SteemIt is difficult

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

 "SteemIt is difficult. This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths. It is a great truth because once we truly see this truth, we transcend it. Once we truly know that SteemIt is difficult - once we truly understand and accept it - then SteemIt is no longer difficult. Because once it is accepted, the fact that SteemIt is difficult no longer matters."           

* Edited from Scott Peck’s book, The Road Less Traveled (unedited version below)
 

*whatsup's bad art


 On your SteemIt journey you will encounter spam, memes, scammers, control freaks, beggars, and even those with differing opinions,..  In addition, you will encounter unfairness,rudeness, networks of people working together to try to get ahead, those who are gaming the system and perhaps some that are engaged in circle jerk behavior.  (Do NOT google that)
You may feel:  FOMO, Insecure, worry, concern, offended,  protective of your investment, insulted, misunderstood, as though nobody cares upset, nervous, or  violent bouts of puking and diarrhea (seek medical attention for that one, it isn’t normal)

Upon noticing these terrible people and their horrific goals, it is best to:

  1. Make a post about your upset
  2. Muster up all your courage and keep working out that scroll finger
  3. Mute and Flag 
  4. Tuck those feelings away and deal with it
  5. All of the above


My answer would be 5, we have a great community and many actively assist with trying to keep our blockchain clean and tidy while encouraging engagement.  Be patient a Community is in progress.


*"Life is difficult. This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths. It is a great truth because once we truly see this truth, we transcend it. Once we truly know that life is difficult - once we truly understand and accept it - then life is no longer difficult. Because once it is accepted, the fact that life is difficult no longer matters." - Opening Paragraph of The Road Less Traveled, Scott Peck.
 


Sort:  

So very true. I was having this 'down' feeling as I have put a lot of effects on my posts and I do not see many reading them. I totally agreed that it is tough and hard to fully understand how Steemit works and tougher to keep the 'spirit' of writing and posting while waiting for some sort of communication. Maybe I am a bad writer and cannot get readers or out of date and cannot capture the attention of others.
But then Steemit cannot be tougher than some of the events and experiences as we journey through life...
Keep your chin up and carry on.
@jackpot

There you go @jackpot - hope this cheers you up my friend :)
We all have to learn to share for #steemit to succeed even further.
Thanks to @whatsup for your post as well.

nah, steemit is not difficult :)

the quote is a bit funny, and yet it is still so much relevant to our lives and also in this steemit comunity l.
My unswer would be no 5 also. I just trying to enjoy my time here.

Well you hit the nail right on the head. In my short two and half months on here I've learned enough to agree wholeheartedly with what you have written. I've been able to climb the ranks with a few posts going semi viral and have found myself stuck at a rep of 49 for the past month. Everyone is trying to get noticed on here. Only the likes of whales and people with pull can make that happen for us pond scum (technically I'm still not even a minnow according the definitions I've read).

I'm no marketing major and I don't like to kiss ass. But I do feel I have a lot to offer on this platform as a travel consultant as I've lived out of a backpack and have traveled the globe on a budget for over 10 years now. I'm currently checking in from Bangkok Thailand, and no lie....it would be nice for someone like you to take a peak at what I'm up to. On that note @whatsup I commend you on your perseverance and ability to have climbed the ranks. I think you are worth following so I will do so. Keep up the good work! -Dan "World Travel Pro"

I fully get what you are saying, and I often feel under-appreciated also. I go through storms of ego and remorse. lol. Then I just keep posting. Don't rage quit. If you embarrass yourself on the blockchain, say sorry.. (or hope nobody noticed, and carry on.)

Yeah, sometimes I forget this thing isn't private email. I've already offended some people dear to me! Yikes. I better get a little more professional and fast! Thanks for your kind reply. -Dan

Yes.. Just keep steem on and maintain our good attitude, this will give a little help for steemit. Nice :)

Reminds me of

Someone said to Voltaire, "Life is hard." Voltaire replied, "Compared to what?"


lol, it does sound just like that.

I'm currently feeling what you are speaking of here. I wrote a post about it, but I'm thinking about choosing option 4 instead of posting it.

Option 4 is a good one! :)

I guess as long as I'm not experiencing "violent bouts of puking and diarrhea" then I'm actually doing ok lol
It's all a matter of perspective. :)

Spot on, @whatsup. Life is difficult. Simple, but difficult. Also, your bad art looks very serene, I like it.

And... I had to look up FOMO again, that acronym is popping up everywhere, lol. I feel old.

Thank you for mentioning my bad art. It is a recent hobby, born out of trying to come up with stuff to post about on SteemIt. I have to admit, it is a little messy, but I like it.

I have no doubt that if you apply yourself to your art like you've applied yourself to steemit, it will be whale-ish! Kudos for venturing into creative categories, kinda trying out videos myself to find another niche here myself.

And on the way, I find people like you @whatsup, who are happy to direct and guide the "little kids" you meet. I totally agree with your opinion, and before that I also made similar posts but with different imagery.

If you were to analogize a person's existence in a steemit like a journey that brought together a person with a variety of human styles, I instead poured life in steemit like an office with a variety of habits and behavior of its employees.

https://steemit.com/writing/@djunmul/steemit-motivating-creativity

Thank you for sharing. I'm really happy to read your entire post @whatsup.

I will check out the article and thank you for the thoughtful comment.

Thank You @whatsup

Steemit for me is a great invention that developed into a new generation of social media. Every day, everyone tries to do something that can be shared with others by getting a certain gift.

Particularly in my community, in Meulaboh, West Aceh district, the young people I recruited for creative writing, photography, videography and creative media design (at my home) classes, have started to move forward.

They are seen laughing cheerfully when their post-steemit works are commented on, upvote or resteem. The works they used to keep on the computer or just share them in other social media finally received the award of many people.

Now, my younger brothers and sisters, every day began to think "today what should I share with people around the world? What do they not know about our region? What interests them?" Etc. So many questions they asked me (because they thought I was very familiar with steemit, and I was not confused with them either). Hee.hee ..

Love greetings from Aceh

@djunmul

That is very cool to hear, one of the most interesting parts of SteemIt for me is the International community. I live in the USA, and our media has tunnel vision. We don't get to see much of the rest of the world. I have followed you.

Thanks, I'm so glad to hear that. One pride can meet you here.

Yeah.. once one understands perseverance is the key here they will b all right, it's not a get rich quick place just b involved and in due time the financial will happen, if that's all one is here for..

There is an element of just let it happen. (Then my control freak takes over)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70