More on upvoting etiquette

in #steemit7 years ago

Some of the comments to yesterday's article on self-upvoting reminded me that there are a few other voting etiquette tidbits that are worth mentioning. None of these are outright rules, but they are kind of working their way into what's considered respectable on the Steemit platform.

  • When you comment on a blog post, it is courteous to upvote the original post. That seems to be the general consensus and I normally follow that. I can think of two exceptions. One is when you adamantly disagree with the post, you might not want to upvote it but may still want to weigh in on the discussion. What are your thoughts? Of course, you do have the option to just ignore the post. The other exception is if the post already has hundreds of upvotes and a handsome reward by the time you get to it. Maybe you still want to comment, but not upvote. I personally am not one to be deterred from upvoting by numerous previous upvotes, but that seems to bother others. Thoughts?

  • How about this one: asking for follows or resteems. Personally I find those requests highly annoying. They tend to have the opposite effect on me, making me want to dig in my heels and say no way! Some people have those requests in their signature lines, something along the lines of "If you enjoyed reading this article, please follow and resteem." When it's obvious the author puts that on every article I try to ignore it but I would still prefer it wasn't there.

I do have a couple exceptions to the "don't ask me to follow or resteem you" principle, though. One is of course, if for any reason the author is asking for follow requests. For example, maybe I want to follow dog owners in particular so I might tell you to let me know if you're a dog owner so I can follow you. @tradeqwik has been requesting that Tradeqwik customers identify themselves and request @tradeqwik to follow them.

The other exception is if you resteeming my article would clearly help someone other than me, then I might request it. I did that once because I was adding minnows to my autovoting rules and I wanted to get the word out to them, so I specifically asked anyone who had a lot of minnow followers to resteem the article. Another case may be those pay it forward types of posts where the liquid earnings will be donated to someone else. In that situation I'd still prefer to resteem an article by the author I'd want to reward, and then follow it up with an article of my own linking to their article and explaining why I'd like my followers to read and upvote their article. In that way, I don't have to deal with transferring funds from my account to another's (or I could do it quietly), instead directing rewards straight to them.

Those are some Steemit culture and etiquette items I have noticed concerning upvoting and asking others for upvotes. Have I missed any? What do you all think?

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. Paradox of this phenomenon for me is, "while I think of these ettiquetes as common sense, not following of them seems to be common practice". I believe it has to so a lot with class difference are so high, whales don't really care about sharing love, majority behaves in way that is financially most beneficial for them, which ultimately creates despiration among minnows.

One wonders the success is in followers, not realizing those followers won't give damn about your posts, and will probably unfollow first chance they get. Leaving a commnet without an upvote is the most annoying in my opinion. Why even bother saying positive stuff in comments, when your actions speak otherwise?

To be fair, I don't think it's so much that the whales don't care about sharing love, it's more that the whales are kind of set in following their friends, just like any other human beings tend to be. In order to reach out beyond your normal circles, you have to be intentional about it, and whales (along with most humans) tend to not be intentional about it. I've posted about this in previous articles--you can take a look if you're curious. And as far as followers go, I do follow people, but I'm not consistent about going through my feed so I have to admit a follow from me in and of itself isn't all that valuable. These days I rely pretty heavily on automatic voting once I decide I want to support someone's content.

your reasoning makes total sense, I will read your previous posts. Sounds interesting.

Some people have those requests in their signature lines, something along the lines of "If you enjoyed reading this article, please follow and resteem."

This one surprises me. In Marketing, it's considered a call to action.

I understand not going to someone's personal page and leaving this is in the reply section, but reminding people to upvote, follow, or resteem a post can literally be the difference in action or no action. This is very very common in the Vlogosphere and I see no reason why it wouldn't have transitioned to the Blogosphere.

I hear you on that. Thanks for enlightening me. As I said, when it looks to be a signature line I just do what I would do based on the article itself. I can see how those signature lines can be helpful to newbies, so they know the options.

Yes, I noticed you said that and it's a compromise you make that I am appreciative of. I would be thoroughly annoyed if someone kept mentioning throughout their post to follow. That I would not be ok with.

Whenever I read something good I usually leave a comment. If I can, voting power wise, I also leave an upvote...however I can leave and read a lot more than I can upvote every day so thats why it doesnt always go hand in hand

Before HF19 I sometimes resteemed an article I liked after I felt like I had no more votes to give. Now since it is mathematically impossible to truly run out of votes, I upvote everything I happen to like.

Yes that in theory is good but the ever changing dynamics dont exactly make it clear how it works exactly for everyone, especially new users...

The way it works now is that if you start with 100% voting power and you upvote someone at 100%, then your voting power will be depleted by 2% (2% of 100%). However, let's say you upvote a second post immediately after. Well, then your voting power gets depleted by 2% of the remaining 98%, which makes it slightly less than the original 2% out of 100%. The more you upvote, the less of a bite it takes out of your voting power. Meanwhile, your voting power replenishes at a rate of 20% (always out of 100%) daily. So that means you can never run out of it, so you should upvote as much as you want.

To get some experience, go to steemd.com/thephotoguide. In the left hand column, you will see a line item for your voting power. It is currently at 96.79% but will be different than that when you look at it. Then upvote something on Steemit and then refresh the steemd page. You will see a log of your action at the top of the right hand side of the page, and you will note a decrease in your voting power. Make a few more upvotes, noting what's happening with your voting power each time. Then go to sleep and check voting power again the next day and you should see a significant increase. You do this a few times and you'll get an intuitive sense of how it works. Hope this makes sense. Cheers!

Totally agree with you! Etiquette is very important and a lost skill among a lot of people. The comments that are
"nice post, follow me, i follow you" and have nothing to do with what I wrote, urg.

Yup, they don't really make me want to upvote or follow.

Very good your message, I am a little new in this and I would allude much your upvote

It's hardly practical to try to work out some common etiquette for whales and minnows. Generally more power you have so less micro management you do.
Like for this situation

I personally am not one to be deterred from upvoting by numerous previous upvotes, but that seems to bother others. Thoughts?

If you are whale it's totally ok not to upvote post which has already got enough reward. In fact for a whale would be the best totally withdraw herself from upvoting, since every upvote is an archetype of micro management.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.11 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65665.03
ETH 3585.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53