I have an idea for a Steemit video. I need your video contributions to make it happen!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Image Source

In light of this post by @surfermarly about producing a Steemit video, I'd like to offer this idea, as well as implement it personally.

Remember those 1-second-per-day videos of mine that I've been posting?
Here's a quick refresher:

Yeah, that. Now you remember. :)
I want to make one for Steemit. Here's the deal - I NEED YOUR HELP.

Wait. What do you mean you need my help?

Image Source

Of COURSE I need your help! This whole community is user-driven. Why shouldn't the video we put out there for the world to see be any different? I've been saying it for a while now that we need something to go viral outside of Steemit for us to break out of our little bubble. Any video that's going to do that, in my opinion, should be one that is just as community-driven as the site it represents.

Therefore, I want each clip to be from a different Steemit member. I want to end up with a video that shows just how diverse a group of people we really are.

~ One Moment Per Steemian ~

To do this, I need as many Steemians I can get to see this post to help by contributing video to the cause. If you don't want to contribute, you can still help by simply resteeming this post. The final Steemit video itself doesn't need to be long, maybe only 1-2 minutes at the most, which means there may only be enough room for between 60-120 one-second clips. That sounds like a lot, but considering I've been doing the year long version of this project for the past 4 years - which is 365 clips per year - 120 would be a breeze.

HINT: The more active your clip is, the more likely it'll be chosen to be included. And please keep your submission CLEAN.

How can I contribute?

SIMPLE. Everyone has a phone with a decent video camera these days. Just film around, choose your best moment, and upload it to either Youtube or Vimeo (Vimeo is better because you can make the original file downloadable to the public), then reply to this thread with your link.

Image Source

How long does my raw clip need to be?

As long as it's at least 1 second, you're good to go. If trimming your video isn't an option, no big deal. Send the full clip and let me know what moment you want me to look at.

What about music?

You're kidding, right? We've got so much original music on this site, it's coming out of our noses. I'll be going around to musicians who have posted material and start tapping on shoulders when I find music that could potentially fit this project. So you musical artists be on the lookout. Don't come looking for me, if I like your music, I'll be coming to you. ;-)

Flashy Steemit Logos?

Absolutely. I've seen some stunning animated Steemit logos that I'm going to look around at again. Once again, if I think yours has the right stuff, I'll be tapping on your shoulder.


Guys, we have everything we need to create this video at our disposal. This site is LOADED with some of the most talented people I've had the pleasure of sharing web space with. Instead of waiting for one user or small group of users to come up with something, let's all stand up and take part.




Sort:  

Here is a submission I'm forwarding from @ramonjohnstone

And was given express written permission from @stellabelle to use her laughing reaction video here

Feel free to take a second of my little animation here... Maybe the bit where the whale drops? :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Aw heck, I just saw this dude. Great idea! Heres one from me!

hahaha!!! Great work Meesterboom!!!

Cheers, it was fun!

Good lord!! That was unexpected. @papa-pepper thank you for the wild carding!!

Anyone who can grow peppers internally deserves a reward!

Lol, that sounds so wrong! But yes indeed!

Haha! That's awesome, thank you!

Totally welcome man, I love what you are doing!

I think this is definitely one of my favorites! I've highlighted it on @collabornation's post yesterday :)

Whale Interview, or drunk makeup tutorial?


Oh gosh, I'm not sure... maybe me hitting on the whale at the end or sitting on the whale shouting 'for the upvotes'?


oh or me professing my drunk love for steemit after 9:10

You have good taste, I trust you

omg Renee, you're cracking me up! LOL

yes I am watching!!!

Hah!!! Love it!!

saw this just now @reneenouveau hahah

I had seen this awesome animation done about a month ago by @alechahn that I thought was worth sharing here: His Post

I also remember back to when we were talking about this some month ago. I'm still a fan of having users give a small sentence or two answering the question of "What Steemit is to me" with each response starting with "To me Steemit is..." which we could then splice all those answers into the 1-second type video. This imo would let it focus on the uses and passion of users vs the technical/informational side of things.

I´m totally with you. If there won´t be a spoken confession it could be done by text layers like in the 1-sec-per-day-clip. Like: having 1 sec of an user cooking and at the same time fading in the word "food artist", or a sports guy plus the word "action lover", or a dad playing with his kid and the word "multitasker",........ could be done with infinite combinations. like this the community would be perfectly represented and we´ll get a high identification level between actors and target groups. just an idea :-)

I like that idea! It would easily portray the diverse set of 'passions' shared on here, ideally giving people ideas of what they themselves could create as posts themselves.

Many people tend to trivialize their own lives/passions feeling it's not worth sharing/posting, but as many of us have found, there are a lot of people who find great value and use in what we 'bring to the table' individually.

I'm also not claiming to be the end-all on this..just brainstorming/thoughts. :)

At most, I might be able to put someone's name with their clip. Otherwise there will be too much to read in too little time.

I think just having their user name overlaid is plenty :)

I like this! Very cool.

Total props on this to @alechahn. I can't even imagine the time it took. Glad you got to see some of his amazing work! :)

Here is my submission. It is about 15 seconds with no discernible audio, but I no longer have a video editing program.

Oh so creative! I L U V it!!!

Thank you ! Much appreciated.

That's awesome!

Thanks! I am looking forward to the final Video, I am sure it will be amazing.

Here's my steemy offering.
One second on the nose.

Let me know if you need help editing other videos.
Cheers!

haha.. just realized I forgot to remove the audio... all sped up and slowed down music from Radio NULA

This one is perfect, thank you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91