Using The "Old Fashioned" Bookmarks Menu To Keep Up With My Favorite Steemians

in #steemit7 years ago

It's really amazing how much reading and writing we all do now, isn't it? Pre-Steemit (and pre-internet), how often did we sit down with a keyboard or a pen to organize our thoughts and put them down in a format we hoped would be useful to so many other people. This may be the most hyper-literate time the world has ever seen, at least in terms of sheer numbers.

Keeping up with all those words, and all those voices, can be exhausting.

According to British anthropologist Robin Dunbar, the size of our neocortex limits the number of meaningful, stable relationships we can have to 150. I'm following 125 people on Steemit already, and every one of those "follows" was someone who wrote at least a couple of articles I was genuinely interested in reading. This turns my feed into a whirlwind of scattered content, especially when you factor in re-steems.

Personally, I'd love a way to turn the viewing of re-steemed content on and off. I understand that re-steeming is a great tool for curation. It lets us share posts we highly value with followers who have found value in our own words. I've made great connections by following some of your suggestions. But while there are times you want to attend a grand party where everyone's invited, sometimes you want to hang around with a few close friends. And sometimes there just aren't enough hours in the day to pay attention to everybody.

My feed is getting so unwieldy that there are times I come across a post by someone I haven't read in a couple of weeks, and then discover they've posted several great articles over seven days ago. And while I can still read and comment, I'm no longer able to leave a meaningful up-vote on their post. The seven-day payout window gives the place a frantic feel, and it's a shame when so much of the stuff I want to read obviously took the authors hours or days to compose.

Consider what a change this is to our reading habits. Publications used to come out weekly or monthly. Then, if we really wanted to reply, we'd have to post a letter to the editor that may or may not be shared a month or two later!

And consider this: reading a magazine used to require an investment of both time and money! We used to have so much empty space in our lives that we actually spent money to fill it up with other peoples' words!

I'm confident the Steemit platform will continue to evolve and introduce new ways to meaningfully interact with the authors we love and admire. In the mean-time I've taken to using a comparatively primitive tool to keep up with the writers I'm most interested in genuinely following: the browser's Bookmarks Menu.

FavorietsMenu.jpg

I'm pretty selective with it. It's for the people I find myself having daily, meaningful conversations with. Steem Power and influence don't matter. I'm not going to go around chasing whales in the hopes of getting a valuable upvote in return. I consider these bookmarks my "magazine subscriptions". Would I pay money to read these folks, if I found their articles in a newsstand? Would I invite these people to my home for a cocktail party? Would I go for a walk in the woods with them, because their conversation would out-value the natural silence? And if they are re-steeming a lot, are they doing it out of a sense of intellectual joy and sharing, or are they just regurgitating everything they come across in hope of reciprocal riches?

Not all of these bookmarked accounts post every day, although many do. And I might not comment or vote on everything they post. But they've become important enough to me that I want the chance to do so in a way that makes it clear I value their contribution. I hope this doesn't sound self-important. I know I'm just a minnow too, with an upvote that's not worth a dime. But I write in order to share and to be read, and this is just my attempt to treat other writers the way I'd like to be treated.

I've taken to starting my Steem sessions by right-clicking on that folder and opening all those feeds in tabs. Even with such a short list, this brings up an embarrassment of riches. But I'll take living in a time of abundance over a time of scarcity any day.

The attention-span is a fickle thing. There are times I come across a long post I'd love to read slowly and digest, and I've just got to be honest and accept that I'm just not in the right frame of mind to do that at the moment. So I've started upvoting longer posts in advance, and then saving them in a "read later" folder. If you're bewildered by a comment from me on something you wrote months ago, please accept my respectful apologies, and know that I found you to be worth the wait!

I still spend lots of time going through the "new" and "trending" page for my favorite subjects, as well as scrolling through my general feed. There will always be more people out there I haven't met yet, whose voices will amaze and delight me. But I've also come to accept that there's a level of serendipity here, and I'll never be able to read them all.

How do you manage wading through all the great content on this site? Do you try to strike a balance between seeking out new stuff and concentrating on your favorites? Research particular subjects? Let serendipity and volume decide? I'd love to hear!

Sort:  

"But while there are times you want to attend a grand party where everyone's invited, sometimes you want to hang around with a few close friends. And sometimes there just aren't enough hours in the day to pay attention to everybody."

THIS EXACTLY.

it's a "noisy" site for me. especially if i'm trying to wade through all the new followers to see who i'd like to follow back; i don't want to have to wade through EVERY one of them every time, but that's exactly what happens.

same thing with the posts. i've had to relegate myself to just accepting that i'll be interacting with the posts that appear that day or in the last day or two. beyond that, i'm constantly seeking out new stuff by new people to avoid so much of the stuff i just cannot handle.

if there were some more search parameter options in certain ways (like showing when a follower began following you or a search for posts you've upvoted or even a separate "pinned" area for posts that you really liked, but didn't resteem or upvote for whatever reason), that would be phenomenal.

I guess this site's still in beta, right? Has anyone posted a roadmap of upcoming changes?

I can definitely appreciate that developing a social media platform that runs on the blockchain can't be easy, and in many ways I really like the straightforward simplicity of it. But it really does leave a lot of the filtering and editing in our own hands.

"Swings and Roundabouts," as the British say!

all excellent questions of which i have no answers to. and yeah, as someone who's never designed a site EVER, i don't have much room to talk as anything other than a user, just some things i've noticed i wouldn't mind were i the one in charge of the design of a few things.

Congratulations @winstonalden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keeping people you enjoy reading bookmarked is a pretty good idea. So far my feed isn't too busy, I'm only following about 60 people, but I have been thinking about ways to organise my preferred content if things end up getting too hectic.

I agree that there should be a way to separate resteems from posted content. I've been thinking about it a lot lately because I resteem a fair bit. I'm not too bothered by resteems in the general feed but visiting someone's page and not being able to find their own posts is something I find a little irksome.

Oh, and something someone mentioned to me about rewarding content over seven days old could be to comment on the post asking the poster to reply so you can upvote that reply.

Once I get back into the swing of things with posting I hope to make it into your bookmarks, haha.

Very interesting post, and I completely agree with what you write about quality content and people you enjoy following. The question of wanting someone in ones house is a really good point!

I'm only here some two weeks, but I'm totally overwhelmed with the amount of interesting content created by interesting people. To get just a little structure, I have made a list of bookmarks too, but for me its starting to work better in a slightly different way.

I created a folder (win 7) with my favorite "steemians". From the URL window of Firefox I can drag and drop their addresses into that folder. Now I can quickly open all these addresses or a selection of them. Either "select all" or ctrl click on whoever I want to "meet" and hit enter... the selected links open in tabs, all in one window... :-)

BTW, on https://busy.org/ followed by a user name, you can choose to see posts of that person or the resteems. They call it reblog. You can also log in with your data from steemit... has some handy features too. Only the commenting window is to small for me...

Good idea - I hadn't thought of using folders to save bookmarks. I may have to do that if I want more control over how I organize and categorize them.

Busy.org looks interesting. I love that there are all these different ways of displaying the content, although it can also feel a little disorienting to switch from one to another.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51