Random Acts of Kindness Challenge: Community Building

in #inspiration7 years ago

*Although I don’t qualify for the challenge I want to share anyways.

The block chain and Steemit can be daunting if you come from mainstream social media platforms, the likes of Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, the concept of crypto currency on the block chain was new to me. Within the first week of my introduction to Steemit, I quickly noticed a trend amongst its users. That trend was helping build the community through shared interests and a helping hand to new users, all while maintaining a strong sense of integrity and intellectuality.

Helping_Hand.jpg

The conversations I quickly found myself being a part of have shown me that there is more to the internet than memes and gossip. I honestly started to feel like I was in high school again when I would look at my feed on Facebook. Steemit’s community started to feel like a warm cozy place reminiscent of my grandmother’s home. A place where you could be more of yourself without fear of being ostracized.

Besides the help I received from my real life friend @allprowi, I came across another Steemian that not only helped me through her posts but others as well. @rebeccaryan’s helpful posts and mindset not only come from who she is but other Steemians as well. Coincidentally one of her posts that shows this is about her interaction @arsenal49 and how he lived near an alternative living community known as Christania. Here is the post original post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebeccaryan/every-link-needs-to-be-strong-and-when-i-can-help-i-will-because-that-s-the-steemian-way I want to say THANK YOU to all users that practice this. It has inspired me to do the same.

BIG SHOUT OUT to @arsenal49 and @jennswall for all that you do and spreading the love.
Challenge Post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jennswall/sbd-giveaway-random-acts-of-kindness-contest

Sort:  

Thank you, I am humbled.

You are most certainly welcome. Thank you for helping build a community that promotes positivity and makes people, like me, feel welcomed and at home.

Anytime! Who would want to stick around if the place were negative? I decided several years ago that the only way to really live was to DECIDE to be happy and contented. To ALLOW oneself to be happy was one of the hardest things to wrap my mind around. I don't have much, but life has been better ever since.

I started with the fake it til you make it approach to happiness about 10 years ago. Noticed I had bottled up so much anger and it was adversely affecting those around me. The ALLOW oneself to be happy was the hardest for me because of my insecurities making me feel unworthy. Once I accepted myself and stopped beating myself up so much, likewise, life has been exponentially better. It's been a long haul but I'm glad I made the decision. Now I want to share message with as many as I can.

Exactly! I never realized that you had to give yourself permission to be happy. There are so many exterior factors acting on your well being that you don't notice the buildup of negativity. One thing I have learned though: an unhappy person that does not want to be happy, WILL NOT give themselves permission to be happy, no matter how much you try to persuade them. We can only educate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48