Starting out in the Steemit community can be very tough

in #steemit7 years ago

I've recently started out contributing to the steemit community. I'm experimenting with multiple approaches and hoping to gain somewhat of a following. This, however, has been harder than I originally expected. I'm not new to blogging, nor am I really a veteran in it. I started blogging in the beginning of the year and gradually obtained a following in another platform. I expect it to be easier this time around having learned how to make titles that capture attention and other little things that a new comer doesn't understand.

I find that the biggest obstacle is the reputation. The hardest step was to get past reputation 25. It took me about four posts if I remember correctly. This despite them being quality posts, or at least I like to think so. Of course everyone won't like them. People prefer different things. The fact however is, that not a lot of people actually read posts that are written by new members of the community. I understand this, however, it seems that it is actually easier to gain reputation by writing non-quality posts as a beginner, the chances someone actually reads your post are probably similar. By non-quality posts I refer to people who write something similar to a facebook status or who post an interesting video, but don't even say it is not their video. Nevertheless, I think the reputation is a very important part of the system and otherwise we wouldn't have any indication of what is quality or what is not, without you or someone else possibly wasting their time reading non-quality posts.

I'm constantly trying to figure out how I could get people to actually take time to read my posts, not that I want people to waste their time, but I believe I have something to offer people. It is also rather hard to distinguish, which topics actually interest the majority of people who might like to follow me. Each posts seems to gather interest at random. First I though each post would gather more and more interest from the community, but this hasn't been the case, actually one of my recent posts only gathered one up vote. That might be due to the topic, that I can understand, but it all seems very random.

I'm wondering how I could turn this around and how new comers could be supported better. I would appreciate if people who read this post would take their time and see if there are any posts that might interest you and have a read. If you dislike the post, it would also be appreciated if you could express this to me in a constructive manner. If you like what I write about, maybe help me by up voting it. Honestly, I don't like begging for upvotes, I want people to upvote when they actually find something interesting.

Do you have tips for me? The obvious tips of course include: just keep on writing, comment on other peoples posts, etc. but is there anything, which might be special to the steemit community?

Sort:  

Probably the roughest part starting out is the fact that your audience will be limited to a spot on the "new" list. Given the number of new users creating posts, i think it won't stay there for very long either. Networking and building a following becomes key then.

Yeah I suppose it could be argued to be a tough time to start with the increasing amount of new people joining. However, hopefully that will not change, meaning that the community will keep on growing :)

I would say it's just like being successful at any other job. Pursue what you like. And you will be good at it. People will notice this. It's not about trying to catch the eye of someone. Good luck.

Thank you. I'm sure this will happen eventually by keeping a consistent feed of quality posts.

This is a quality blog post. Keep writing like this and you'll gain traction. I'm still new here too, and I came to your page because you upvoted my post. I think a lot of times, that's how it works. Unless you get noticed by one of the people with enormous amounts of steem power, it'll take steady progress.

The single most effective way, in my limited experience with steemit, was putting a decent amount of money into the platform and converting it to Steem Power. It gives your votes more power, and people will be more apt to follow you if your voting power is higher . . . and the token has the potential to be worth a lot more than it is currently.

But . . I understand that this "jump start" isn't in everyone's budget. So I would start following the highest paid authors. I was looking for a great steemit article and now i can't find it :( . . see what they are doing, comment and upvote other people's content . . . but I think most importantly, is to keep writing blog posts like this!

I'm also an avid crypto-currency investor. And there are a lot of people here who share the same interests. Find them, Follow them, Upvote, curate, and begin relationships with them. It'll take some time. I'm trying to do the same thing right now.

Following you and looking forward to your content.

Thank you for the comment. I'm glad to hear that you liked it. I believe that by keeping consistent I will be able to gather a larger audience. However, as I wrote in the post, starting out is tough and this is what I believe a lot of new people struggle with. I also hope this post of mine will act as somewhat of an encouragement to new people in the community, if I can keep up a posting quality and gaining a larger audience in the future.

Hello! It's nice to see you here! I joined yesterday and would be glad to subscribe to you and upvote your posts! Hope you'll do the same!)

Hi, I'll have a look at your posts :)

One of the things that I hear all the time from content creators on other sites (Youtube, Twitch, etc). Is that you have to love what you are doing and do it for that sole reason. If you love something and are passionate about what you are talking about, then it will show.

On the other hand, doing something for fame or fortune generally leads to burning out and not being passionate about what you're talking about (I'm not saying you're doing this for just fame/fortune).

So I think the key is to find something you love and are passionate about and to talk about those things. :) Cheers!

Sure, my point was not to seem like I want everything now. I'd just like to get people to actually read my post if they see it and are interested in the topic :) But yes, you are right, by doing things for fame won't lead to anything.

following your steemit blog. welcome to steemit.

Welcome @wealthy-easily
Here is few tips for you
firstly, follow me @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform
secondly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
thirdly, engage(upvote, comment, resteem) other people posts to help guide your grow

Thank you. Well, I'll follow you and hopefully pick up a few tips.

well it is happen to me. i am not saying that my post is a good one, because i use to post some random things.
but you have a very good post, looking at how you explaining and see things going here. i even dont know that the number on my username is a reputation. LOL
but glad to know that we are at the same place.

Thank you for complimenting my post. Hopefully you will also gain some reputation. What I know from my previous experience in blogging is that keeping to a certain theme most of the time will eventually build you a following more likely than posting random things. But I cannot say that that is necessarily the case on steemit.

hopefuly we could grow better. love to see all of us grow in this site.
thank you for replaying.

upvoted and following

Welcome to Steemit @wealthy-easily :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in our giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/


See what this is all about: https://steemit.com/@reggaemuffin/steemgreet-motivate-new-users-who-just-joined

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64