LESSON LEARNED - UPDATED INFORMATION - EDITS DO NOT COUNT AS NEW POSTS

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

UPDATE: - As it turns out, edits had absolutely NOTHING to do with this issue, and I can't apologize profusely enough, everyone. This whole thing was completely my own fault, and I regret posting this without doing my research and waiting for help to arrive to help me look into this. I thought I had it figured out.
You won't see this kind of behavior from me again.

Therefore, what I would like to do with any earnings that I create with this thread is simply to

GIVE IT ALL AWAY.

If you replied to this thread from the time it was created until 2:26PM Central Time,

I am going to split every transferrable dollar evenly to everyone here.

I promised to serve this community and be human to the people I encounter here, and therefore in this scenario, I feel that would be the best course of action.

See you at payout, everybody.

EDIT: At this rate, with losing votes and garnering downvotes for this (which I'm not complaining about, I'd be doing it too), there may not be much left to divide up, but even if I can only give you guys pennies, I'm doing it.

Sort:  

It should not include edits. If so that is a bug.

Loading...

It could be a bug and further analysis is suggested. if possible.
Specific example:
in the past 24h I had:

  • 3 posts
  • 5 total edits of those posts

One of the posts that had it's payout a few minutes ago had a value of over 900$ before the Payout, total Payout was 344.352 SBD and 0.432M VESTS. Now the post is showing 688$. It's a difference of over 200$.
This is the post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anduweb/billboards-nah-i-rented-the-top-banner-space-on-one-of-the-most-renowned-blogs-in-romania

Yes! Shouldn't we also be aware that an edit was made? If this is already the case, then I may have missed it, but what's to say as a joke someone switches from a thoughtful post to an nsfw or similar post that you would not wish to have your name associated with and reputation tarnished. I'm not entirely sure how the blockchain handles that or if you simply have to go back and remove comments and remove your upvote. This is even more true of comments. Once someone comments on your comment you cannot completely delete your comment, only change it. And someone could completely change what they have said to troll someone else and make them look bad. As far as I know, edits do not show up in the blockchain like on steemd.com correct me if I am wrong.

@dantheman - I would like to avoid downvotes from the whales if at all possible.
If this whole thing turns out to be my fault, I have a great plan with the earnings which I think will be awesome for the community here. I will keep exactly ZERO % of it.
My goal is to not lose community trust. And I would hate for that to happen because I simply put the cart before the horse.

I'll revoke my down-vote if you corrected the info in the post. IMO a misleading post doesn't worth high payout. Please don't take it personal. Thanks.

By the way, you can set the maximum payout of this post to a lower value even zero, probably can only be done in CLI though, but I think many people here can help.

I've corrected my information, and vowed to split any remaining earnings that I can transfer among all the people here who have posted before it was brought to light that I was who was mistaken, not the system.

In the 24 hours during that post's lifetime, I only had a few other posts I made. I concentrated on that one because it was getting so much attention.
I hope I'm wrong about the whole thing, honestly, because editing (even in unreasonable clusters) is kind of important to me...and evidently to others.

Yes that should be removed. Sometimes you have to edit to correct inaccuracies or based on new information. We are already limited on this by the 12 hour rule. Limiting it still further is going to cause a lot of problems.

It does as of now still appear to affect edits.

This is extremely counter-intuitive and there are also some issues with photo uploading that may necessitate some edits and re-edits... it should be fixed IMO and exclude edits.

Wanna know what's funny? I have another point to add to my post...
...but I'm afraid to edit it. So I've decided I'm on board with everyone else that this isn't cool.

That point is that posts get "bumped" to the top of the Active pages when they get edited, which could be a vulnerability that spammers would exploit. They also get bumped when a comment is posted. So to fix this issue, they could simply remove "edit bumps".

I gonna freaking cry!

I'll be rob like crazy for my last post. Oh my god this is hard to take. I don't know why it wasn't mentioned in the release. I feel like this should have been mentioned even though it was obvious. Damn.

Agreed! This should have been mentioned ! Although this is nothing to be upset about guys!
How much would you have made posting these blogs on Facebook or Reddit? You're not losing money, you're just getting less free money!

@winstonwolfe https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/notice-to-bot-spammers
Check it out, he posted this 40 minutes ago.

@dantheman has said that if this problem is indeed caused by edits, it's a bug.
Sounds as if this is not how they wanted to system to behave when it comes to edits.
Hang tight for further information.

Exactly. Edits should not count as posts, and edits should not bump activity :(

The good news is they don't count as posts. But they DO bump activity. I'll leave the latter up for discussion, but please accept my apologies for alarming you for the former.

I got the same problem, i asked why to the community and they only told me that curation rewards took the rest out of it. But i don't believe it for a second. I believe that the money is just gone. My post was at 190 just seconds before payout, then when payout came, i got 100.

If the post showed 190 at the time of payout and you received 100, that means you received 100/190 = 52.63% of the total rewards for the post. Remember that the payout numbers are the TOTAL amounts to the author and to content curators (upvoters).

That's not what happened. The post was at 1250 at the very second the payout occurred, then dropped by 85% down to 190. I DID get the proper payout had the value actually BEEN 190, but that's not what it was.

Oh geez. I'm sorry. You were talking to @najoh
Sorry, @complexring

Yup. I knew you were talking about. But what @najoh was saying needed to be clarified as to the difference between the author rewards and content curator payouts and how they are both lumped together as one sum on a post.

I think I edited one post six times because the photo insertion button through me off. So much for getting anything for that post!

Hang tight on that. Based on what I'm seeing from one of the whales, my post here could be incorrect.
I kind of hope that it is, too, because just like everyone else here, I need to be able to edit.

I think you are incorrect also. You still got my vote but I feel like removing it. I just can't confirm either way.

I didn't saw @dan had commented. I'm pretty sure you're wrong. I don't know why but post always seem to get a drop from the moment they are pay from just before being paid. Maybe it's the price feed being re-adjusted.

Anyway, if true you totally merit this reward if not well I feel like you shouldn't be rewarded.

I kind of publicize this post a lot. I voted on it when it was worth only a couple dollars and I thought it should be seen by everyone if true. Will see. You might as well merit the reward anyway as even the dev doesn't seem to be sure right now.

I'm going to refrain from posting any other blog posts today, as well as from editing this post to see if my theory has any weight when this goes to pay out. I'll report back in 9 hours.

Yes, I've noticed the same thing with the way they upload pictures, especially recently. I always have to edit, go in and change the html link to the direct link because they seem to change it to include a // before the link. I haven't noticed nor had this problem until very recently however. It used to work just fine linking to photos.

There must be a way to fix this. I don't think the intention of the hard fork was to penalize people for editing. The intention was to limit people spamming low quality posts. Editing shows someone cares and wants to make their content even higher quality.

True, but if you think of your post like a book you want to publish, well...if it were a real book that's already been published, you CAN'T edit it. You're stuck with it. Looks like it's just best to get all your edits out of your system before posting it.

Yes, but with a book, you usually have an editor look it over and have someone proofread for you. I don't think anyone is going to hire a staff to do a blog here. Good thing we are still in the Beta phase of this project. I'm sure Ned and Dan will come up with a solution to this problem.

Yes, but with a book, you usually have an editor look it over and have someone proofread for you.

Yes, before it goes to the public, at which point it's too late.
I don't think it's a problem, really. Be your own editor before the public gets it.
Besides, when a post gets edited, it gets bumped back to the top of the Active pages, making it more visible, thus making it advantageous for spammers. If this is something that they feel should be corrected, they would just need to remove that "bump" function.

Yes but you will never catch everything though. It's just how things are. It would be sad if we were lumbering ourselves with limitations of ancient technology in the 21st century.

I think this is a really big problem for the same reasons and would like to see it resolved. I edit my posts to improve quality.

After some thinking, I'm with you that if this is true it should be dealt with accordingly. I've already encountered reasons to edit this post, but won't do it because I want to see what happens at today's payout.

Well, at least we now know what happened now.

Are comments count as "new posts"? If I make 20 comments will the rewards get split with my posts?

No comments don't undergo any kind of penalty. You can post/edit them as much as you want.

I hope not, i comment a lot. If yes, then i will only comment top posts in the future...

I'm going to guess not, because it does not alter the original post and in steemd.com appears as a comment, not a authored post

I hope comments don't count. I always reply to comments as a matter of courtesy because I think it is a way of saying thanks to people who have made the effort.

I got the exact same problem, 190 USD became 100 USD because i edited the post a few times to correct grammar.

Why isn't there a way to save a post as a draft? I think the ability to work on a post, save it as a draft, be able to view what it will publish as and go back to edit it BEFORE a live publish would be the best way to solve a lot of issues that I know I'm having and probably not the only person.

I can get behind this. Even Wordpress has this.

That was my thought. When posting online in a blogging fashion most if not all platforms have this basic feature.

Hello @winstonwolfe - so Editing does not mess with the post-count... finally a straight answer. thank you.

No problem. Sorry to worry everyone. Not my intention, won't happen again.

Sorry you had to go through this... In my opinion, edits should not count as a second post, anyway, seems counter-intuitive.

Good catch - I admit I am not up to speed with the implications of the latest fork and rely on people like you to shout about all the quirks!

A lot of people were continuously editing in order to get their posts to feature high on the "active" tab. I guess with this change, they are going to have to get comments to do the job (and I suppose that's what the comment bots are for!)

I am glad that you sorted it out.

I am also glad that the dilemma is settled.

We can edit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44