What I Want From SteemIt - the Platform

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

First and foremost I want Steem to be a solid investment.  

I want to believe that someone would come here to enjoy the content and the community.

I don't want everyone to be equal, but I am not interested in watching the whales trade money and votes.

I want content that is diverse and brings many types of people to the platform.  Not just people who like what I like, but all types of people with all types of interests.

I would like the leaders (Stakeholders) to be interested and invested in the users/investors of the community.  

Where you have users you will have the opportunity to have revenue.

Again, I want Steem to be a solid investment.

Personally, I think I have said everything I have to say about the specifics of the current issues and instead I want to focus on what we can work towards.

Tomorrow is my 5 month anniversary and I hope to still be here next month.



Sort:  

I would like the leaders (Stakeholders) to be interested and invested in the users/investors of the community. ... I want to focus on what we can work towards.

Personally, I don't need a leader and I don't think you do either. Here's my 4-step plan for everyone here to make an individual (leaderless) contribution to platform success:

  1. Vote for as much appealing content as we possibly can.
  2. Ignore stuff that we don't find appealing.
  3. Write/resteem the most appealing posts and comments that we can manage.
  4. If we want more of a voice in how the platform grows and evolves, then we should buy more steem power and return to step (1.).

IMO, exercises in herding cats will be unproductive or worse, especially when the cats are whales. It's counterintuitive, but accumulated over time, I think that our aggregate decisions to vote on appealing content have the potential for far more influence than our persuasive writing about how others should act.

One final caveat that's hard, but that I'm really trying to do, is to limit my participation in posts about steem/steemit (other than "how to ..."). It's hard to do because those of us here all share this common interest, so these topics seem valuable to us, and they generate a lot of feedback. But for outsiders, these topics are value-free or even disagreeable. (I realize that I'm violating my own rule to comment here, but I am trying very hard not to let that happen too often. A quick glance at my comments trail, however, tells me that I still need to get better at this. ; -)

I like most of what you wrote here, and I need to give it some consideration. Thank you for your point of view.

Without the chickens there are no eggs 🐣🐥🐓 to gather....maybe the whales need to become farmers .... lolol no content creators no Steemit

Mostly, whales only feast on others. Just ask the krill. I just hope they don't eat everything.

I think, the only benefit to be had here is the exchange of knowledge and joy amongst ourselves, and honing of our skills to improve our ability to do this. To expect anything else will be disappointing. I hope someone benefits by my presence.

Intravoting amongst whales is very understandable on the one hand - you naturally vote for the people whom you have known the longest and their bots are a 'set and forget' scenario which works for them. It is not remotely surprising, given the mechanics of the structure.
It is the intravoting which impedes the decentralisation.
Dan/Ozchart/Smooth/etc situations aside, I read some seriously good posts on here which gather $0.20 and I see some garbage which has gathered $50 before anyone has had a chance to read it.
Surely the issue is the tug of war between social media and game theory?

I almost don't care about the giant, circular whale dutch-rudder, as long as they don't log in solely to crap on people who bust their ass to collect a little bit more than the pittance the sharks, masquerading as whales, think they should.

Being Ahab is always fatal at the end of the story. I'm only posting for my core followers from now on.

I get angry about that also. I don't vote anymore, but I just login once in a while to flag people. Grrrrrrr.

I see two main issues. The lack of diversity in stake, and lazy automated voting.

We can give each other micro-steem. :)

I'm hoping the knowledge I try to pass along is worth more than the teensy bit of voting power I have.

Passing on knowledge ...plus it's fun!

That's what I'm trying to do, plus the investment in steem power to aid the platform and even, keeping my fingers crossed, a payout if Steemit makes it like FB someday.

As someone who really does strive to produce good content mixed with originality of thought, reading your comments is just wonderful. Voted and followed.

Oh thank you so much @ebryans!

I am really hoping we can turn it around before it comes to that.

I think organic food (minnows need more impact with their votes$) and free ranging (don't put the flock in a small pen, they will peck each other to death) will turn steemit around but I'm seeing signs of mereks disease...congestion and nerve damage in some of the flock...I found out mereks is caused by bad food and stress and it is extremely contagious in a weakened flock. Sure you can vaccinate (curation bots) but that's not going to fix the problem.

Hopefully we will not be forced to cull the whole flock. One chicken person to another! lol, you answer cracked me up.

I knew you would get it...time for quarantining some whales? 😂😂😂

I think that would be a good solution.

well said @whatsup. Short and consistent. Upvoted & Resteemed.
I really hope to see you invested soon.

We have talked about the problems, bring on the solutions.

thank you, you're the best.

It's a tricky road up, and of course the infighting doesn't help :(

Hopefully it will pay off.

I think it will, despite all the troubles going on here. It's hard to remember sometimes, but Steemit at this point in time is a lot like a small town: we're seeing the same type of drama and quarrels that go along with an small and somewhat insular community.

That should change with steady growth: the kind of growth that does not excite a lot of greed and resentment. Once Steemit become big enough to become a big town, the internecine drama will either become easier to ignore or easier to treat as a spectator sport :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55