What Is The Real Value Of Steemit And Why Does It Matter?

in #steemit6 years ago

What is the real value of Steemit? Is it all the Steem multiplied by the daily price or is it worth more? There is something about Steemit that makes it stand out, and yet at the same time it is hardly even noticed. The real value of Steemit is harder to nail down because of one thing. What is it?

(Source)

Steemit Is Ahead Of Its Time

I've been on Steemit for almost 8 months now and there is one thing that I have learned, and that is that Steemit is ahead of its time. Why? Because it is the only crypto currency that is in actual daily use by tens of thousands of people at day. 

In a world where Bitcoin claims supremacy, there is only one coin that performs more transactions daily. That's right, Steem.  Steem is ahead of its time. 

It is what every other crypto currency wants to be... a functioning project that fills a hole in society and being adopted by a growing community. Steemit is all of that, and it has been for almost two years.

Steemit is way ahead of its time because all other cryptos want be where Steemit is today. To me, that makes it more valuable than the $1.5 billion price tag on Steem, but there is more to it.

In order for other cryptocurrencies to succeed, new people will have to enter the crypto world. There is no easier way to enter and start making crypto for free than Steemit.  That is valuable. Being the entry point, can be incredibly valuable to cryptos trying to gain new crypto enthusiasts.  The community makes it valuable, and these are points that are difficult to monetize, but the value is there. 

The thing is, there is real value here on Steemit and that matters to you. If you post on Steemit now, and make one Steem for a blog, that could be worth a 15 Steem in the future. The thing is, we're ahead of our time and any effort you put in to Steemit now could be handsomely rewarded when we catch up to the present... some time in the future. I'm hoping this will be late 2018.

Steemit and this community really have an opportunity to show the world what life, communication and earnings can look like on the blockchain. What we are doing now will dictate how people perceive the blockchain in the future, and what a wonderful future that would be.

Please remember that I am no financial advisor. I'm just a guy that tells you what I'm thinking using my Steemit blog. Don't trust anyone blindly on the Internet, do your own research.

Do you think that Steemit is ahead of its time?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.


Sort:  

When more and more people understand the potential of Steemit, it will see MASSIVE growth. I feel like a lot of people will move from Facebook or Reddit to STEEMIT, as more and more content gets added. We are definitely the early adopters here!

First welcome to Steemit. Nice to meet you. You got a new follower for your Steemit journey. I agree we are all early adopters and hopefully people won't have to pick and choose where to go, they'll just do both. I'd be ok with that. lol. Thanks for reading.

Great article! I'm so happy that I found steemit, I only wish I found it sooner! Steemit is definitely going to get newbies in the crypto world excited about the future. You're 100% right, this platform really shows people how earnings look like on a blockchain.

Welcome to Steemit and thank you for the great reply. I hope you enjoy this place as much as I do. I appreciate you taking the time to read. You got a new follower! Nice to meet you.

Well, I would absolutely like to think you are right about this platform and the currency. What is disturbing to me is how strongly Bitcoin seems to dominate the whole crypto debate. Indeed I have only been made aware of these alternative coins in the last few weeks.
But there feels like a strong sea-change for sure and hopefully Steemit is at the forefront. There seems to be enough decent and focused souls on here to give it the best chance of success.

Bitcoin dominates because it was the first and it is used on platforms for exchanges and such. I don't see it getting to $500K like some think, but I do see it staying important as a place to store digital wealth. Welcome to crypto and Steemit. You got a new follower for your journey.

Great article, I think the biggest hurdle is understanding how Steem and Steemit actually works from a practical standpoint. Check this out if it interests you, it goes of steem price historically and moving forward: https://steemit.com/steem/@weilii/introducing-the-neux-oracle-steem-and-bitcoin-trade-signals Just started following you, would appreciate a follow back if my price analysis content interests you as well :)

Thanks for the reply and reading my post. I appreciate it. I follow everyone that offers a good reply and friendly comment. Nice to meet you, and I'll check out your post. Thanks for the follow.

We’re early adopters 😀

Very nice and it really help me to gain so much knowledge about steem. thanks

You are welcome. Thanks for reading. Welcome to steemit. You got a new follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64