Sort:  

Mostly, whales only feast on others. Just ask the krill. I just hope they don't eat everything.

I think, the only benefit to be had here is the exchange of knowledge and joy amongst ourselves, and honing of our skills to improve our ability to do this. To expect anything else will be disappointing. I hope someone benefits by my presence.

Intravoting amongst whales is very understandable on the one hand - you naturally vote for the people whom you have known the longest and their bots are a 'set and forget' scenario which works for them. It is not remotely surprising, given the mechanics of the structure.
It is the intravoting which impedes the decentralisation.
Dan/Ozchart/Smooth/etc situations aside, I read some seriously good posts on here which gather $0.20 and I see some garbage which has gathered $50 before anyone has had a chance to read it.
Surely the issue is the tug of war between social media and game theory?

I almost don't care about the giant, circular whale dutch-rudder, as long as they don't log in solely to crap on people who bust their ass to collect a little bit more than the pittance the sharks, masquerading as whales, think they should.

Being Ahab is always fatal at the end of the story. I'm only posting for my core followers from now on.

I get angry about that also. I don't vote anymore, but I just login once in a while to flag people. Grrrrrrr.

I see two main issues. The lack of diversity in stake, and lazy automated voting.

We can give each other micro-steem. :)

I'm hoping the knowledge I try to pass along is worth more than the teensy bit of voting power I have.

Passing on knowledge ...plus it's fun!

That's what I'm trying to do, plus the investment in steem power to aid the platform and even, keeping my fingers crossed, a payout if Steemit makes it like FB someday.

As someone who really does strive to produce good content mixed with originality of thought, reading your comments is just wonderful. Voted and followed.

Oh thank you so much @ebryans!

I am really hoping we can turn it around before it comes to that.

I think organic food (minnows need more impact with their votes$) and free ranging (don't put the flock in a small pen, they will peck each other to death) will turn steemit around but I'm seeing signs of mereks disease...congestion and nerve damage in some of the flock...I found out mereks is caused by bad food and stress and it is extremely contagious in a weakened flock. Sure you can vaccinate (curation bots) but that's not going to fix the problem.

Hopefully we will not be forced to cull the whole flock. One chicken person to another! lol, you answer cracked me up.

I knew you would get it...time for quarantining some whales? 😂😂😂

I think that would be a good solution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88