The STEEM Objective: A Blog Series #2

in #steemit7 years ago

It’s month two of my blog series outlining the objective of my Steemit account. To restate, my objective for my Steemit account was to use it as an experiment to see how much Steem I could acquire from this blockchain by only posting content that I would post on other social platforms, without adding any outside funds. After the first month, my vision has changed a little. I will continue to create content without adding any outside funds but the content that I will be posting has been altered.

"It's OK to change your mind when presented with new information." - Neil deGrasse Tyson

At first, I was only going to post content that I would post on Facebook or Instagram but after being exposed to such an awesome community, I don’t see that being very cohesive. Reason being that I find very little value being provided to Steemit if I only share videos I find interesting and the slew of negative posts that I find my Facebook feed spammed with continuously is not an option. Posting advertisements if I don’t use the products would be useless as well. My vision for this account has changed to the point where I want to treat it as an actual blog, speaking on topics I am most passionate about. Some of these topics include: warm hearted stories that exhibit love, gaming, anime and the cannabis industry. This doesn’t mean that I won’t reach outside of these topics to expand my reach and knowledge set.

Accountupdate4.PNG

A couple of weeks ago I came across an initiative to build the Steemit community through contests that some users have created. One that I participated in, was a contest by @arsenal49 and @jennswall for minnows to share random acts of kindness. This contest had the focus of sharing stories where someone stood out in the Steemit community that helped them when they were new to the platform. Initiatives like this really get the feels going. Especially since I am still new to the world of crypto-currency and the blockchain. When I wrote my submission, I couldn’t help but think of the numerous comments sections I found myself reading through and being amazed at how they were NOT toxic in nature. Sure, there was verbal jousting in some but all of them felt they were coming from a standing of understanding and intellectuality. In this day and age, these are things I cherish in conversation. People like @rebeccaryan, @solarguy, @steemcleaners, and @arsenal49 and @jennswall, who I previously mentioned, are only a few of people that have come to show me time and time again that this community can change the way the world views social media today, where negativity and ignorance run rampant. For that I will always be thankful to them and @allprowi and @loki10 for introducing me to Steemit.

Accountupdate1.PNG

With Bitcoins shares making a major spike last month my steem wallet has made distinct jumps. Having an overnight job posting on a more regular basis has proven to be difficult. I try have been trying not to go over 7 days without posting or resteeming something to keep my account from becoming stagnant. All those factors considered, I’m quite surprised what my account value has become over the course of one month. Not being naïve enough to think that the growth I have seen will be consistent but it has opened my eyes a little more as to what can happen as Steemit gains recognition and more value because of those developing useful applications. From the time of my first “mission statement” post to now I have been able add $200 of value to my account without adding money and just posting content I find relevant as I better find myself in this space. Not only that, it has given me the opportunity to show the awesomeness of this platform to others. Which is another driving point behind not adding money to my account. I’ve opened some eyes to what the blockchain through my experiences here and as a result of my expression about this community got my sister to join, who wants to blog herself. My sister, @ciaraakymberly, is shy and a bit of a procrastinator but with work being done on the Steemit phone app and use of your phone’s web browser to utilize the site without a computer, I’m sure it won’t be long before she starts adding value to the community herself.

Accountupdate2.PNG

I still plan on continuing this monthly update series until I reach my one year mark. Pointing out things that I find out and learn as I immerse myself. On top of that, I will continue to promote this community outside the site by uploading my blog posts to other social platforms I am circulating through. Tumblr, Facebook, Instagram. I also want to thank EVERYONE of this wonderful community and all that you do.

As always thank you for your attention!!

Accountukpdate3.PNG

Sort:  

Hey, great article @whotiewho
Follow me and look at some of my content, maybe even give me an upvote
https://steemit.com/@merrick

Thank you for the support. I really do cherish this community and the content it has to offer. I will definitely give you a follow and look forward to checking out your posts.

Aw, I missed this update or I would have been on earlier. Congrats on your success! Just keep posting about what you love and you will continue to see growth. The great thing about Steemit is the community, and not just the happy-people-love-help blah (which does exist ;) but also the intelligence of the content. Yes, there are plenty of new users--new to Steemit and new to Blogging--and that means more content. Not all of it good. I love though that new bloggers have very large learning curves, which means that we have access to all kinds of good information, from all over the world. Sorry for the long post, but I enjoyed yours!

Oh, and the Kindness Challenge is open to all Steemit users now. Why limit something that is supposed to give back to everyone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63185.03
ETH 2478.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70