A Message For Users Of Auto-Voting Bots And People Who Run The Auto-Upvote Servcies In Regards To Hardfork 19steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So I had a thought the other day about the upcoming hardfork. The new voting curve should not change anything in regards to bots but the change in voting power should. If I read it correctly, the update will not be giving you the option to vote with 4x power but will turn a 100% to a 4x power vote and if you want to vote with the same power you are voting with today you will have to lower your vote to 25%. If that is true, then all the voting bots will be voting with 4x voting power when the hardfork starts.

For people who use bots, this will drain your power quickly. The first 10 people who you support will not be complaining though :p. I recommend keeping an eye on it to see how it is effected by the change. Personally I will see what happens the first day and if my voting power drops, I will suspend the bot until it recharges and then reactivate it, as is, with everything at 25% of what it was. That means I will be back to what I was doing (at least until communities come). And since I'm talking about auto-votes, I might as well ask, if there is anyone using an upvote bot, please consider adding @whatageek to your list. I work my butt off to bring exclusive work to this site, each one being at least 500 words and the SP will help me build the gaming community when it arrives.

For the people who are running the bot services, in case you haven't thought of it, maybe you can change your service so that it automatically sets all votes to a fourth of what they were. Maybe it already does it, or maybe you want people to activity change it, whatever you think is best, just throwing the idea out there.

And how are the people of steemit doing today?


@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Having an awesome day so far ;)
Too bad it looks like our account has lost all the bot votings lists since haf 18 though. Don't know what to do about that

But i guess we'll just have to start over again, thinking positive and we'll keep on posting anyway.
It's not all about the rewards ;) Still loving Steemit everyday!

You too have a great day!

I'm running my own bots. I'll be curious about it myself. For me it will be easy to change though.

I'm doing well thanks. :-) Yourself?

I'm doing well as well :).

I am doing well... I have also been thinking about this. I was also wondering how this will impact trails... Might have to dial down my contribution there.

Yeah we might have to readjust things.

I have been trying hard to learn about bots and curation but I simply can't.

So I will answer the other question:

And how are the people of steemit doing today?

VERY well sir. Earning a bit less. What can I say? lol

But I am determined to stick around for at least 30 days and steem everyday while keeping the rewards aside.

And I do upvote everyone, regardless of the voting power percentage.

I should take this seriously I suppose.

Wait until the hardfork comes it should really shake things up and then you can get a better gauge on what your posts are making. It will spread the voting power out more.

Alright, makes sense!

A very silly question: How do I get updated on the upcoming hardfork?

Following you hoping to learn more and more about it. :)

Follow @steemitblog, that is the official blog of the website and they will post about the launch. There is also posts that have details on it there. And thanks for the follow :)

Since I'm still pretty new to Steem, can you point me in the direction of more bot discussions so I can become more knowledgeable about bot use and its effects on our community?

Hmm I'm not sure what to link, but check out steemvoter.com if you are interested. You can set up an account for free, you will have to give them your posting key so that can vote on your behalf (NEVER give out your active key though) and you can type in names of users you want to auto-upvote, the percentage you want to use and when you want the vote to happen. It helps support users when you are not on and makes it easier to earn curation rewards but there are users who think they are a drain on the system and take away from people being active and that site working a social media site. One of the issues where people are split.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15