Does Someone Want to Help me Find Out Why My Login Password Was Changed?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello My Steem Family!

rainbow-wrongpassword-cijrs.png
image credit: https://axelerr3.deviantart.com/art/Rainbow-Knight-Wrong-Password-383817880

Yes, first of all, I am new here, so I am sorry for posting this before having posted my Introduction post! You will understand in a minute.
This might be important to the developers or just general security, especially if this was a hacker who got control of my account somehow!

Yesterday, I was uploading my account profile fotos, and everything was fine, until suddenly, I had to re-login, I put my login password key, hit login, and it responded with "wrong password" . I was shocked of course. I had not messed around with any settings in the keys or password for login, so I did not understand how this happened.

I could see here: https://steemd.com/@wounded-viking
I could see there on the steemd statistics, that "wounded-viking update account data" ..
Seeing that I was actually updating the profile Fotos, both profile and cover images and intro text, it makes sense that the account data was updated, but what had now messed with my password when it was not my self!?

So, maybe there was some error in the data integrity in my connection to the blockchain, which then somehow had resat the account information and actually changed the password? This password I was using, was my first one, generated for me by default, so that should also be the default password if the system had resat all the info to default. Am I not right?

So as you can probably understand, I am very interested in finding out, if there was a hacker yesterday who got control of my password somehow! I was even using the updated Opera Browser with VPN activated, so I would have been more secure with my connection being more difficult to track.
Could the VPN'ed connection to the blockchain have caused the possible error? If it was just an error?

Can this be fixed or is the blockchain actually not updateable while it is running? Sorry, I am still learning about Blockchain Tech...

Okay! Hope to see some clever minds noticing this Post of mine.. Lets see!

And yeah, Follow me and have a little patience, I will be making introduction posts and posts of very alternating subjects the coming future ;) Already love this community! So much positivity, amazing to have earning potencial from a FREE, blogging and social network! What kind of person would not love this?! Not my kind, hah!

So, to sum up:
After all this, 1-2 hours ago I resat my password with the amazing Steemit account recovery feature! I had requested it yesterday immidiately after being locked out. Thank you developers, that is really good to have! It works when we have backup up our initial password and works with a link sent to our email address. Then it generates a new password which immidiately becomes the new active password, so that any potential hacker is also immidately locked out from the account again, hopefully!!
And I could confirm when I was now logged in again, that all my information on settings was deleted. No Photos on the profile, no text, nothing.. And I did not delete it after making it!
Thanks for reading! Now continue enjoying entertainment here or dive into what happened in this case! :D Skål!

  • Wounded Viking, Scandinavia

njaNKLARy444444444teksperi3.jpg
credit: personal photos compiled with freely available images

looking for upvote.png

Sort:  

anyway.. it seems that it was just a technical error. But I will try to reach some developers about this error. It should not happen. It is okay to be logged out if you have an internet connecttion problem, but changing the password? No way, that is not okay.

If you used your active key to save an update, it automatically logs you out after the page reloads a couple of times.

This is for your safety, as you should never use your pw, owner key or active to log in for normal use.

So, just log back in with your posting key. Do further updating and save them with your active key. Then, if it doesn't log you out(because you checked keep me logged in) you should log out and log back in with your posting key.

Thanks for explaining all this. I do not understand it though. It seems not-logical to me. I will just read your comment over and over again until I remember it properly..
But I don't see any "keep me logged in" when I log in. I do not activate such a feature.
The password that I have, that I use for logging in, that is the posting key, correct? Or is it the pw (password) ?

Im on busy.org right now. I use both busy and steemit

I am sorry, I use steemit for updating and using my wallet.

On steemit, when you want to update or log in, it has the typical check box for you too choose for it to keep you logged in.

I only use Busy to vote and browse. They take 25% of your earnings if you post through them, but steemit doesn't.

All I know is you have to log in and out of Busy through steemconnect.

"They take 25% of your earnings if you post through them, but steemit doesn't."
seriously?
How did you even find out about that?
I never read anything about that anywhere!
Then we should use Steemit to post.... definately..

This post got a resteem by resteem.service to 1638 followers. Send 0.01 SBD/STEEM to resteem.service and put your post into the memo to get a resteem yourself.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Any thought on this, anyone?
Anyway, I am just extremely glad to have my account back on my own hands again!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

hahahha.. thanks m8 ball ! youre great, I hope so !

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 6500+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

Congratulation you also got a random upvote by @yougotresteemed!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @bidseption!

  • Resteem & Upvote: 0.005 SBD or higher with url in memo to get a resteem and participate in upvote-bidding!
  • Free resteem: Follow us for FREE resteem! We will resteem a lucky post every 2 hour.
  • Delegate @bidseption to get 95% of the earning daily: 30 SP 50 SP 100 SP 150 SP 250 SP 500 SP 1000 SP

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5600 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Upvote this comment if you like this service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77