What the hell happened? Posts in "New" not getting nearly as much Steemit love now.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I've noticed ever since the new reputation points and the new Feed page features were added, suddenly it seems almost no new posts are getting much love.

What the hell happened?

I'm not talking about my posts.

My posts typically don't get much attention anyway.
I'm talking about generally anything on the "NEW" section of the main homepage.

I've spent a lot of time in there these past couple of weeks to scope out new topics I find interesting, and which may become popular. I was accustomed to seeing a large handful of them which would be gaining momentum, but now as you scroll down, even far beyond the 30-min mark that I'm sure most of us know to aim for, I'm seeing way more zeros than I'm used to seeing.

Granted, the above example may or may not be a good example of posts which deserve to be upvoted to the moon as I haven't read them personally, but this is the over all trend I'm seeing there for any kind of post. There have been many people in http://steemit.chat, for example, who I've seen post a some really awesome content, and some of whom who are usually able to score several upvotes and comments, but suddenly it's as if the water supply has been cut off.


Was this an intentional side-effect of these new features? Is there something else at play which we don't know about yet? Are people spending all their time in the Feed page checking out only those they've followed (therefore not SEEING anything new)??
At this point, anything I might say as an answer would be pure speculation, which I won't do.
I'm just curious if anyone else has noticed this trend.

Sort:  

I have found a bit more success now that we have a feed. Go figure!

How so? Isn't the feed just a collection of those you've followed? If one spends all their time fishing for big fish in the Feeds page, it would seem to me that "New" would get neglected. I don't know at all if this is what's happened, but boy it sure feels like it.

I don't know. Like you said somewhere else on these comments, maybe it's too small a sample size to go by. I'll see in a couple of weeks.

Maybe we all suck and we just don't know it yet?

Occam's Razor says that if you're looking for an answer to a problem, the simplest explanation tends to be the correct one. So yeah...that's probably it. LOL

Interesting observation. Well, it's just been a day and a half, so I wouldn't be coming to any conclusions yet. Let's see how this plays out over the next week. Even before this change, a vast majority of posts on New were at 0 cents as well.

Yes, many did hover around zero, or at most $0.10. I'm hoping this is purely coincidence and maybe only a slump, rather than an unintended side-effect of the new features. There just seems to be SOOO many more of them today. One could surmise that it could simply be the over all influx of new members flooding the system.

I also found that only relying on my feed page showed me alot less new posts, so it takes me less time to see the new posts of the people I follow, and I switch to the New section of the Tags I enjoy reading much quicker ...

It is a new way of browsing Steemit for content, it will need a slight adjustment period for all of us ..

You do make a fair point though, the majority of users (especially the newer ones) do not do this yet.

Makes me wonder how many people on the whole are doing this same thing.

Not enough i'm afraid ... I hope this changes :)

I can't use the feed. It doesn't show what I enjoy most -- people's comments.

Maybe people who started following earlier just switched to their feed.

They need to take my suggestion see it here.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@johnnyyash/steemit-layout-update-opinions-in-comments-section

Hello Winston,

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jeison/sharing-brings-happiness-a-small-message-of-what-i-like-about-steemit

you made a downvote here. could you please read my comment and remove the downvote!

the guys english might not be good, but he is trying to do good!

I'm new here, so that's been a normal experience for me. Never imagined there could be anything else. But I'm glad to hear that it wasn't the case before. Hopefully they'll fix it...

To be fair, this may just be a temporary slump that's just happening....because.
At least, that's my hope.

I think so. Or maybe just have to do a little self promoting.... Friends etc.... With feed it could work.... Just a single tag #crossfamily or whatever..... Mostly be idle, but when you post something interesting the chatter will at least get it through active. Any action there?

Have you been to steem.chat ? It's very useful when first on here any trying to meet and connect with people. There is also a new forum at: http://forum.steemitforum.com/

I give you my upvote in love

Showing rep score right there in the listings is acting like a filter. People aren't reading stuff from new people. I'd rather not see rep score until I open the post.

Found you in my feed. Like the new feature on steemit. Maybe others are looking at the new features first before the new ones.

If you found me in your feed, you must already be following me (thank you for that, btw).
But for people who have no followers, these last couple of days seem to have been quite a steep hill to climb.
I hope it's just a slump.

speaking of, is there any way to see who follows you? The feed shows the number but I haven't been able to find which users are part of that number.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45