My first Steem cashout and giving back

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

If you've been on Steemit for a while or if you are a frequent visitor of Steemit, then you must have read all the wonderful stories of people who manage to cash out their well-earned Steem or Steem dollars.

Today, I'm happy to declare that I'm officially one of them, after a little more than a month blogging.
My post activity on Steemit
I'm adding this post towards the countless collection of testimonies from other Malaysian Steemians who've managed to do the same, just to add to the legitimacy of this platform.

20 SDB might not look much if converted to US dollars, but when you convert that into Malaysian ringgit, it makes a whole lot of difference.

The nice thing about being in a local Steemit community, is that not only do I get to know the Steemians in person, but I also get to know people who specifically are looking to invest in cryptocurrencies such as Steem.

So for my first experience exchanging Steem dollars, I didn't go through the usual route that our fellow Malaysian Steemians would usually do, which is:

  1. Open Blocktrades and Remitano accounts
  2. Transfer Steemit SDB to Blocktrades Ethereum
  3. Transfer Blocktrades Ethereum to Remitano Ethereum
  4. Sell Remitano Ethereum to cash.

Going though that channel will make me lose at least USD 10 in transaction fees.

As I mentioned, the local Steemian community I'm in -- TeamMalaysia Sabah -- is wonderful. It so happens that one of them is looking to buying Steem directly (and Steem dollars is doing so well right now! I love it!). That's even better -- no exchange fees to care about.
Money in the bank
Due to this, I was able to transfer RM20.00 to the Toboh orphanage in Tambunan, Sabah, just like I promised in my OK Bah! Open Mic competition.

Thanks @veenang for making it easy peasy. Happy Steeming, everyone!

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@webgrrrl/discovering-steem-apps-with-steem-tools

Sort:  

Congratulation on your first cash out! Spend it well. 😆

Hahah thanks, yes I will :-D

Thanks Ady. Happy Steeming!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56828.09
ETH 2368.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26