. If every user would have used a desktop and their mobile device to visit Steemit, it would mean that 2.6 million ( half of 5.2 million) people visited the site in August.
I do not believe that every Steemian uses both desktop and Mobile but let's assume that the majority of Steemians do.

horizontal_line.png

Let's do some math


Imgur

30% of all visits to Steemit were direct visits, if my theory is correct than we can divide those 1.572 million visits (30% of 5.239 million) in half which totals 0.786 million persons (give or take). The chances for the other 70% percent who arrived at Steemit by social media and organic searches to use both mobile and desktop are very slim. This would put that total on 3.667 million.

If we add these numbers up we get 4.445 million people who visited the site in August. Of those 4.4 million I suspect at least around 1 million to be Steemians

Let me explain further:
If we look at the original numbers from Similarweb we see that the total number of visits to Steemit is almost 17 million. Now I figure that most Steemians visit Steemit more than once in a month. If every unique visit was a Steemian than this would mean that on average Steemians visit the site around 3-4 times a month (yeah, right!). But if 1 million of unique visitors were actually Steemians than it would mean that on average they would visit the site around 16 - 17 times a month (what makes more sense).

horizontal_line.png

My final assumptions (for August)


Total visits to Steemit.com: 16.93 Million
Total unique visitors (without correction): 5.23 Million
Total unique visitors (after correction): 4.45 Million
Estimate of Steemian visitors: between 0.8 and 1 Million


What do you think? Let me know in the comment section.


classy_signature6.png

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
The one about Post Promotion
Is the PS4 Pro worth it?
Decentralized networks are changing the world
Destiny 2 review for the Lone Wolves
The one about the Rewards
Can you cut off the internet
How to earn Higher Curation Rewards
Litebit Hacked!

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

So interessting and almost gets me hyped that there have been at least 2.5 millions visited the website! i usually try to promote steem myself by posting my travel posts on facebook. from time to time people ask what the fuck this website is about and i give my time to tell them "the short" version. People will see steem pop up more and more and eventually take the step. Great analytical skills as well @xervantes . Good job!

Thank you, also keep up promoting. I know how hard it is explaining Steemit to people
Keep steemin'

100% -- this growth trajectory is HUGE. The more time and care we spend spreading the word now will help people familiarise with the platform initially and let it explode in the long-run.

These analytics give me the motivation to keep going - thanks a bunch @xervantes (check out my first post - up-promote me? ^^)

Hi there, do you (or anyone else reading this) know the current number of registered Steemit accounts? I used to check http://steemd.com/distribution for this figure but that website has been down for a while. Thanks!

There are just under 400.000 of Steemit.com Accounts created
IMAGINE how the stats will look when we have a few millions of users

hopefully its gone bee soon but platform must look better and give more options for search and browsing. Current search with google is absolute s*** There's just so much work that need to be done, there must be more devs working on it full time

Yeah, It would be interesting to compare these numbers to the Steemit accounts. This might explain better where the over 5 million unique visits are coming from.

I got lost in the analytics but I'm glad so many people are tracking and analyzing how the growth is occurring and how that compares to similar websites, all with an eye to improving and developing, peace

Thanks @clumsysilverdad. Steemit keeps growing, it's either going to a steady climb to the top or a sudden sprint. Both are fine as I am concerned.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sherryblossom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 20.40 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @xervantes. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 5.86 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @xervantes.

Great job @xervantes.
I can recognise some Traffic Data Website I also use ;).
Keep-up the good work. See you around my friend.

Thanks vlemon, I will be following your posts closely :)

Home, work, phone 3g/4g - could even be less than half and more like a 3rd?

Still... as long as the number is going up we are in business! Cheers!

Steemit at work? You naughty boy :)

I did write the odd post at work yes - No job at present though, living off steemit bid-bots :P

If only it would be possible to live off Steemit payouts alone, one can only dream :)

  1. Move to beach hut
  2. Take nice photos of paradise
  3. Pray for votes
  4. Bid-bot boost daily blog

Don't steal my plan! :p

;) too late, looking for a beach hut now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63013.55
ETH 2460.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64