You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What am I missing?

in #steemit8 years ago

@wiser
I also WAY over vote. This reduces the power of each vote.
At our level voting isn't "paying", it's just showing appreciation for your contribution.

Nice to know my vote is worth 6 cents though! Thanks!
Oh I hope you don't mind, but since this posting is about my vote...
I'm raising funds to get to Guadalajara for a conference involving some SETI scientists and I would really like to go.
https://steemit.com/science/@williambanks/seti-has-observed-a-strong-signal-that-may-originate-from-a-sun-like-star-or-it-may-be-bs

Thanks!

Sort:  

actually, the site takes overvoting into account (it looks at your voting power) its just way wrong.... I think it might be using an old steem to $ conversion ratio,

@sigmajin
That sucks, I really do want my two cents to be worth ten. :D

i kno tell me about it ... i want my 4 to be worth 25

I don't mind at all. This is social networking at its finest :)

The site does seem to take "overvoting" into account, as according to it your vote would be worth 9 cents if you weren't overvoting.

I totally appreciate the voting support, even if it doesn't pay big money. I posted this query because it was something I'd noticed, and trying to understand how Steemit works. It's quite complex.

The theory that makes the most sense to me right now is that the steemdollars site is based on an outdated price feed. It might be using an average over a week price which would lag in situations where the price changes substantially over a much shorter period of time.

Here's to a more stable Steem ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43