Don't Sign Up For SteemIt - My Riches to Rags Story

in #steemit6 years ago

It is my duty today to warn you about this thing called SteemIt.  SteemIt ruined my life and I can't let it happen to you.


I first found SteemIt in 2016, it was a new social media site that was anonymous, private, free of advertising and would pay me money to post my content on their site.

At the time I was a beautiful, well-adjusted, middle-class American living the good life.  In the early days, I still had a family, nice house, cars, quality clothing, friends and a bank account.


When I landed on SteemIt I didn't understand much of what I read, there were posts about blockchains, Crypto-Currency, other cultures and other seemingly random topics.  There was this thing called the trending page where people were making thousands of dollars on their posts!  


I knew this would be my future


It all started when I made my first post.  Those people wouldn't vote for me.  I posted about Steemit, I posted about life, I posted about my first car, some of them got a few votes, which only gave me enough to want more.  



I never got enough.   I started to explore writing fiction and creating "Quality Art" using MS Paint.  I posted hot chick pictures, opinions, snark, deep thoughts, some personal details, and it was never enough.  I wanted and needed "All of the votes".    


As soon as I posted I wanted to post again.


In my quest to reach the trending page I left my job, neglected my family, soon the financial woes began to start...  I was on a relentless hunt for votes.  

I woke in the morning with one goal in mind, to get the votes.  More and more votes, as soon as I got a vote, I just wanted more.  I moved into comments and even tried other platforms like chainbb, zappl and busy - I never cared about those things..  I just wanted votes.


The Bank took my House and the Cars


When the banks started repossessing my belongings, I barely noticed...  I was busy posting.  My family left, I made a post about it.   I didn't talk to real life people anymore, I just couldn't relate to them.  I stopped moving and started to gain weight, I rarely got out of the chair.  My hair hadn't been brushed in months and there was this strange smell.  My health was being compromised as well.

I kept posting...  I started a twitter account to promote my SteemIt account


I opened a Bittrex Account, I bought Bitcoin, but failed to pay my other obligations.  I now understood what a blockchain was and I could explain several cryptocurrency projects.  I listened to "Banking on Bitcoin", while I posted.  I needed those votes.


There were never enough votes....


I took a break recently to move to my new place

To be continued.....

@whatsup

LEGAL NOTICE:  Nearly none of this happened.

Sort:  

Ohh... I like that home You are living right now (Bottom of the page). That would be my dream home. :) :) In serious, yes, there is something I have already felt, such as I can not doing other thing for my routine life, even I can not think about them because my steemit engagement. Your post is very good warming for people like me who fall into this world recently. I wrote to @poeticsnake few days ago, "Steemit took me from me". Anyway great story you have started here and I will be waiting for next chapter. Loves and Hugs from Spain.

I agree, this cardboard box is a dream home. Before I earned my first $5 on steemit, I used to live in a hole in the road. Compared to some steemit addicts, I was one of the lucky ones. Some never even had a hole.

I was sleeping on the bank in the park in a cold September night, a police came to me and asked why I was there... I couldn't say why I was there (because I was jobless with no money) and I showed my journalist card and told him, "I was searching something" ... Even I didn't have that cardboard box. If I had one, it would be great by that time. Hugs and Loves from Spain.

Looking forward to part 2. I may be in the same pickle, so I want to see how what my future looks like

Haha! That was pretty funny!

Your early experience was just like mine. I blogged about it a few weeks ago. My bad luck changed a few months ago when I got hungry one night and blogged how to make a fried egg sandwich. It seems many men were glad to learn how to locate the kitchen. I got my first 3 followers and $5 in upvotes.

Pretty soon I hope to move out of my cardboard box and back into a one bedroom broom cupboard. It’s still not quite the same as my previous life that I enjoyed in Buckingham Palace when I was Queen of England. I wish I never found steemit. Otherwise I would still be wearing my crown today.

haha lol.. everyone's experience is same on steemit...its like we are travelling on same train...i was also a king of few arab countries but after joining stemit .... left only some steem and sbd. Now i'm not hungry for food anymore ...i 'm hungry for upvotes..

We were lucky to talk long before that fried egg sandwich made you famous, we nurtured the friendship much earlier, now many people follow you because of your great ascending vote. If you dedicate a lot of time to your new followers you will go crazy, you should take it easy, because now there are many comments to answer, those comments will always be there waiting for an answer, you must take care of your health and attend to your real life. Give a lot of love to the baby bitcoin and do exercises to keep the beautiful woman bought in the store happy.

"NEARLY none of this happened." ahahahha

I am so tickled someone caught that! Thank you!

WOOOOW LOLOL! that was great. Makes me wonder what did happen.

the learning curve is steep

That last pic.... When did you swing by my place? Would've invited you in ...

I want the next part...!

Upvoted

Hahaha you kill me! Can't wait for the next chapter.......

(Here is an upvote to make the box a little happier.

Steemit is social media but i'm not social anymore. Morning evening and night all i do is steemit. Same things are happening with me now ..lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36